2006 Suzuki Verona Reviews

2006 Suzuki Verona LX 2.5 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 Don't Know
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

This is one terrible car

Faults:

Very rough down shifting. Front end bolts keep getting loose from the rough down shifting. Make sure you have strong mechanic to tighten the bolts when they get loose.

Check engine light comes on very often.

Also a problem with the ABS brake system; it is very sensitive to pot holes and snow. Very dangerous to drive when this goes out. To any owner, please pull out the ABS fuse when driving in snow if you value your family's lives.

Airbag light problems.

Nice looking car, but problems galore.

General Comments:

This car fools its buyers with great looks and durable interior, but it's almost like it's possessed. And once you buy it, you're stuck with it until it's ready for the junk yard; you can't get anyone to give you a decent trade price. Suzuki should do the right thing with this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2010

2006 Suzuki Verona 2.5L in line 6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L in line 6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 kilometres
Most recent distance30500 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Esteem

Summary:

Mikey mouse construction

Faults:

Air bad detector on passenger's side did not lite up when passenger got in. (Was changed twice and still does not work well)

Harsh transmission shift hing.

Strong knock when down shifthing around 37 Km/h (22.2mpg).

Computer was changed, transmission was changed, but problem is back.

When cruse control downshifts from 4th to second gear = rpm run's from 2,200 rev X min. to 5,500 rev X min. And then kicks out completely. You have to re-arm it. Nothing can be done???

In town driving gets less than15 mpg (US gallon) and 25 mpg versus the 24 mpg in town and 34 mpg on the hi road!

Often high rev. when you start the car even when it's worm.

They (Suzuki Canada) say it's normal...

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable car! But..

It seems that out of 4 sold form this dealership 2 have the same prblems.

Every time someone gets in I have to check if the air bag is armed. If not, I have to stop the engin and restart it so the air bag gets armed.

Concerning the harsh shifting and knocking while down shift hing, the dealership says that Suzuki Canada says is normal???

They also told me that I'm the only one who has this problem.

For the high rev. it seems that is also considered normal.

I wrote to Suzuki Canada and after two tries, they've transferred the situation to the director of the zone.

Lets see what this person has to say and what can be done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2007

23rd Dec 2007, 19:04

Well, this is December 23 2007 and the Zone Director from Suzuki Canada hasn't gotten in touch with me.

It seems that what's more important for Suzuki Canada is to sell cars! Client satisfaction is secondary.

6th Jan 2008, 11:52

I finally meet the Suzuki Zone manager on January 4th 2008. He was accompanied by a mechanical technician.

We took the car for a ride, then I let the technician take over. After a few minutes, he had the transmission banging while trying to shift between 2 and 3 gear.

Although they both felt and heard the banging, they said it was more of an "aesthetic" thing, and that it was normal??

I asked them: If I ever find someone to buy this car, and after driving it a while, he or she started to hear the transmission banging, and he or she decided to take me to court, if they will come as witnesses to tell the court this is only "aesthetic". I got no answer from them.

He added that if Suzuki ever finds the reason why some of these transmissions bang like this, and knows how to fix them, he'd eventually get back to me.

They OK'd fixing, for the 3rd time, the "air bag" sensor, and the wiper arms. But as for the cruise control, they said it was "normal" for it to act that way??

I've had enough! As soon as they fix the seat sensor and the wiper arms, I'll try and trade it in for anything else.

I've already started looking. 1 GM dealer was offering 6,500$ on a trade in. A Nissan dealer did not want it as a trade in, and a used car place didn't even want to discuss it as a trade in...

No one seems to want these Micky Mouse cars.

2006 Suzuki Verona from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Intrigue

Summary:

Verona equals troubles

Faults:

Tire pressure sensor failed in delivery.

Rear view mirror fell off the windshield at 400 miles.

Transmission banging at 2500 miles.

Front end clunking noise at 2500 miles.

General Comments:

I was really excited to get a new Verona, but that quickly faded with the problems encountered early on.

After several diagnostic service visits, Suzuki agreed to replace the transmission that was banging when shifting. They told me the front end noise was "part of the transmission problem". When I picked up the car after the transmission was changed out, the front end clunk was still there. Next they changed the stabilizer bar bushings to repair the front end clunk. The clunk persisted.

I threatened to pursue my Lemon Law options and the Sales manager offered me a new different car, a Suzuki Forenza wagon, at an even trade out. The Verona now had 11,000 miles on it.

At delivery, the Forenza's passenger air bag sensor was bad and a service visit repaired it. Now I am waiting for a pending recall to replace a faulty chip in the computer, which is contributing to difficulty in starting in the mornings. The car has 1200 miles on it.

Suzuki? Never again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th June, 2006

30th Jun 2006, 16:13

Blame Suzuki for selling the car, but don't blame them for building it. These pieces of junk are built by Daewoo.

5th Mar 2008, 16:05

I'm glad I paid a few thousand more for the Sonata which is far more superior over the 2.5 I6 plus the sonata v6 puts out 235 hp plus it get over 25 mpg on the highway try that on the Verona, I guess the saying is right you get what you pay for, I am glad I did not buy one.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 3 reviews