2006 Suzuki Forenza Reviews

2006 Suzuki Forenza from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Previous carChevrolet cobalt

Faults:

I have a 2006 Forenza and at 30,000 my engine mounts came loose. I took it to the dealership because my engine just fell out going down the road one day. and the dealership told us it was because I had hit something.. We got that taken care of and determined that there was no cosmetic damage and that we hadn't hit anything, and now they are telling us that it is normal wear and tear on the car, and that the warranty or the extended warranty won't cover it..

I need a new front axle because of it, and when the engine dropped it broke my transfer case. Altogether they quoted us about $6000 to fix and the car isn't even worth that.. I have no idea what to do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2009

2006 Suzuki Forenza 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance27484 miles

Summary:

A piece of junk

Faults:

Battery wouldn't hold a charge when the car was brand new, almost causing me to be in a serious accident on a major highway.

The airbag indicator light continuously lit up, about 8 times, resulting in numerous trips to the dealer.

General Comments:

This car is junk, and I'm very sorry that I purchased it.

The battery not holding the charge was a very serious flaw that could have resulted in serious consequences for me i.e. accident/loss of life.

The dealer has a very dismissive attitude when I returned to talk to him about all the problems that cropped up during just the first 2 months of owning the car.

I will go out of my way to tell everyone who asks, what a piece of junk the Suzuki is, and to steer clear of buying one... ever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th March, 2009

19th Mar 2009, 16:50

The Forenza is actually a Korean Daewoo badged and marketed as a Suzuki in the USA.

In other parts of the world, the car is sold as a Buick Excelle, Chevrolet Lacetti/Optra, Holden Viva and Daewoo Lacetti.

Regardless of the identity, these cars don't seem to be getting very positive media or ownership comments.

They are GM's answer to fighting the various Japanese and Korean models after trying unsuccessfully to do likewise with products sourced from GM's German Opel subsidiary.

19th Mar 2009, 23:22

I feel sorry for you. But, you have to know when you're buying a new car for 10k it's not quality. JD Power just released it's reliability reports for all major makes/ models. Buick and Jaquar were tied for first, Suzuki was dead last. Lots of problems with these cars, but my quadrunner is still going strong... (DO NOT GO KOOKY FOR SUZUKI)

2006 Suzuki Forenza Base 2.0 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired44309 miles
Most recent distance69946 miles
Previous carSuzuki Forenza

Summary:

It is a decent car for the price

Faults:

The computer went out at about 52,235 miles.

General Comments:

Suzuki should have stiffened the suspension and gave it more horsepower and better fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2009

2006 Suzuki Forenza 2.0L from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

This is a car worth more than its price

Faults:

The engine light comes on occasionally when I forget to tighten the gas cap.

Starting the car in the morning takes a few tries and will not fire right away.

I use mid grade gas for this car, lowest grade reduces the power and the car struggles uphill.

General Comments:

The car handles pretty good for this size car.

I love the bucket seats, the interior could use a little upgrade. But overall its quite a comfortable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2008

2006 Suzuki Forenza Base 2.0 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carSuzuki XL-7

Summary:

Overall a good car

Faults:

I have had no issues with any mechanical or structural damage from my car.

The check engine light is still an issue with Suzuki. It comes on for no apparent reason. Dealer has reset four times. I have thought about taking out the bulb.

General Comments:

The cars performance is what one should expect from a 2.0 four cylinder engine.

Very reliable, has never left me stranded.

Is capable of 125+ m.p.h. I have tickets and license suspension o prove it.

Transmission does a jerk when going from reverse to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2008

2006 Suzuki Forenza base wagon 2.0 ltr from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 ltr Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8600 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Nice and comfortable

Faults:

My air bag light was on all the time when I got the car. And the cel on after 300 miles of driving. took the car for scanning at dealer. they ordered new clock for the air bag warning light and new O2 sensor for CEL (check engine light) In two weeks they changed these parts and now the car is running very smooth, no air bag warning light after this. I am happy with the dealer service.

General Comments:

Put a performence k&N filter improved power and like the engine sound. Changed the cabin air filter, which was easy to do if you use a short screw driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2008

2006 Suzuki Forenza Base 2.0L from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Fun, inexpensive, economical, different

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car, mechanically. The paint is chipping off of the front bumper cover, but it had been in an accident and repainted by a third party, so Suzuki is not at fault for that.

A few squeaks and rattles. Some times the wiper arms don't come to a stop in the correct position when turned off.

General Comments:

I like the soft, but predictable handling. Rides like a much larger cars, but a little too soft around corners. The engine and trans are taking a huge beating from me, but so far no hick-ups. Great breaks BTW, 4 wheel disc works great on this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2007

24th Nov 2011, 08:22

I bought my 2006 Suzuki Forenza about 5 months ago. Has covered about 10,000km without any problem. I gave it to a mechanic for a change of gear ATF. He firstly had a problem locating where to refill the oil. But after refilling through the return hose from the radiator, we discovered that the car is seriously jerking when engaging the gear in drive or reverse. To worsen the whole situation, the gear is now not shifting when I test drive the car. Please help!!! How can I fix it?

Mike. Nigeria.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 7 reviews