2007 Vauxhall Astra Reviews

2007 Vauxhall Astra SXI (115) 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carHyundai i20

Summary:

Reliable, stylish motoring

Faults:

After I purchasing car, noticed slight clutch judder, mainly when the car was cold. As a goodwill gesture, main dealer changed it for free, wasn't covered under manufacturer's warranty.

No other problems.

General Comments:

The 1.6 vvt engine is an improvement on previous 100 bhp 1.6 engine & better fuel economy.

Good mpg when driven sensibly, 43mpg (mixed driving).

Plenty of power to overtake.

Smooth gearbox & nice interior on the SXI model.

Decent grip when cornering, due to up rated SXI suspension.

Nice solidly built reliable family car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2010

30th Nov 2010, 05:18

I have had my Astra SXi Coupe 2007 from new. Stylish car and looks the part. However, problems so far have been fan on heater having to be replaced in March 2008, then heater motor went all together November 2010 and had to be replaced. Now the boot will not open with my fob. Would not have another Vauxhall now.

2007 Vauxhall Astra SRi 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8i Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance16650 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Unreliable, and watch out for the auto gearbox

Faults:

Numerous punctures on all the tyres; so far have got through 2 full sets, with 3 more needing to be replaced once out the garage!

Head gasket blown at 16000.

Gearbox KNACKERED at 16000.

Complete new suspension.

Full set of brake pads.

New steering column and re-wiring of the horn.

General Comments:

These cars are real eye-catchers, and as a woman I do notice a lot of envious looking guys - especially when I cut them up ;-) Also attracts attention and a lot of people asking "what car is it?"

Nippy car, and feels a lot smaller and easier to drive than you'd expect.

Interior is slick and stylish.

Cornering is excellent.

Sports button is a lot of fun, especially on the motorway - grip is firm and steering precise. Revs go crazy once pushed, and you really can feel a noticeable difference (I read somewhere that with the sports button on this model it increases engine size to 2.0L; I could stand corrected, but it does feel a lot bigger and powerful).

Am very disappointed with my Vauxhall dealer, who although they offered an instant service, failed to spot: gear-box problems, and despite advising them of a whistling sound from under the bonnet when driving (but what do I know, I'm only a woman eh!), a week later I told em where to check for signs the head gasket had blown! Duh!

3 weeks later and I'm STILL waiting for my "unusual" gearbox to turn up, and they aren't promising anything within the next 2 weeks!!!

In the mean-time I have a 1.8 5 door Astra Elite - interior is nice (centre console finished in glossy black with leather interior) but I'm noticing the same tell-tell signs as with mine (slow punctures, horn not working, gearbox jerking when changing from 1 & 2nd gear).

My concern is that this is the 2nd Astra with very similar faults to mine. And even more concerning is the fact that Vauxhall has advised that there is a backlog and demand for the gearboxes - Vauxhall, have you messed up with this gearbox????

Personally for cars that are under 1 years old, all these faults are food for thought in terms of long-term ownership!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th March, 2008

29th Jul 2008, 08:54

I don't mean to be patronising, but I assure you, engines cannot increase in size by pressing a button!

The sport button simply makes the throttle and steering feel more responsive and tells the auto box to hold the gears for longer before changing up when accelerating.

Anyway, I would suggest you've been unlucky. I have a Zafira 2.2 with the same autobox as you and my father-in-law has an Astra 1.8 auto same as yours. Neither have given any problems, not with punctures or with autobox failures. Both have mileages 30k+.

Just because there's a delay getting a replacement box doesn't mean that they all go wrong, it could equally mean they don't do production runs very often because they rarely go wrong!

4th Dec 2010, 01:20

I have a Vauxhall Astra 2007; I bought it for £7500. After having the car for a month, I also heard whistling noises. Fifteen months later, my gear box also broke. The gear box has only done 40,000 miles. When speaking to the dealership, they told me all Vauxhall Astras 2007 had faulty gear boxes, and needed to be recalled.

10th Jan 2011, 13:42

I have a 2007 Vauxhall Astra 1.8 SRI. I have had it for around 2 months and drove it last night and it's feeling jerky as if it's struggling in the gear it's in. It also feels quite underpowered. After reading the other comments, it seems this is a common fault, I'm taking it back to Vauxhall on Wednesday morning and I am going to really kick off if they start messing me about.

11th Apr 2011, 11:06

I would suggest from the things that have gone wrong with your car that there's a possibility you should adjust your driving style. Regardless of what manufacturers say, new cars should be 'handled with care' for the first 10k miles to help parts bed in. With a 1.8 VVT engine I would definitely have suggested this due to the complexity, and coupled with an auto box then it's paramount.

Fact is, when purchasing a 1.8 SRi they are very tempting to fling about and hammer down the motorways. Unfortunately the faults yours is displaying (while unlucky) are symptomatic of an over abused, 'non-run in' car.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 4 reviews