2003 Suzuki Grand Vitara GV 1600 Sport 1.6 VVTi from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Not bad, doesn't like to be pushed too hard

Faults:

Upholstery marks VERY easily, even from rain water, and is difficult to clean.

General Comments:

Very rugged and agile off road (sensibly off road...)

Manually selectable 4WD, including Low Ratio.

Very thirsty for a 1.6, approx 28 mpg.

Any speeds over 60 mph and I did feel I was pushing it too far.

Not very stable in windy conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2008

2003 Suzuki Grand Vitara 2.0 TD from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Potentially a useful vehicle, but with worrying reliability issues

Faults:

Engine Check/ECU/Turbo fault.

Continual limp mode activation.

General Comments:

The Grand Vitara has decent off-road ability and an adequate road going ride. It is solidly built and offers a reasonable level of comfort.

The diesel engine is relatively crude and noisy. It offers adequate performance and economy.

My Vitara, like my original 2.0 V6, had reliability issues. The TD was plagued by a fault detected by the engine management unit, which put the car into limp mode. Two separate dealers were unable to rectify the problem and the fault became dangerous as the power delivery was never predictable. The car spent a total of 5 weeks over 3 months in workshops, and for the rest of the period it was never safe or a pleasure to drive. I eventually returned it to the supplying dealer as not fit for purpose.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th October, 2007

2003 Suzuki Grand Vitara V6 from North America

Summary:

The worst car ever made

Faults:

The car flipped over WAY to easy.

General Comments:

Three weeks after I bought this car a very ignorant woman pulled out in front of me. I hit her front left end with my right front end and proceeded to roll over two and a half times.

We both we going under 30 miles an hour. I was seriously injured, but the woman was free of any injury as well as common decency. She sat in her car while I tried to get my nine month old out of the back.

I wouldn't recommend this car to my worst enemy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2005

9th Jun 2008, 11:03

Your opinion of the car is based on the accident you describe.

13th Feb 2009, 09:03

ALL 4wd's have a high rate of rollovers due to their ground clearance and weight distribution, Suzies add narrowness to that mix. You were able to get yourself out of a car that rolled over several times, try doing that in an average cheap small 2wd car, the nice people with the ugly job would be prizing out your bits and putting them in a zip up bag. It's not Suzuki's fault that the woman pulled out on you!!

26th Nov 2009, 18:42

You had a crash and your vehicle rolled several times, yet you managed to get yourself and your baby out of the car. If you were both doing 30mph, then the impact speed amounts to 60mph... The other guy is right, spend about the same on a cheap standard 2wd car and see if you walk away after rolling it a couple of times.

25th Aug 2010, 17:56

Was anybody paying attention when they read the review the SUV rolled over 2 1/2 times not 7? Also, when buying any SUV you should know that all SUVs have a higher center of gravity than cars. So it is to be expected that if you hit an object on an angle that the SUV would roll, and could cause serious injury to the driver and passengers.

2003 Suzuki Grand Vitara LX 2WD 2.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

Nice little SUV with car characteristics

Faults:

Nothing. It had two recalls since the purchase time, but it was fixed by the dealer with no problems at all.

General Comments:

This is a SUV that has the characteristics of a car. It is easy to park, drive and commute. The V6 is not huge, but delivers enough power for me. (I don't tow anything).

It decided not to pay for the 4x4 model and the EX model didn't deliver a lot compare to the cost increase.

I love it so far and I have a feeling like that I will keep it for years to come.

The only problem I had was with the dealer and that was taking care of when I went to a new one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2004

7th Jul 2006, 07:45

Is there really a 2 liter V6 for the Suzuki Grand Vitara available? I know of a 2 liter 4 cylinder and a 2.5 V6 only for the Xl5.

2003 Suzuki Grand Vitara 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

An underestimated machine with heaps of potential

Faults:

Developed a slight rattle in one of the exhaust heat shields, which just required tightening.

The standard rear shock don't seem to have any rebound damping in them. Fitting a good set of aftermarket shocks transforms the car and the handling becomes sharp and precise. It also gives them heaps more rear suspension articulation.

General Comments:

Compared to the Pajero I owned, the Vitara is extremely easy to work on and is very cheap to run.

The Grand Vitara handles extremely well and is very agile on a good twisty road.

The engine is very smooth and loves to rev.

They are extremely good on sand and snow because of their light weight.

There is heaps of stuff available to modify them and improve their off road ability.

It is a shame that a factory cruise control is not offered as an option, although there are plenty of aftermarket systems available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2003