1988 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1988 Vauxhall Cavalier CDi 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Great solid cars

Faults:

The usual things, 2 CV boots, 1 rear shock.

General Comments:

Always had Vauxhall cars, never touch anything else. They are the ultimate low-cost, reliable, economical, fast cars (if you have to combine all those). This one is no exception, it's just the unleaded conversion slows it down a bit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 130 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

RS Turbo eater!

Faults:

Nothing really, very reliable.

General Comments:

Very fast, my last car was a RS Turbo, but this is a lot more fun to drive. With it modified with a K&N, power boost valve, full exhaust and Superchipped it eats RS's for breakfast. Quite a rare sight these days but they don't get the credit they and Vauxhall deserve.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2000

5th Apr 2004, 05:36

That's strange because my mate has a standard RS Turbo and he can't keep up with my Cavalier SRi!

15th Apr 2004, 18:18

My very first car at the age of 18 years old back in 1994, was the 5 door hatchback SRI 130 on a E plate... you the one I mean, with the ASTRA GTE type alloys and the standard SRI body kit.

One on my mates brother use to own a RS Turbo who was 25 years old and still living with his parents....sort it out!!

Me and mate use to go out cruising in Coventry look for his brother as we knew he would be trying to pick up some dirty tart.

One day to our surprise we collared him in the city, what can I say... this guy blow his turbo into bits trying get away from us.

Give me the old SRI 130 and I will leave a RS Turbo into the unkown... of "WHERE THE F#$K DID THAT CAV GO!!"

Unfortunately I wrote that SRI off as a German HGV driver slammed into the side of me on a round about.

I now own a Vectra 2.5 V6 GSI... which allows me to reminisce of the old day.

1988 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 2.0 injection petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 injection petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier 1.6L

Summary:

Massive performance to price ratio car

Faults:

Water dripped through the boot until sealed with silicone. Water also drips on to the passenger leg area when washing the top of the bonnet with a power hose, and obviously the electrics like to have a laugh with you, but other than that no problems at all.

General Comments:

Very fast for a standard 2.0i car, I'm going to make it into a Calibra replica. When I first got it I beat a infamous Pearlescent pink Astra GTE which had been tuned to the max.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Cavalier LXi 1.8 petrol injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 216

Summary:

Rapid. Redline gear changes, cheap insurance

Faults:

Outer CV joint.

Blocked fuel filter.

Standard exhaust back-box collapsed.

General Comments:

Performance was OK'ish as standard but with the following modifications it became a flying machine.

Modified with:

Splitfire plugs

Rising rate fuel pressure regulator

K&N 57I induction kit

Full Janspeed (inc manifold)

Lowered 40mm

15" Calibra alloys

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Cavalier L 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carNissan Laurel 2.4

Summary:

The best thing ever

Faults:

Rear arch paint lift due to slight rust, has strange problem when starting from cold (not auto choke problem), it starts and runs crappy for about 10 secs then suddenly clears and is like a watch ????

General Comments:

Cavaliers are the best car you can buy if you are looking for reliabilty, comfort, economy and value for money at the cheaper end of the car market, if it is a family size car you want. I love them, it is the best car I have had for a long time and would never put anyone off from buying one. I have had about 20 different cars and this is the best.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2000

12th Mar 2001, 05:19

Yip know what you mean by running crappy when starting.

1988 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 130 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 216s

Summary:

A car that I only dreamed of owning as these are rare indeed!!

Faults:

Nothing yet but I'm always modifying it although the engine needed replacing when I got the car as the previous owner ran the car dry.... But it goes like the wind now and runs like a dream.

General Comments:

I had a job getting a performance exhaust, but found one by Jetex via Demon Tweeks, looks good with an evoII rear aerofoil, keep a look out in Max Power in the next year or so when it's finished!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 27 reviews