1989 Suzuki Swift Reviews

1989 Suzuki Swift GTi 1.3 16v MPI from Croatia

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.3 16v MPI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 33

Summary:

115 BHP, 750 Kilos - need I say more?

Faults:

NONE!

Synchromesh between 2nd and 3rd was a little worn.

I had to go for injection calibration twice.

Biggest minus - this car is basically a 2 seater. I am 186 cm tall, and I could barely squeeze in. Behind me my college notes wouldn't fit.

General Comments:

In my student years, for the money invested (around 3500 EUR), it was the quickest and most economic car by far.

Good rustproofing, extreme reliability.

Performance absolutely unexpected by other driver's on the road trying to play with you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2001

22nd Nov 2001, 07:23

I would have to say that you're bang on the dollar about this review, One bit of advice to any GTi owners out there is be careful when lowering your GTi because they get easily damaged underneath as I found out the hard way!

1989 Suzuki Swift GL 1.3 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance92300 kilometres

Summary:

Dependable and very economical

Faults:

Both fenders rusted through (replaced them this past fall)

Wheel bearings have all needed replacement.

Radiator replaced 2 years ago.

Clutch at 79,000kms (due to stop and go driving).

General Comments:

If you take care of a car like this it will last long.

Quality isn't that of a Toyota or Honda, but it's decent

Good for short trips.

A nice gas miser.

Doesn't use a drop of oil.

Comfortable for up to 2 people, back seats are better left for small children or cargo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2001

1989 Suzuki Swift GLX 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

A very good buy

Faults:

1 brake light bulb.

3 new tyres.

1 exhaust.

A wee bit of rust (but I live next to the sea).

General Comments:

We bought this car as a cheap second hand car expecting 18 months out of it. The way things are going 4 years may be a better guess and we'll still sell it on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2000

1989 Suzuki Swift GLX 1.3L gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3L gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Extremely reliable and a good buy

Faults:

Little things have gone wrong, such as the knob falling off of the window crank, and seat belt jamming (there was a recall).

Aside from wearable parts (brakes, tires), nothing went wrong with the car until 140,000 miles, when the master cylinder for the brakes went bad.

General Comments:

This car was slightly cramped and had very poor acceleration, but every time I got into the car and turned the key, I knew that it would start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2000

1989 Suzuki Swift GTi 1.3 16v twin cam from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 16v twin cam Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21 kilometres
Most recent distance350000 kilometres

Summary:

The most fun I have had with my clothes on!!!

Faults:

The only real problem has been the differential letting go..... 5 times!.... this trashes the diff, tranny and clutch! It probably has something to do with the way I drive it!

General Comments:

This is a great car! I have driven this car hard since new, and the motor has held up very well. It was rebuilt at 300,000km, and did not leak or burn a drop of oil!

It is now bored to 1600 specs and goes like hell! I have showed the car, and had full magazine articles on it. I have thought of selling it several times... but I LOVE driving this car! It is like a go-kart! It has been lowered almost 4" and handles like it is on rails!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2000

15th May 2002, 18:32

Hi, I own a Swift GTi, and I want to make some modifications, but I don't know where I can find parts for it in USA, can you tell me where? I appreciate your help so much, on the other hand, what did you do to your car? my e-mail is amondra@yahoo.com please answer my questions, I'm colombian and I want to take a trip to USA soon and I will buy some things for my car. Thank you. Alex.

1989 Suzuki Swift GTi 1.3 16v dohc from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 16v dohc Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance115634 miles

Summary:

One of the all-time great pocket rockets

Faults:

The car was purchased with 112 thousand miles and had been neglected. It needed CV joints, brakes, tires and an exhaust system. The engine and drive train were extremely sound otherwise.

General Comments:

This little car packs more pure driving enjoyment into its 1870 pound package than any car I've owned. Its four wheel disc brakes, firm suspension and lively engine beg to be used. This is one of the truly great, UNRECOGNIZED driver's cars. Why Suzuki no longer offers the GTi package is a mystery to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2000

1989 Suzuki Swift GTi 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Have had 2, a MK1 and a MK2. The MK1 blew a big end at 85K miles, and the woodruff key needed replacing at the same time. However the MK2 had approx 80K miles and was completely reliable.

General Comments:

Quickest 1.3 I've ever driven, performance that embarasses most 1.6 hot hatches (eg. Golf GTi's). However very keen to understeer, which can catch you out. Cheap to buy and maintain. Perfect hot hatch for someone on a budget.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews