2004 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2004 Vauxhall Astra SXi 1.6 twinport from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 twinport Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9624 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

This is a quick little car that handles like a dream

Faults:

Emission control indicator light has just come on and holds steady while car is running.

General Comments:

I'm still just as enthusiastic about this little car, 1.6 twin port (2-door, as I was when I first purchased it in April this year. It's a little sweetheart with a delightful engine. I have to really watch myself as the car will hit 70mph with no effort at all.

My only gripe is I'm only 5ft and I struggle to get into a comfortable driving position - even with all the seat adjustments available. However, I can at least easily reach the pedals! This is actually a man's car, but what the heck - it's jolly good fun! As I have read in similar comments - it sticks to the road like glue and sneaks around bends fantastically - driving around Cornwall was a dream!

I failed the test on 0-60 in 11 or so seconds as I didn't realise that you cannot over rev this car in 1st gear - it doesn't like it! Now I know better and being 'naughty' at pull away from traffic lights needs restraining in a big way.

The boot (trunk) is amazingly large. The rear seat capacity is just as impressive. This is a 'kinda sporty' little car with family room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2005

6th May 2006, 03:04

I do like the look of the new Astras and I am thinking of getting one, but the 1.6i 16v Engine isn't fast at all. I have raced a couple of 1.6i 16v Astras in my 1.6i 16v Scenic from 2001 and I can say that I can actually get past them. But overall it is a nice car.

6th Jan 2009, 16:12

I have a 2005 Astra 1.6, and my mate has a 1.6 Honda Civic Sport, and his car is quite a bit faster than mine, and the Honda handles a lot better. But the Astra is a great car, but the handling could do with being slightly better, and mine will not go past 125 mph when it's on 6000 revs. Any suggestions why?

7th Jan 2009, 10:44

Because it's not a big engine and the car has ran out of steam... simple physics, not enough power to keep moving forward against the road friction and air resistance. Probably won't actually do 125mph to be honest, probably an over reading speedo.

2004 Vauxhall Astra SXI 1.6 Twinport from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Twinport Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Sporty, fast and fun to drive!!!

Faults:

It's a new car, and touch wood, is still running good.

General Comments:

From a 1.0 Corsa to a 1.6 twin-port SXi Astra is a big jump.

Apart from that, it's really nice.

The car is seriously quick, and handles like it's on rails with its 205/50/16 tires, and with the sports suspension.

When I got the car, it had the full Irmscher body kit on it. The only the I need for it now is the Irmscher exhaust. I really like the Vauxhall Astra 1.6 twin-port SXi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2005

21st Nov 2005, 03:44

Ever heard of commas.

2004 Vauxhall Astra SXI 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Best to date by Vauxhall. Definately better than any car I have had as a hire that includes VW/Ford

Faults:

Condensation in near side head lamp at 45000.

Ventilation panel lamp failure at 49000.

General Comments:

The car is very fast off the mark and handles all road conditions extremely well.

Cabin brightened up with factory fit multi CD Auto changer and chrom rings for ventilation panel. All other dials white and chrome rings.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2005

2004 Vauxhall Astra Coupe 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Coupe

Summary:

The Astra Turbo is a rewarding car to drive, with plenty of buttons to keep the geek in you amused

Faults:

Alcantara leather is a pain to keep clean.

Had to replace a tyre within the first few weeks of ownership (due to a puncture). Very hard to get hold of the Dunlop SP8000 that is recommended in the owners manual. Contacted 3 Vauxhall dealerships, none of whom were able to supply one.

No other faults to report, and more to the point, I have not (yet) seen one broken down by the side of the road.

General Comments:

Ride is smooth despite the lower suspension coupled with the low profile tyres.

Cruise control can maximize fuel economy on long journeys. I've had returns of 36 / 37 MPG on long motorway trips.

Any serious acceleration *drinks* fuel. Town driving regularly returns me 22 MPG.

Average combined fuel consumption is around 32 MPG, which is comparable to my girlfriend's Fiat Punto HGT.

The car's handling is predictable and progressive even in the wet, and the car's ESP system will hide minor mistakes.

Insurance is remarkably cheap despite the 197 BHP beast strapped under the bonnet.

The seats are reasonably comfortable, although not as comfortable as the seats in my previous car (a Rover 218 VVC Coupe).

Drivers should be mindful of watching their speed in this car as it is so well composed, it feels like you are traveling at a crawling pace even at 70 MPH.

Quick 0-60 times are effortless.

Motorway driving is lazy as the majority of the 189 lb/ft of torque is available from 1950 RPM through 6000 RPM, meaning you are not required to go up and down the gears constantly.

A couple of small gripes :-

1.) The lack of rear windscreen wiper.

2.) I have size 10 feet, and I find that there is a foam 'roof' in the footwell that you can catch your feet on when driving, which is mildly irritating.

Other than that, there is very little to moan about.

Pick up an ex-demo for a good deal. I bought a 5 month old ex-demo with 3000 miles on the clock and saved £12000 on new!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2005

15th Aug 2005, 10:20

I saved £12,000 (that's twelve thousand pounds - in case you're thinking it's a typo).

My car brand new with all of the options :-

1 Side Airbags (£400 cost option)

2 Alcantara Suede interior (£2000 cost option)

3 Xenon Headlights with autolevel and washers (£600 cost option)

4 DCS600 CD multi-changer (£200 cost option)

5 Built in phone (£200 cost option)

Costs around £24,000 brand new.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews