1976 Triumph TR6 from North America

Summary:

Dream! (one word is good huh?)

Faults:

This car takes constant care. Not real expensive, but maintaining the car is not optional; you have to.

General Comments:

There is only one thing that I would want different... more power. This car is beautiful! It is perfectly balanced. It was built to ride with the road and respond with your reflexes. If it had 500hp and handled the same, there would be no reason to look further for a roadster; it is fast enough, but faster?... it's what a sports car is about. I have seen very few cars that have such a "Look"; the TR-6 is just gorgeous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2010

1976 Triumph TR6 from North America

Summary:

A highly recognized and much sought after classic British sports car, that is what it is

Faults:

Car is basically stock and for me has been pretty much trouble free. Cosmetic upgrades only.

General Comments:

The car is fun to drive.

If you are a large person, this is not the car for you.

It's a huge head turner.

It is not a fast car in its original engine state.

Trying to make it faster will quickly decrease the value.

Trying to modernize this car with all the after market upgrade parts available will dramatically reduce the collector value.

If you want to own a Porsche, buy a Porsche, this car does not handle like a Porsche.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2009

16th Dec 2009, 08:50

When I was a teenager back in the early to mid 1970's, I don't think there was a car I wanted more. The TR6 was a great-looking British Sports Car!

1975 Triumph TR6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Quick and solid. Easy to repair

Faults:

It gets dirty and I have to change the oil.

The only big problem is that the air conditioner always made the engine overheat in heavy traffic. So, I just took it out. Problem solved.

This is a good "just for fun" second car, but it is a dream on the interstate at 70 mph, especially at night with the top down.

General Comments:

This car is a shade tree mechanic's dream. You can just about take the whole thing apart with a screwdriver and a 1/2 inch wrench.

It is not hard to repair. My slave cylinder failed once and I just changed it out on the side of the road. Parts are readily available by mail order.

It gets good gas mileage and it has so much torque that it will fool you into thinking it has double its actual horsepower.

The fun factor is off the chart for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2009

1970 Triumph TR6 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Not practical, but fast, reliable, head turning fun

Faults:

Heater fan blowing fuses.

Fuel pressure relief valve stuck.

General Comments:

The car is very quick even by todays standards.

The overdrive transmission makes cruising at high high speed fuss free.

It corners like a go cart on smooth roads, but unfortunately the front end is unstable on bumpy roads.

The cabin is a little cramped and the seats are not comfortable for long distances.

It also attracts a lot of attention and comments from people of all ages.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2003

25th May 2004, 22:36

But, Do you like the car? I just bought a 1974 and a half back in Feb. Only drove it about 40 miles. The interior needed some work, smelled like it was about 30 years old. I bought all the interior stuff from moss motors. I'm replacing panels, carpet and upolstry. Also trans tunnel and driveshaft tunnel. The car I bought needs paint, but its solid, no rust what so ever, the guy that had it before me, had the motor rebuilt, front end suspension rebuilt amongst other things, car is by far original equipment, no modifications done to it. Pretty good shape for an Illinois car. Well good luck with yours.

1971 Triumph TR6 PI 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Great Looker, but don't put your life savings on its reliability!

Faults:

Fuel Injectors clog up periodically causing the engine to misfire, necessitating removal of brackets which, if the appropriate tools are not to hand, can be very frustrating.

Engine runs rich, increasing petrol consumption and requiring mixture adjustment at regular intervals.

Various electrical faults - not uncommon on early seventies BL car

General Comments:

The car was purchased fully restored in 2001. An excellent and unusual metallic dark blue turns plenty of heads, as does the pale blue leather interior. I had forgotten just how idiosyncratic old sports cars can be. Nothing is easy to get at and the non inertia reel seat belts require proficiency in calisthenics!

The angle of the glove box makes it impossible to open it without safe -breaking skills.

Water ingress into the driver's foot -well is an inevitable consequence of heavy rain as the water flows back towards the windscreen with the forward motion of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2002

1973 Triumph TR6 PI 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Not for the school run, far more fun!

Faults:

Worn universal joints.

Engine mountings loose.

Had big problems starting when very cold, or damp.

Have to be prepared to unclog the mechanical fuel injection periodically.

General Comments:

Well done to Engenuity in Acton for sorting the engine out. Thanks boys!

The car has been upgraded a little in performance terms and will hold its own against modern traffic at the lights.

Engine sounds great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

1975 Triumph TR6 Convertible roadster 2.5 6 cylinder from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Gearbox gave slight problem at first but now perfect after minor repairs. Other than that I can't think of any other significant fault.

General Comments:

Car purchased from UK in 1993 and imported into Ireland. Always garaged and only used in dry conditions. Car was completely restored (by professional) in UK in 1991. Car has received extensive small improvements since I bought it. Fortunate to have got a good one. Car is very pleasing to drive and work on. Needs careful maintenance and greasing. Must be driven regularly - does 20 mpg. Limited mileage insurance available at reasonable rates (in Ireland). Car should be kept in original spec - value will suffer if it's not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 1999

28th Jul 2010, 11:47

I bought my '75 TR6 in 1999. I restored and maintained it as a great daily driver (don't drive it daily though). I drive it all year unless it is snowing or raining. I have had this car 11 years. It still excites me to climb in and fire it up. It drives smooth; fast; good handling. It has overdrive so it's a great highway cruiser, a conversation starter wherever I go. Compared to today's computers on wheels, these cars (and MGs) had great personality... low tech, easy to fix, great sound. I love my car.