1992 Vauxhall Calibra Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1992 Vauxhall Calibra 16v 2.0 16v SFI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v SFI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Senator

Summary:

A total weapon, but likes petrol

General Comments:

Very good handling, very fast brakes, ABS is good.

It's chipped, full stainless steel exhaust, sounds lovely.

SFI trip computer.

I love it, the beast would eat a Cossie no problem. In fact I've done it.

Very fast from 0 to 60, superb, love it.

I paid 350 for the beast in red; 12 months later and I'm over the moon.

Paul from Carlisle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th January, 2006

1992 Vauxhall Calibra 4x4 Turbo 2.0 16v turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired79500 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Massive speed, great handling, but reliable?

Faults:

The 4x4 system failed within a few thousand miles, the power steering "sphere" split, and the bonnet release is a bit reluctant. The head was porous when I bought it, needing 2 oil sleeves fitting (£120 each). When refitting the head, the coils in the block for the head bolts snapped, and needed heli-coiling!

Despite all this, I love the car to bits!

General Comments:

The car is absolutely stunning. The headlights and low-slung body give it pure aggression and style. It handles amazingly well at the limit, with very good grip and stability.

The 4x4 system and sheer power of the engine launches the car off the line in no time. I have beaten Pulsar GTi-R's, Cosworths and Evo's.

The leather trim is excellent, and the controls, driving position and everything is perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2003

11th Aug 2006, 04:56

"Pressure seal has gone in the transfer box"

Well, there's a shocker. Did you know that the Vauxhall Cavalier/Calibra 4x4 transmission has the dubious honour of being blanket excluded from most of the major used car warranties?

I worked at a Vauxhall dealership when these cars were on sale new, and we never went more than two or three days without seeing a Cavalier / Calibra 4x4 with transmission failure. They usually came in on recovery trucks with a puddle of gear oil underneath. Either that, or they'd get stuck in front wheel drive mode.

They're total crap in all honesty.

11th Aug 2006, 06:04

Depends on the state of tune - a well tuned Calibra turbo will beat a Cossie and a standard Evo.

1992 Vauxhall Calibra 20L 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 20L 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9000

Summary:

A really fun, fast, cool car

Faults:

Brakes 'judder' on hard braking. Suspect new disk needed.

Sun roof cable snapped.

Passenger window sensor doesn't work. Shuts, then opens a couple of inches.

General Comments:

It's a joy to drive.

Handles well, feels sure footed.

Noisy when booted.

Love the seats, really comfy and look good too.

Styling is great, not dated at all.

The first car I've had in years that excites me. I think about it in bed (sad, I know!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2003

1992 Vauxhall Calibra 16V 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Great car, cheap to run and insure, reliable, but not quick enough

Faults:

Fuel leak due to corroded pipe.

Instrument panel lights need replaced.

Water leaks from under bonnet to cockpit when in car wash.

General Comments:

Very nice looking car.

Lovely interior with black leather upholstery, very comfortable.

Great engine, even with high mileage.

Disappointing perfomance for a car with 150 bhp. 0-60mph 8.0sec not good enough.

My old Astra GTE was quicker and that was 8v standard.

One or two rust problems. Has to be expected for a ten year old car, but it's a quality car for its age. Drives like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2003

10th Aug 2006, 16:21

The 0-60 is 8 seconds, "your" car doing a 0-60 in 7.1 seconds with only 150bhp is impossible, a Renaultsport Clio has 172bhp and is slower to 60 (7.2) and is MUCH lighter than a Calibra.

4th Dec 2006, 06:33

Indeed there is plenty of truth in the above comments. I have a 1993 Calibra 16v, completely standard and as they have a stopwatch on the dashboard you can reasonably accurately time your 0-60. Mine will pull a 7.5 second 0-60 dash any day of the week. Please remember 'book speeds' are tested with foot flat to the floor bouncing off the rev limiter before dumping the clutch. This is the only way manufacturers can get an accurate, across the board reading. Most people that can drive their Calibra a little and know there car can easily pull a 7 second dash. As to the Clio 172 info, brake horse power means nothing against a Calibra unless your near 200 bhp. A friend of mine has a 192 bhp Civic and I can keep up with that all the way to 140mph. So, before disrespecting anybody's claims, do some homework first. And, if you have the bottle, take on an old Calibra, but don't be surprised if it keeps up with you, unless you have a Type R!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 16 reviews