1990 Vauxhall Calibra 8v 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Looks fast, but rusts quicker

Faults:

Radiator blew

Water pump went

Heater matrix roted

Sub frame rusted badly

Oil leaks

Lots of body rust

Faulty ABS.

General Comments:

It looks nice, but the body rusts away. The big problem as with the cavalier is the rust under the car. If you want to buy one look long and hard under it with a torch or better on a ramp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th July, 2003

10th Jul 2003, 17:06

You bought a secondhand car. What do you expect?

13th Aug 2003, 10:20

Especially since it was a vauxhall, I've seen 2002 model vetras will rear arch rust!!

1990 Vauxhall Calibra 16v 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Beautiful, quick, reliable, but handles like a dog

Faults:

Idle valve blocked and engine idle became erratic.

Fuel pump relay burnt out.

General Comments:

Stunning to look at - one of the prettiest mass produced cars ever in my opinion.

Stonking 16 valve engine gave impressive performance and good fuel economy. Sounded the part too.

Handling crap. Understeer and more understeer, combined with a power steering system that should have been ripped out of the car and shot. No feel through the wheel, and it was about as accurate as trying to use a bent fairground rifle after 15 pints of Stella.

Very few problems and top notch build. Cavalier chassis spoils the car slightly though. Performance and looks apart, this is not a sports car, although people will buy it because of the stonking looks. You could love this car or hate it depending on what you want from it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

1990 Vauxhall Calibra 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Love the style, but no build quality!

Faults:

The following items failed and/or needed replacing as stated.

Sump gasket after 3 months.

ABS sensors after 4 months.

Vented discs after 4 months.

Heater matrix after 6 months.

Driver door lock after 6 months.

Electric window would not go up after 6 months.

Power steering rack replaced after 6 months.

Radio aerial replaced after 7 months.

Engine temperture sensor failed after 7 months.

Petrol gauge sensor failed after 7 months.

Rear wheel bearings replaced after 9 months.

Cat replaced after 9 months.

Cat replaced again after 10 months.

Power steering rack replaced again after 14 months.

Sump gasket replaced again after 16 months.

Front wheel bearings replaced after 18 months.

Stereo replaced after 19 months.

Radio aerial replaced again after 24 months.

General Comments:

All above faults on the car were repaired under network Q, and I am now on first name terms with the Dealer. Still have the odd fault, but everything seemed to go wrong when I first owned the vehicle.

Now 11 years on the car is still used every day, but only for short, fast journeys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2002

11th Aug 2004, 12:29

My god, you have had some bad luck with your car, lucky you didn't have to pay for all of it. I bought my calibra, spectral blue-16v-leather,3 yrs old in 96 on k 93 plate and still have it! its been VERY reliable, i would recommend this car to anyone, but like all cars, they need to have been looked after to achieve this level of satisfaction. i still love the car and can see myself driving it for years, just not worth selling such a nice, reliable car at present value, for another which may be a dog!If its good and reliable and not rusting, keep it.

29th Nov 2005, 16:25

It should be reliable - it is after all a Cavalier underneath which was one of the most reliable cars ever made.

1990 Vauxhall Calibra 2.0 8v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A gorgeous gorgeous car

Faults:

Not much yet.

General Comments:

Any owners had problems obtaining secondhand headlamps?

Recent M.O.T, failed on 'poor headlight pattern'. Dead chuffed, or so I thought. Found out I needed new head lamps. No luck with local scrap yards, priced up new ones. Severe heart attack set in. Cost £165-206 each, eventually e-mailed nationwide. One had a single unit for £75, got lucky with a pair for £102. Quite chuffed again, got these through 1st choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2001