2005 Suzuki Jimny VVT 1.3 from Poland

Summary:

Japanese warrior

Faults:

Steering wheel is shaking between 60km/h and 70km/h. Service guys say it's normal in a Jimny... somehow I don't trust them.

I plan to add an additional steering shock...

General Comments:

This is great, small car to use in the city and very reliable all around player. I use it for everyday city transport and for semi-off road weekends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2009

2005 Suzuki Jimny LX 1.3 DOHC 16v VVT from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A great all round package at a bargain price

Faults:

No faults to report at 4 months of ownership and 5000 kms from new.

General Comments:

A great little 4wd. Very capable on and off road. Good performance for a small engined 4wd. Equipment level and quality great for the price. Power windows, mirrors and air conditioning.

Fuel consumption is excellent. The noise level is low in normal driving and highway driving. The comfort level in driving is good in long distances for a small 4wd.

The new VVT engine pulls well and is a good performer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2005

2005 Suzuki Jimny JLX 1.3 cc petrol from Sweden

Summary:

The only small 4WD car to buy!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, perhaps because it is still quite new.

General Comments:

When I read the reviews I was nearly afraid of buying this car, but when I made my test drive I found that the car was not noisy at highway and it is more comfortable than I could expect. Of course, I have the comfort pack included with air condition and more. And the car has 4WD and has low petrol consumption -Seems to be a very good buy!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2005

28th Oct 2006, 16:07

Do you still have the Jimny and if so how has it been - what's the verdict on the handling, especially on the motorway or wet roads?

21st Feb 2007, 15:53

I borrowed the car while on vacation. We drove all day long through an island in Greece - it was great because of the roof having been taken off, no need for a/c (despite the hot summer day). It is a funny thing and I enjoyed it very very much, but I wouldn't buy one. First: because it has virtually no space for luggage and second: because cornering on the road really feels dangerous. Now I don't drive fast, but I live in a city and in dense traffic or high-speed motorways you sometimes can't avoid unexpected maneuvering, which would eventually turn the car on the roof. However - on that Greek island it was a good choice.

2005 Suzuki Jimny GLX 1.3 from Trinidad and Tobago

Summary:

Good value for money and a good drive

Faults:

Too new to have had any faults.

General Comments:

The seat is incredibly comfortable, even for a short person, and the "birds eye" view is great for avoiding the potholes.

I definitely appreciate the air conditioning, power wing mirrors and rear windscreen wiper. 2 cars ago I had a 18 year old Jimny, but it was very basic compared to this.

I anticipate that this will be my car for the next 10 years as it is a good solid vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2005

17th Nov 2010, 20:36

5 years and a week later all of the above comments stand. An excellent manoverable vehicle. As it is a manual, it is very economical to run and tackles the hills as if you've given it a birthday present.

I particularly like the fact that you can go into 4WD as you are moving along, if under 60km/h which is useful when the heavy rains hits you.

20th Nov 2010, 15:26

I wouldn't be using 4wd high on the road, even in wet conditions.. will cause transmission windup. Maybe in flooded conditions or wet gravel, but not on a rainy road. Part time 4wd, not AWD.