2001 Suzuki Esteem GL 1.6L from North America

Summary:

The best car I've had so far

Faults:

Alternater belt melted.

Wider tires rub on arches. Beware!

General Comments:

This car has been the most reliable car I've had so far. It handles quite well and is quite good on gas. It is quite rooms and comfortable. The heater and a/c work very well for a little car, the best I've seen so far!

Apart from my alt. belt melting (the alt. seized) the car has been very reliable and never leaves me stranded.

A note of caution: If you intend to install larger/wider tires, make sure that there is enough room from the tire to the body of the car or they will rub on the inner arches.

I would definitely buy another Suzuki... for the price, it's really worth it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2005

2001 Suzuki Esteem GL 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Excellent vehicle for you money

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is a wonderful vehicle in times when Gas prices are constantly rising. It has lots of room for all the stuff my wife piles into it and moves along at a really good clip. We drove the car from California to Las Vegas with a full load and it had no problem doing 80 - 85 mph on the highway and up the grade. No problem with overheating. nothing....We change the oil every 3000 miles and have not spent any other money on the car yet. After all is said and done I am very happy with the vehicle and would recommend it to anyone looking for the room of an SUV but the economy of a small car...By the way I traded in a Jeep Grand cherokee and never looked back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2004

2001 Suzuki Esteem GL 1.8 from North America

Summary:

A basic reliable import wagon

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I have had two Suzuki Esteem wagons and they are just as good as the highly advertised media darlings like the Civic or Corolla which I have owned also. If you love imports do you really want a Focus?

Don't believe every car review that you read as you will be surprised with Esteem.

I am disappointed that Suzuki is dropping Esteem because the styling is superior to the Aerio. The Aerio looks like a box with wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

14th Dec 2004, 14:49

I have to agree, the liftover to the cargo area of the Aerio is too high, making it difficult to load heavy items.

10th Jun 2005, 19:34

I bought mine because it is one of the few "usable" wagons with almost no lift-over. I don't want to lift up anything heavy, it's much nicer to be able to slide it straight in or out.

2001 Suzuki Esteem GL Wagon 1.8 L from North America

Summary:

Buyer Beware!

Faults:

This car has had no major mechanical problems that caused loss of use.

Small problems include, a inaccurate fuel gauge.

Lifter rattle when engine is cold started. Suzuki claims this is normal.

Top center heater vents won't stay pointed at their targets.

Rear hatch door won't always close and latch properly.

Drive line oscillation noise when driven at speeds over 55 MPH.

General Comments:

This car has had far too many small design and build quality problems.

However, this car is very peppy and offers great fuel economy.

The seats feel are very comfortable and offer good support.

The car is very nimble and would be even better with larger rims and tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

25th Oct 2002, 16:39

Drive Line Oscillation?

Isn't this a Front Wheel Drive Car?

Have the tires rebalanced and check the half shafts for straightness, if the re-balancing doesn't fix the oscillation.

11th Mar 2004, 12:35

My dad owns a Suzuki Esteem Station wagon and it has had none of the problems that you mentioned. The valve clattering that you mentioned is actually engine tin rattling against the exhaust manifold.

2001 Suzuki Esteem GLX Wagon 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Better off going back to GM

Faults:

The rear hatch door requires that you must slam it shut.

I left the car at the dealership, and they said that there was no problem.

Interior lights would not work properly, this was finally solved because of the rear door.

Driver's side head rest will not lock in place.

Fuel gauge fluctuates too much, giving inaccurate readings.

Fuel economy is not as good as reviews have shown it to be.

Defrosting vents blows too much heat into your face, insufficient heat to defrost the side windows.

Side mirrors have to be de-fogged or cleared manually.

Now, my 'check engine light' is on, on this new car? Why?

General Comments:

This car was definitely not built for comfort.

The cup-holders are placed right in front of the shifter.

Steering wheel blocks the visual display of dash.

The oil dip stick level indicator is not clear. I thought I was low on oil, but the owners manual said that the level should be in between the two holes.

Fuel economy did not make a definite impact.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd December, 2001

18th Oct 2002, 10:05

"Now, my 'check engine light' is on, on this new car? Why? "

Did you ever find out why the check engine light was coming on? I'm now going back to the dealership for the 9th time because they still haven't been able to fix mine.