1989 Vauxhall Carlton Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1989 Vauxhall Carlton CD 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Viva Vauxhall!!!

Faults:

Brakes needed work for MOT: total cost for brake lines, pads all round, 2 new tyres and labour was £290.

General Comments:

I Bought this car for £500 in February as a stopgap when my previous car was stolen.

My previous car was a Saab 900 that cost me £5000 to buy and a further £2000 in repairs (£125 for an aerial anybody?). This car is faster, more economical, more luxurious and cheaper to insure.

When this car dies I will buy another Carlton...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2002

1989 Vauxhall Carlton CDi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired151000 miles
Most recent distance179300 miles
Previous carCarbodies Black Cab

Summary:

Certainly not a bargain banger

Faults:

A wire fell off a solenoid.

Starter motor jammed.

General Comments:

I fell in love with the car when I saw it on the forecourt, when I test drove it the same day it had to be mine.

It's reliable and economical, easy to drive and very comfortable for myself and my wife and 3 daughters plus the dog. We run our own business and use the car to transport our goods to and from market, my only complaint with it is the pump up rear suspension which leaks, otherwise a superb motor car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2001

1989 Vauxhall Carlton CDX estate 3.0 12v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 12v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired159000 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A high performance bargain :-)

Faults:

New front and rear brake disks at 165000.

New rear wiper motor at 190000.

Few chassis welds.

New back axle at 2000 miles...

General Comments:

Lovely engine : so much torque, gear changing optional.

Absolutely effortless motorway cruiser.

Good for Scaring hot hatch drivers : looks identical to standard 2 litre.

Would still be driving it if I hadn't driven it into the back of a lorry :-((

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2001

1989 Vauxhall Carlton CDXi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carVauhall Astra 1.4

Summary:

Executive ride for mortals

Faults:

Burnt out auto box (auto oil leak) - expensive rebuild (£1000+)

Bulbs fail quite a bit.

Cruise packed up 3 years ago (but not used anyway)

Alternator replaced.

Rear suspension rubber bushes replaced.

3 exhaust replacements since new.

All disks and pads replaced twice since new.

4 sets of spark plugs since new.

Sun roof needs manual help to close.

Rust showing on the extreme edges of the doors and inside the sunroof drainage margin, but not major yet.

The boot leaks a little.

General Comments:

So I've had this car for 10 years now as a daily driver and it's only now failed its MOT with a problem (only one fail before with worn rear suspension bushes). I'm amazed how reliable its been (probably due to it being built in Germany) - only stopped on me 4 times in 10 years

1) Failed fuel relay (£10).

2) Dead battery (£50).

3) Burnt out auto box (£1100).

4) Alternator failure (£65).

It's on 140,000 miles now and I'm still impressed at how well it drives - so are others who have had a ride. Still get it up to 120mph from time to time. The suspension is great - there is a hump back bridge I sometimes take at 60 and you can never bottom it out! Loads of space and easy to maintain. But I have the feeling the end is nigh - not sure the £600 required to weld plates to the sub-frame runners is worth it (2 rust holes have appeared).

Would I get another? Yes - except you can't find them easily any more with reasonable mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2001

1st Feb 2005, 13:04

£600 for the welding you mention? Seems a bit steep. My local garages (and good ones, not usually cheap) quote £350 maximum.

8th Aug 2009, 16:35

With the greatest respect, if you drive at 120mph and take hump back bridges at 60mph, you really ought to catch the bus in future.

11th Aug 2009, 06:38

120mph is fine as long as there is nothing to hit, ie other cars. I think I agree about the bridge though, not a good idea.

1989 Vauxhall Carlton GLi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Don't Know
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Comfort with economy

Faults:

Fuel injection relay - 1994.

Core plug (1) - 1997,

Alternator earth strap - 1997.

Prop shaft centre bearing - 2000.

Rusty front suspension panels, rear wheel arches and rear floor pan - 2000.

General Comments:

An excellent all round family car. Roomy, very comfortable, economical (27 - 44 mpg) and reliable. Looks good too.

A little sluggish pulling away from traffic lights, but apart from that I can't understand why these cars never really caught on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2001

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews