2003 Suzuki Ignis Reviews

2003 Suzuki Ignis from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Summary:

Ace! No really, ACE!!

Faults:

Nothing, except that the brakes squeak!

General Comments:

Super fabbo little car!

Reliable, frugal, comfy, roomy.

A pig ugly little geezer but very lovable.

Bomb proof engine and SWEEEET! No street cred, no anything but still sweet.

If push comes to shove and life's a bit cruel. Get one, they're excellent! Especially in banana yellow!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2008

2003 Suzuki Ignis 5 door 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Cultus

Summary:

Apart from it breaking down yesterday I'm very happy with it!

Faults:

Nothing at all up until yesterday. Driving along the motorway the stereo started to switch on and off, the lights dimmed and brightened then everything electrical went off and the car jerked to a halt... then the windscreen wipers switched on even though they weren't on! Weird! Electrics completely gone so its gone back to the main dealer to see what the problem is. I'll update this as I hear more. I don't think that should have happened to a car only 18 months old! I hope its covered by the guarantee. We'll see now how suzuki handles their customers, I'll let you all know.

General Comments:

Great car, lots of room for a small car. Boot is a bit small. Good engine that performs well. Handles very well and fuel economy is excellent. The one downer is the seats and carpet have started to wear badly. They should use better quality material for the upholstery.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2004

11th Aug 2004, 09:14

I'm thinking of buying one. I've been driving a Renault scenic - do you think I'll be disappointed?

29th Jan 2005, 13:23

Well, the new Ignis is out (Jan 2004) and it sure looks great! I even think they made it a bit bigger (3.8m)... very fancy in the inside, especially the wheel is small & great!

13th Jun 2008, 13:00

My friend has got one of these on a 53 plate, he has had it since 2005 with 13,000 miles on the clock and now it has 75,000 miles on the clock, everything is original bar a couple of rear light bulbs, It has only ever broke down because he added some aftermarket fog lights which malfunctioned. It is a very good car and the performance from the 1.3 DOHC 16v is very good and has good acceleration and fuel economy.

19th Nov 2010, 08:12

Surprisingly good economical (44 mpg at motorway speeds) & roomy. Bought mine 2 years ago, 52 plate, with 36000 on the clock, now has 88000 and has not let me down.

Easily copes with general trailer and folding camper at max allowed towing weight.

Only things to watch for are rear brakes tend to stick, and front pads wear quite quickly, however this is probably because my car stands most of the week, and then gets lots of use (300 miles) at weekends.

I'm going to have to change it before too long, and seriously considering another, as I can't think of anything else that will do what I want so well.

2003 Suzuki Ignis GL 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

Only has one good thing going for it

Faults:

Clutch thump and grab when cold.

Roof rack falling apart.

Screechy brakes.

Clunky gear changes.

Dashboard bends up in hot weather.

Sound system is junk.

General Comments:

The only good thing about this car is the fuel economy and even that is a bit misleading. You get 6lt per 100km around town, but on the highway you get the same or worse never better, go figure.

The dashboard bends up on the drivers side in hot weather.

The sound system is junk so I replaced it with a Pioneer system and new speakers. Sounds no better.

There is a loud thump coming from the floor when the engine is cold. The dealer tells me this is "clutch grab" and can't be fixed.

A small plastic cover on the roof rack fell off while I was driving on a freeway. The dealer won't replace this $60.00 piece of plastic because I must have used the roof rack and that's why it fell off, not covered by warranty. Go figure again.

The handling is spongy and unstable, thank god it's got ABS.

Dealer servicing is over priced and so are parts and accessories.

The electronic steering is heavy for parking and too light at speed, isn't it meant to be the other way around?.

This car is a full two generations behind anything else available at the moment so I guess you get what you pay for. The fact that dealer service is far too expensive and Suzuki warranty is worthless makes this car a bad buy.

I will be going back to Hyundai as soon as I have the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 2004

5th Aug 2004, 07:42

Laughable yes because I will shortly be driving my new Hyundai (Car of the year) and you will still be driving the Ignis. May I add that the problems I have didn't appear until approx 10,000kms. Here is one summary of the many road tests you will find on the net about the Ignis;

The Ignis has few stand-out features and too many shortcomings to be a class leader, even in the cheap stakes.

Its strengths are fuel efficiency and practicality, but the firm ride, ordinary brakes, noise levels and ordinary seats make for a mediocre driving experience overall.

Yes very laughable.

4th Sep 2004, 01:19

I bought a Suzuki Ignis GL 5 door in March. I note from your review you have a 2003 model. The new model is very much improved on the previous model. I personally am very pleased with the car and my only quibble is the 'in your face' red dash lights.However, I must add that your intention of buying a Hyundai (Getz) I presume is not at all laughable. My friend bought one and it's a super car, no complaints at all. So we're both happy motorists. Each to their own as they say. I wish you safe and happy motoring in whatever car you buy.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 5 reviews