2001 Suzuki Ignis Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2001 Suzuki Ignis GL 3 Door 1.3 GL from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 GL Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13450 miles
Most recent distance17500 miles

Summary:

A good value for money purchase that's cheap, fast, efficient and reliable

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car to date! Touch wood.

General Comments:

This is a good little town car with decent fuel economy. I manage to get around 260 miles to a full tank which, costs me £30.

It's a very narrow car and means you can fit into very narrow roads nicely without slowing down. This means you don't have to let somebody else through because of a fear of guilt because you have the bigger car.

The best thing to do with the GL model 1.3 3 door is too add the chunkier 15 inch alloy wheels (what I did) and this improves the handling significantly.

I have a pearl black model with sport white wheels and it looks really sporty.

Some people might say for a guy who's 6.2" it's a bit small and girlie, but hey, who cares when it towers above most cars on the road!! It's like placing a midget on stilts!

It's pretty nippy although to beat the hedgehog off the lights you have to really push the motor to it's limits... (5,000 rpm)!

The standard speakers are rubbish!! I hads to put a bass box in the back.

Its also good around town and once you get use to the gearbox it's OK. On the motorway it becomes a chore and you have to keep up the revs to 3,400rpm to keep it at 70mph.

Good points.

Frugal, nippy, narrow, looks good, nice height, good engine sound.

Bad points.

Standard wheels (14") are terrible. Stereo is made by fisher price. Horrible on the motorway!

I want the sport soon. Much better. It's like going from clogs to Nike air max.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th January, 2005

2001 Suzuki Ignis GL 1.3 from Singapore

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance83000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

A bike's engine in a car

Faults:

My battery failed within the first 3 week. The tire wear out on one side in the next few months. I had to change all tires and re-align the wheels.

General Comments:

A fun car, but the engine performance still has a lot to improve.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2003

2001 Suzuki Ignis GL 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1700 kilometres
Most recent distance9500 kilometres
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

Cheap. Well equipped. Reliable

Faults:

Very little - the odd creak and groan has developed only to disappear again - most mysterious.

General Comments:

Very sprightly around town - tends to be first away from the lights before running out of breath.

The adjustable lumbar support is most welcome and the driving position is comfortable despite lack of steering wheel adjustment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2002

2001 Suzuki Ignis 5 door 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance19000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Applause

Summary:

Great car around the city, with country driving at 110kph best

Faults:

Car alarm triggered when engine turned off and key left in ignition, to listen to radio. Then engine wouldn't start until security system enabled and disengaged.

General Comments:

Great fuel economy 45mpg.

Easy to park.

Drivers seat extremely comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

2001 Suzuki Ignis GL 1.3 from Costa Rica

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7500 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

NONE.

General Comments:

Excellent car. There are however some things that can be improved: reading lights for passengers and driver, bigger space in cup holder. The vent to clear the windshield doesn't go all the way to the corners, because of the speaker placement, so the corners stay foggy, gears could be smoother, no low fuel light, no passenger air bag off key.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

2001 Suzuki Ignis GA 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

A lively, fun car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Surprisingly lively for a 1.3, but then it's a small car with not a lot of weight to carry around. Most other cars in its class have engines around 800cc.

It's superb for overtaking, because it responds instantly and enthusiastically.

I use it for daily commuting (35 miles each way) along local roads and single-carriageway A-roads, and for this it's ideal. It becomes more noisy and less comfortable at motorway speeds, but it really isn't meant for this sort of thing.

I get 45MPG consistently.

Luggage space is minimal unless the rear seats are folded down. However this is easy (unlike some cars) and leaves a good sized loading area with a flat floor.

The supplied Clarion radio/cassette is fiddly to operate while driving and isn't particularly good quality. Although the stereo has a front/rear fader control, only front speakers are fitted in the car. I now have a CD player and 4 speakers!

So far nothing has gone wrong, and being Japanese I would hope it will stay this way for at least the first 3 or 4 years.

Servicing is reasonably priced (around £100 every 9000 miles or 12 months), and even the accessories (mats, fog lamps, trim etc) don't cost a fortune.

I do around 20,000 miles a year and plan to keep the car for three years, then trade in for another of the same type.

I have owned several cars before, and I would say that the Ignis is the best so far. It's the first car I have owned that I would say is really fun to drive.

Highly recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2001

17th Dec 2001, 06:49

I had an Ignis as a loan car for a day while my Baleno was being serviced, and I'd agree it's a fun car; quite nippy, reasonable handling and a higher than average driving position. It's good that some manufacturers are prepared to do things a little differently. However, the interior isn't as good as the Baleno, despite being a newer design by about 5 or 6 years. The seats are terrible; too short in the base, and with a bizarre 'angle' adjust rather than height adjust which just didn't work for me. The car is also noisy on motorway runs. Having said all that, it's miles better than the Swift (GTi excluded) or the Alto, and not as embarrassing to be seen in as the Wagon R. I'll still stick to my Baleno though.

31st May 2003, 10:31

I am following up my original review. I have now had the car for over two years and done around 37000 miles it it. After this time and distance I am still just as pleased with it as I was when I wrote the original review.

The only slight problem I had was the brakes tended to fade a bit when braking long and hard. This started a few weeks before the 36000 mile service, so I mentioned it to the dealer. They checked the braking system and couldn't find anything specific, so they replaced the brake fluid which fixed it.

I'm planning to keep it another year, and will then look into getting another Ignis. The 1.5 Sport (due for release in Autumn 2003) sounds rather tempting...

23rd Jun 2004, 05:03

I have just recently acquired a second hand Ignis and can say that I too find it to be a fun car to drive. I bought it for my wife who felt our old car A Rover 400 414Si was a little heavy on the steering.

The Ignis is roomy enough for my wife's daily school run with my two children and has ample space for her weekly shopping trip. It's neat on the outside if a little basic on the inside, but I can thoroughly recommend it to anyone as a second car to the main family car.

4th Nov 2011, 07:26

I agree that it's an excellent car for its size. I've had mine for ten years, bought it secondhand, and have had no problems. It is regularly serviced. One of the features I chose it for was the large flat floor luggage space. My main car is a large diesel, and I'm always surprised by the liveliness of the Suzuki - it is in use every day.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews