1991 Vauxhall Cavalier GSI 2000 4X4 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Very fast 4 door saloon, hold it's value, the GSi is what the Cosworth is for Ford in my opinion

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

I brought my GSi from a 1st owner, with full dealer service history, it has every MOT from new, every bill and receipt, it only done 47000.

It is a 4x4 with air conditioning.

In my opinion I think I must have one of the best one's around and it only cost me £3500 which I think is cheap!

Much better than the 2 wheel drive.

Handling is very good especially on corners.

Very fast, but not as fast as the 2 wheel drive, because there is less torque going to all 4 tires.

Good rust resistance, but the back arches rust quick.

Seats are comfortable, not too hard, not too soft.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2001

30th Jun 2001, 06:44

Much better than the 2 wheel drive? How can it handle better on corners? It may drive better out of the corners due to the 4 wheel drive and lack of torque compensating for wheel spin, but that doesn't make up for the tyre wear and expense when the 4 wheel drive system blows up! and worse of all, its boring to drive and slow! Go 2 wheel drive anytime... its a proper drivers car!

1991 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good build quality and reliable

Faults:

Only the petrol cap, boot and drivers door are working with central locking.

Thudding from the near side suspension which I can't find.

Knocking from a cam at 1000rpm.

Petrol tanks corroded and leaking.

Fuel pump fell off, had to replace the rubber mountings.

General Comments:

Although it has its problems, an overall good fast car, with a smooth and comfortable ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

1991 Vauxhall Cavalier L 1.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent all round plodder

Faults:

Very little.

Had to replace the valves and head gasket at 184,000, not through failure but preventative maintenance when the head developed a slight leak. Bits very expensive.

Cclutch at 155,000, otherwise just routine brakes, tyres etc.

Exhaust back box fell off at 197,000 (original).

Couple of suspension bolts broke at 201,000.

Door hinge creaking now.

Rear brakes always noisy, drums sticky.

General Comments:

These cars are brill. Still does 45+ mpg, uses no oil. Performance reasonable, no smoke. Will cruise at 90+ no probs.

Front tyres scuff quickly, had problems with wheel balancing in the past, sorted now.

Some of the Isuzu parts for the engine are very dear, head gasket 80 quid on its own. I have always run on fully synthetic oil since I have had it and changed the oil/filter every 6000m religiously. Cam belt change essential at specified mileage. Use genuine parts only for major engine work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2000

10th Aug 2001, 10:20

211,000 miles, well bloody done. Cavs will last forever if you treat them properly and give them love. Good luck. GO CAV GO GO GO!

1991 Vauxhall Cavalier Regal GSi 2000 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Absolutely stunning car. In 3 words... Power, Performance, Luxury

Faults:

Exhaust rattle, faulty fuel computer reading, rear electric aerial faulty, steering rack whine, rear brakes non existent, right hand side handbrake cable snapped, clutch gone - all sorted. Recently, hydraulic tappets sounded like a sewing machine, cylinder head porous, suspension whining and squeaking (shocks needed replacing).

A trip to Regal Autosport is in order as shown in the General Comments.

General Comments:

I was thinking about upgrading to a Cavalier Turbo but was warned about the very fragile 4x4 running gear so opted for a trip to Regal Autosport and listed Regal Engine Conversion full rebuild, Koni Suspension, Scorpion Exhaust Full System, Turbo Rear Lights and Panel, Regal Air Filter, Boost Valve, Blue Dial kit, Twin level rear spoiler, Lotus Carlton Front Bumper, Laguna splitter and Astra GSi bonnet vents along with the usual necessities such as mudflaps and the like. I also fancy some new alloys. Total cost around £3500. Could have put towards a new car but with the work done its' like a new car anyway, and I never really wanted to sell it because it's such a superb car.

The power is always there, no lag at all, awesome stance and built to cruise and destroy. Its the best looking Cavalier around, it may have its doubters but when it comes down to it, there aren't many cars in its league that could knock it down. It might not have turbo power, but is has more than enough to take on turbo cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2000

23rd Jun 2001, 04:28

Another free add for Regal? But seriously, these guys have loads of experience without the cost of a visit to Courtney's! I have owned a Cavalier GSi for over 7 years now and love it! They look great and go great, they are excellent at surprising the hell out of the usual boy racers and sales reps!! Do not be fooled into thinking that an SRi is the same without the bodykit... it isn't! The GSi is streets ahead. Buy one today! Just watch for CV gaitors, warped discs, clocking, bad modifications, worn suspension, rear wheel arch rust, accident damage and replicas that aren't the real deal.

12th Nov 2001, 06:24

Avoid the Regal like the plague.

16th Jan 2003, 07:02

Regal vauxhall- had nothing but trouble with everything that I ordered, wrong parts missing nuts and bolts etc. I won't be using their services again.