Triumph Herald Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1964 Triumph Herald 1200 Conv 1.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1964
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance1601 miles
Previous carMG B

Summary:

This is a low budget fun car

Faults:

Needed paint job and also needed new top, tires and most important TLC.

General Comments:

This is by far the slowest car I have ever owned, but the most fun. I can put 4 people (not big people) and go for a ride with the top down. It might take me a lot longer to get there, but we always have fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

9th Jun 2004, 13:16

Hi,

The review is great, except I'd like to know what a Herald 1200 (in the described condition) would cost? I have one in storage that I'm going to sell, and need to know what the market value is. Thanks. I'll appreciated emailed response (s) to zgirrll@earthlink.net.

27th Apr 2006, 12:26

Where can I get a convertible roof conversion kit for a Triumph Herald 1250 with hard top roof.

1970 Triumph Herald 13/60 Convertible 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carTriumph GT6 mk 3

Summary:

Great fun in the summer with the roof down, some strange looks in the winter with the roof down

Faults:

The car needed almost a full restoration.

The chassis had rotted away at the rear end of the car, the cross members had rotted away.

The rear tub section of the car, was rotten.

The rear suspension transverse spring had broken.

The differential had too much oil in it.

The head gasket was poorly fitted by the previous owner and therefore leaked.

The speedo cable caused the speedo to stop working, because there was excess pressure pulling the inside mechanism of the speedo forwards, causing rubbing and eventually it wore out and the speedo stopped working.

When putting the body back on, it was difficult to realign to get the door and roof to close.

The wheels tuck under when cornering at high speeds.

General Comments:

This car is exceptionally good value for money.

It gets a lot of looks in modern traffic.

Great fun to drive.

A lot of people stop me and want to talk about the car, I've been late for work several times whilst filling up with petrol in the mornings.

Cheap to insure, I'm 20 and it costs me just over £300 to insure, which by todays standards is cheap!

The wheels tuck under when cornering at high speeds, which can be fun at times!

This 1970's Herald 13/60 is a cheap and easy to repair car.

The turning circle is excellent, you can literally turn the car around within two lengths of the car itself.

Parts are readily available and are cheap to obtain.

This car cost me £650 to buy and about another £200, not including the re-spray to repair.

Very easy to work on.

Everything is easily accessable and has the perfect place to rest a cup of tea/ coffee, what have you, when looking under the bonnet.

I could easily sell this car for twice the amount I paid for it, but the fun factor is second to none.

There is so much I could write about this car and I'm sure I'll remember some more things about I submit this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

11th Jan 2003, 18:45

Sure I've seen your car, if its the one in Sunderland, sometimes in Uni car park. Superb car mate.

11th Oct 2003, 13:45

Close - its in south wales!

16th Apr 2004, 08:39

I bought a 13/60 last September. It is a fantastic car. It was in pretty good nick when I got it, but have done some respraying of the under sides and wheel arches. Went for a trip down the M4 on Monday and got plenty of looks.

Happy driving!

Lucy.

20th Feb 2008, 09:02

Hi.

Thanks for a great review. I mostly agree with you.

Regards Flemming, http://herald-tips-tricks.wikidot.com

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews