1990 Vauxhall Carlton Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1990 Vauxhall Carlton CDI 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carVolvo Estate

Summary:

Excellent truck-alike

Faults:

The head gasket has gone, resulting in a thirst for oil and water.

The wiring to the ignition recently caught fire, but I simply replaced it with a new peice and it works fine.

The aluminium block has a crack in it so it looses fresh oil!

The seats unfortunately, have all fallen to peices as the cloth has all fallen off them.

The rear axle has twisted a little so a whining noise occurs when you turn to the right.

General Comments:

The car is so easy to fix with bits you may have lying around your workshop!

It will carry up to 1/2 a tonne of cement in the boot with 5 people before the wheels catch the arches, so it is a great workshop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th August, 2001

1990 Vauxhall Carlton GSi 3.0 24v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.0 24v Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

Amazingly fast big car

Faults:

Some rot on the front chassis rails.

General Comments:

The most fun I ever had. The acceleration and handling are something you would expect from a much smaller car.

The inside is comfortable, I like the Recaro seats.

It's such good fun to wind up kids who think their Peugeot 205 GTis are fast cars! The Carlton eats them for breakfast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2001

2nd Aug 2001, 11:48

Read your comments, couldnt agree more! I have a 92 24v Auto which I've recently put onto 17" wheels, added a Superchip and uprated the brakes with Courtenay/Brembo items. A truly great car and one which I shall treasure for (hopefully!) many years to come!

31st Oct 2001, 10:33

I have to totally agree with both of you. I've got a '90 24v, which has just had a new g/box put in. 150.000 miles and it still goes like nothing else around here. The comfort, the handling, the performance!!! Nothing I've ever driven comes close, inc scoobies and evo's. ALL TOP NOTCH FUN.

20th Nov 2003, 08:52

I have a carlton gsi 24v and on the motor way it shifts like a rocket.

27th Feb 2004, 18:07

Yes, and couldn't agree more about the 205 brigade... a friend's 14-yr old son summed it up perfectly with the words "this car rocks!" - although I had just propelled him through the back seat by dropping into 1st coming out of a roundabout.

1990 Vauxhall Carlton CDXi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Very comfortable car with all the gadgets

Faults:

Alternator not charging battery. This was found to be caused by a blown battery lamp in the dashboard!

Petrol tank leak (only when filled to the top).

Rear electric windows stopped working.

General Comments:

Once the initial, inexpensive problems were fixed, a really good value car for less than a grand.

Very comfortable car with all the gadgets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2001

1990 Vauxhall Carlton CDXi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

As reliable as a Japanese car

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

If you need cheap reliable transport that does not cost an arm and leg for spares and servicing and if you want comfort for less than a grand, buy a Carlton CDXi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2001

1990 Vauxhall Carlton GL 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carVolvo 340DL

Summary:

Very comfortable

Faults:

A few electronics were faulty when I bought it - the fuel gauge, a few lights, the front switch for a rear window - nothing essential though.

General Comments:

It's extrememly comfortable and I can drive it for hours without getting tired. Very quiet drive. Lots of creature comforts. Nice gearbox. Looks more expensive than it is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Carlton CDi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier Mk2

Summary:

Fantastic drive!

Faults:

Alternator at 80,000. Petrol pump/sender unit at 95,000.

Computer thought there was no petrol coming through. Dealer fixed the sender unit and advised we may have to replace the computer at a cost of £1000! Fortunately it fixed the problem. Tracking bar adjusters at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

Fantastic car to drive particularly in the automatic format. A little slow to pull away but terrific on a long journey from Cardiff to Fort William!

You get out of the car feeling you have not driven for 4 hours!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Carlton 3000 GSi 24v 3.0 24v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 3.0 24v petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing major so far.

General Comments:

I have got up to 34mpg on a run and 26mpg round town, and that isn't lightly using it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

1990 Vauxhall Carlton CD 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

It's now on 140,000 miles and apart from oil changes and tyres the only thing to go wrong was my fuel line splitting!

General Comments:

Best car I ever bought! Just wish it was the 2.6CDX!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 1998

1990 Vauxhall Carlton CD 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Alternator failed - 98,000 miles.

Crankcase breather blocked - 87,000 miles.

Air flow sensor failure - 88,000 & 111,000 miles.

Auto-gearbox gear selection fault - 92,000 miles.

Fan/Blower failure - 107,000 miles.

Suspension gone very sloppy 90,000+ miles.

Rear door windows seized - 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

A reliable car but now that it has 111,000 miles on it has become a bit of a pain.

The most comfortable car I have ever driven. I would be happy if I could find a decent 2.6CDX. I wouldn't buy one if it had 80k+ miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 1997

1990 Vauxhall Carlton GL 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Held a lot of beer and wine in the boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 1997

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 14 reviews