1989 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1989 Vauxhall Cavalier 4 door base model 1.4 gasoline from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A reliable and refined saloon car

Faults:

Head gasket (to be expected at this age).

Leaking boot.

General Comments:

Very good considering the age of the car. Very well built and quite refined. Hard wearing, takes most abuse in its stride. Very easy to repair at home.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2000

1989 Vauxhall Cavalier CDi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Get one and you won't be disappointed

Faults:

Driveshafts @ 78k.

Leads, cap needs to checked regularly, gets jumpy if dirty or wet.

Waterpump @ 120k.

General Comments:

A good all round car - 45 mpg.

130mph performance if required.

All in a practical 5 door hatch.

GO BUY ONE NOW, give up those Fords.

BUT why no estate available?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2000

1989 Vauxhall Cavalier GSi 2000 16V 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired61500 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carBMW 325i Sport

Summary:

Buy one!

Faults:

Exhaust back box split, front lower suspension arms, problems with Clifford alarm system (non car problem).

General Comments:

Very impressive car for an eleven year old Cavalier, having owned a Calibra Turbo and a 325i Sport previously I was very surprised to find the performance and specification of the car exceeded my expectations.

The car has been totally trouble free apart from the general wear and tear that you would expect from a car of this age, and it has been very cheap to run (insurance, maintenance costs and petrol), the car regularly returns 30+ mpg around town and around 40 mpg on a run. All in a very capable high performance family saloon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2000

21st Nov 2005, 04:36

High top end, but embarassing in every other department.handles like a yacht

25th Aug 2006, 10:03

Totally amazing cars, stood out from the lower spec cavs a true sports family car. getting rare now.

1989 Vauxhall Cavalier GSI 4x4 2.0i 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles

Summary:

Cheap car for what you get

Faults:

Faulty ABS sensor physically stopping you from braking.

4x4 solenoid valve wiring damaged.

Starter motor stuck on.

Rear bushes needed replacing.

Split CV boot.

General Comments:

Good car but expensive to run especially the petrol. 4x4 is a much better drive than the 2wd version (also more fun). Good handling and brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2000

23rd Jun 2001, 05:38

The 2WD is more fun and very much more rewarding for the performance driver. The only reason why the 4x4 is a smoother drive is the power sapping transmission taking the fun out of the performance nature of the engine. Take both cars out on the track... shame the 4x4 gets left behind. (Unless its wet!!!)

28th Jun 2001, 11:53

Dunno what 4x4 you been driving mate, but round my area GSi's are common as muck and the 4x4s are just as quick so think again mate. And for the record, how often are you driving on a track compared to the road? I rest my case.

17th May 2002, 13:25

I have just bought a G-registered vauxhall cavalier 4x4 2.0 GL but I have noticed on the doors it says E130 4x4, I find this car far superior over the 2-wheel drive model the only downfall is the pull away it seems to bog down under load or the front wheels just spin.

Is this normal or should all four wheels spin?

15th Oct 2010, 04:28

Hi there, I have just bought a G reg GSi front wheel drive. I have noticed that the rear arms are the same as on the 4x4. Is it possible to convert my front wheel drive to a 4x4? Thanks.

20th Oct 2010, 12:33

The guy who's just bought the G-registered 4x4; I've not owned one but I'm pretty certain none of the wheels should spin unless you are really hooning it off the mark. If only the fronts are spinning, has the previous owner removed fuse 19? Usually masks a transfer box fault which is to say your car doesn't/won't have 4WD until the fault is repaired.

20th Oct 2010, 12:44

The other guy with the G-reg GSi.

Yes, they will be the same, they both have IRS.

As far as I am aware, both the GSi and the Turbo used the 4x4 floorpan, so yes, you can. There should be a prominent bulge at the front of the transmission tunnel, this is where your transfer box is (will be) situated.

These transfer boxes aren't bullet-proof, they'll need coddling so log on to a relevant site for the necessary wisdom.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 26 reviews