2002 Suzuki Ignis Reviews

2002 Suzuki Ignis GL from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

I love my little Ignis

Faults:

Nothing really, only renewed tyres.

General Comments:

The car is small and nippy.

The seating is higher than other cars I've had, so good all round view.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2010

2002 Suzuki Ignis GLX 1.3 gasoline from Spain

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Everything have been working excellently.

General Comments:

This car is really easy to drive, with excellent visibility because is a tall car.

The 4 wheel drive ensures a safety driving, even with bad climate condition.

The seats are comfortable, and it's roomy enough, even tough it's a small car.

The trunk is not roomy, but you can recline the back seats, and it becomes big enough.

Excellent motor and steering wheel, even tough the acceleration is not as quick due to the traction.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2003

24th Oct 2007, 23:47

I have never seen a turbo charged Ignis on this island yet.

2002 Suzuki Ignis GL 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance300 miles

Summary:

Fun, nippy, small, and classier than a Nissan Micra

Faults:

Only one slight glitch, the driver side automatic window refused to open in hot weather for the first 3 weeks I had the car, but this has sorted itself out now and it seems to work fine.

General Comments:

Very nippy and fun to drive at low speeds around town, but it struggles a little on the motorway (60mph +), suspension a bit bouncy too at higher speeds, rear boot space is minimal, but rear seats easily fold down to give more luggage room, interior looks okay and I like the rev counter, we opted for the yellow exterior - which looks sporty and fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2002

2002 Suzuki Ignis GL 1.3L from Jamaica

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance700 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

Despite my nit-picking, I consider it good overall

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The cup holders are useless for all, but small sodas.

It's ridiculous to have manual windows in the rear - all windows powered next time Suzuki!

Steering should have the tilt adjustment.

Outside mirrors are too small - huge blind spot. The Swift mirrors were bigger.

The engine output is a bit underwhelming - and there are no other engine options. Being used to a Swift GTi I guess I am disappointed in the 1.3 DOHC (M13A) because I am comparing with the G13B.

Body shape - very nice... and it looks great in Bluish-Black Pearl.

Radio - POOR. No bass and the rear speakers don't have the req'd effect. Next time face the front speakers downwards.

Suspension was surprisingly good for a car in this class.

It is quite inside and out - very good Suzuki.

Tray in trunk is a very good idea.

Finally Suzuki turned the spare, valve side up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

2002 Suzuki Ignis gx? 1.3efi from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3efi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance5987 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

A fun, but practicle car you will volunteer to drive down the milk bar to get the milk!

Faults:

Clutch adjustment nut slipped.

I forced the ashtray into its receiver with out checking the setup and now its stuck.

General Comments:

Fantastic. Versatile and practical. You must pay the extra for the 4 door to receive these benefits.

Security and keyless entry great.

Stereo is rubbish. For 2002 model vehicle it is ridiculous that Suzuki still haven't worked it out. Most of their models have dud stereos and or poor speakers/positioning. The rear speakers are high mounted in the rear pillars so sound isn't muffled by cargo, but no base at all. Absolute pain to put better speakers in this position and sound still not great. Front speakers are just tweeters. I am looking at mounting new speakers in the tail gate.

No adjustable steering either - bearable though on two 800km trips.

Seats are good.

Motor fabulous. as per Suzuki standard, very zippy (60kw in 900kg car) with good gear box combo it can push back in the seat just enough to scare older people (I'm 35).

Annoyed with clutch accelerator combination when changing gears - clutch is either in or out and accelerator is either on or off making it hard to drive smoothly. This problem was not evident at the start so we will get that fixed. (pleasure to drive originally)

Does feel a little top heavy when cornering hard around town, but fine on the highway.

Tyres could be 10mm wider and the hubcaps are ridiculous.

I am 1.9m tall and plenty of room for car of this type.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2002

29th Dec 2004, 22:28

Hmm, Did you know there is a recall for the fuel regulator? I have rough idle and stalling related to this, have not gotten around to changing it yet, but look into it.

7th Mar 2005, 12:35

Purchased my 2002 Ignis in September 2004 second hand, within a month experienced a transmission problem which was subsequently addressed (manufacturer problem). Problem recurred in approximately two months and to date still without vehicle.

Transmission parts were obtained from Japan, unable to solve problem... VERY Disappointed...Love my little Ignis.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews