1988 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1988 Vauxhall Cavalier Calibre 2.0i 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.0i 8v petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Alternator failed 3 times, wheel arch rust.

General Comments:

Quick, comfortable and reliable. Not a lot of people know what it is so they look. It is a limited edition SRi 130 with all the extras as standard and with lower springs, performance back box, and Irmscher bodykit, all standard. I honestly see more Lamborghini Diablos than these around. Great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 1999

7th Jan 2006, 14:30

Does any one know how many calibres are still about I have owned 2 first was back in 1989 my second 2002 which I still own would like to join club 07788167143.

14th Jan 2006, 20:24

There are about 90 left and 71 are still on the road, had mine a few years ago now and wish I never sold it. there use to be a club called cavalier calibre club, but I think they merged with the irmersher club now.

11th Feb 2007, 04:02

There in now only 20 left on the road, but 71 still registered with the DVLA! My dad bought the 1 we got from brand new!

1988 Vauxhall Cavalier Mark II L 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Not much.

I bought it 4th hand with 146,000 miles on the clock and no history. It now has over 170,000 miles.

1 CV joint replaced (1 original left).

Oil leak (not major).

Minor rust appearing on rear sills and below rear number plate.

General Comments:

Only ever let me down once and that was due to the battery dying.

Passes MOT without fail. Performance not breathtaking but can still do over 100mph.

Does 450mile/tank(60L).

Good cheap reliable motoring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

1988 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 130 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10

Faults:

The usual wear and tear on a car of this age including exhaust, tyres e.t.c.

General Comments:

A superb engine in the 130 makes it a real drivers car, a common fault in the mark 2's is the fuel gauge not working, I found this a right pain but a bit of cleaning round the sender unit housing solved the problem

A great car with superb power... highly recommended if you can find a good one... unfortunately mine was smashed into by a 17 year old who had passed his test 2 weeks beforehand and he wasn't insured... will kids ever learn... It's now a write off...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

23rd Apr 2001, 04:39

I own a sri 130 and they are absolutely mad cars to drive, blistering power and great handling.

3rd May 2001, 17:02

I have a mark 2 saloon SRi 130b. I have had it for a few months and have managed to get it to 176 bhp for under 600 pounds, so it can be done and it is even scarier.

17th Oct 2002, 17:00

I've come the dark route, swapping the old mark 2 1600 carburettor engine for an E registered 2.0 130hp out of the S.R.i 130. Little problem with the conversion, big problem with finding a supplier of stainless 4 branch manifold to fit the 20SEH engine rather than the less potent 20NE, and need the supplier to be located in Lancashire?? But generally speaking, cracking good engine and good balance of gearbox to power.

25th Jul 2005, 13:42

My father owns a SRI 130 Cavalier limited edition. It is D reg, in very good condition and still road worthy. He has been told by a few people that this is now a collectors car and is worth a fair bit of money. Can anyone advise, is he being wound up him or is this true? He has been thinking of selling the car, but is hesitating because of what he has been told.

(I'm no sure that this the best place for this comment, but have not been able to find anywhere more suitable)

13th Jan 2008, 12:18

I know it's a long shot, but if he still has it, I'd be interested. You can email me at Jamesgsi@yahoo.co.uk thanks.

1988 Vauxhall Cavalier L 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

1 wheelbearing, exhaust, shocks and tyres, cambelt tensioner, and slightly dodgy auto choke and fuel gauge.

General Comments:

Put over 60k on the car in 2.5 years, and all it needed was routine maintenance (except for tensioner and a wheel bearing, but I got off lightly compared to others).

Overall, very good and very underrated.

Electrics a bit dodgy after 85k miles/8 years.

Tough car - was stolen under my ownership, and came back messed up and with a lot of clutch travel, though the clutch lasted until I sold the car 30K later.

Very comfortable, quite quick in third gear, lots of space inside, stood up to my hard driving.

Handled well with good shocks and tyres, though used a lot of fuel if driven hard.

Sold it for 800 quid less than I bought it - 65K and 2.5 years later. Was going well and looked clean, but starting to get raggy under at edges, and the engine starting to smoke (99k).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th March, 1998

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 27 reviews