1984 Vauxhall Astra Reviews

1984 Vauxhall Astra 1.6SR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

The best warm hatch of its generation

Faults:

Blocked fuel filter caused loss of power for a while.

Battery flattened due to wiring short, mysteriously repaired itself!

General Comments:

I have owned 14 cars ranging from an MG Metro to an MR2 Turbo with 2 Porsches in there too and I swear that this is the finest car I have ever owned!

I owned this car from the age 19 to 21, when I was one of the most notorious street racers around!

The handling was unreal, I can honestly say that no car or bike ever got the better of me round a bend!

In a straight line the car was no rocket, but could pull to an honest 105mph on the flat. There was plenty of pull in every gear, right to the red line in the first 4!

My friend had an XR2 and we raced round a street circuit once, the Ford would pull away on the straights, but coming out of every bend Id be trying to pass him, the car had limpet like grip from the 185/60/14 shod Cavalier SRi alloys.

The car had big comfy recaro seats and the same dash as a GTE with extra gauges for oil temp, battery volts etc.

The factory bodykit looked tough, so I didn't modify it at all apart from the afore mentioned alloys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2003

13th Mar 2003, 11:47

Thank you very much to the woman with the first comment, I hope you are enjoying your retirement home!

I sold the car after 18 months without ever marking the bodywork, these days I am nearly 30 and an advanced driver, I still blast down the odd familiar B road, but tend to be quite careful and always obey speed limits in built up areas!

I agree entirely with the second comment, the engine was very sweet and torquey, My current Ford Zetec motor is certainly no great step forwards in economy, refinement or economy!

1984 Vauxhall Astra GTE 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

A classic old school hot hatchback

Faults:

Nothing much apart from front tyres wearing down because of the cars willingness to pull away fast.

Replaced the front brake pads and discs after hearing them hitting the discs.

The rear wheel arches are begining to show signs of age as the car is almost 18 years old.

General Comments:

The mark 1 astra GTE has now reached classic status as they were only built for one year.

Its reliable and quick.

0-60 timed at 7.8 seconds on a rolling road.

Handling is tight and the car holds the road well.

However the ride is very hard as the car has lowered suspension fitted as standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2002

2nd Feb 2003, 04:16

A rolling road will not give you an indication of a cars speed on the road!

1984 Vauxhall Astra GTE 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Cost me £575 a few years ago and gives performance for little cash

Faults:

Not a lot has gone wrong considering this is now an 18 year old car. The usual stuff has worn to the point of replacement over the years.

Suspension was in a bad way as were the rear arches (hmmm, shocker)

Now the valve stem seals have died, but a recon head with all new internals was £50, be rude not to fix it up.

The interior was badly worn and so I threw it out.

General Comments:

This is a German import and is in fact a mk2, one of the first.

With new suspension the car handles surprisingly well (and yes I have driven other Astras and know the handling is notoriously 'dodgy')

They wear out quickly though, but at least parts are dirt cheap and everywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2002

1984 Vauxhall Astra Mk1 GTE 1.8 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 8v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

An aggressive looking hot hatchback

Faults:

New battery at time of purchase.

Replaced cam-shaft and alternator drive-belts.

It's in good condition for its age.

General Comments:

The performance is respectable - about on a par with my previous car, a VW Scirocco.

It handles and takes corners really well for a Hot Hatch, with little or no body roll.

The early Mk1 GTE's are becoming extremely rare nowadays. It's a proper head turner and the ladies love it.

Insurance group 11, and the running costs are pretty low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2001

1984 Vauxhall Astra GTE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Reliable, cheap fun

Faults:

Just a head gasket.

General Comments:

Really good fun and built really well.

I have owned seven mk1 Astras and they have all been reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2000

28th Oct 2001, 13:06

If they are reliable, why have you owned 7?

12th Jan 2005, 11:43

7 diferent models you Muppet.

1984 Vauxhall Astra L Estate 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

Rock solid flying wardrobe!

Faults:

Rebuilt the car from three scrappers.

Head went, but that was my driving (Only £40 to fix!!)

Starter motor went once, alternator went twice. (Scrapyard has loads!)

Autochoke was a bit funny as well (still is), which resulted in the replacement of the carb. (£10 scrapyard)

All wheel bearings and shocks have been done, but only because I thought it was safer to do this.

Exhaust had to be done and also a hand brake cable.

Oh, and I changed the gearbox for a 5 speed Nova box (straight swap) because it only had 4 speeds!

General Comments:

Over 2 1/2 years the car has cost me a total of £1200 from scratch.

It has done nearly 70000 miles in that time. It goes like stink and you can fit a double bed in the back of it. You cannot complain, even if it has had a lot of work. It has taken everything I've thrown at it!

Absolute champion motor!! Will be buying the GTE soon!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2000

1984 Vauxhall Astra SR 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing apart from a bulb or two. Cam belt has broken twice but that was because the previous owner fitted the wrong type of water pump so the cog teeth wear the belt faster. Thankfully the engine has dished pistons so its not fatal, just fit a new cam belt.

General Comments:

Great car, cheap to run, cheap insurance yet pretty fast, nice looks with SR additions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 1998

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews