1980 Vauxhall Chevette Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1980 Vauxhall Chevette L 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1980
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles

Summary:

A great little car that I wish they were still making now

Faults:

Corrosion on front wings.

Corrosion on sills.

Oil leak on front crank pulley.

Gearbox lay shaft bearing failure.

Clutch judder.

Starter motor solenoid faulty.

O/s inner sills badly corroded. this caused the jacking point to collapse and the car had to be scrapped.

General Comments:

The performance of the car is adequate for its age.

The fuel economy is very good.

It was the most reliable car I have ever owned.

Corrosion was the factor which ultimately ended its use

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2007

1980 Vauxhall Chevette GL 4 cylinder 1.3 60bhp from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder 1.3 60bhp Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carnone none

Summary:

Yaaaaaahhhhhhh!!!

General Comments:

The Chevettes were at one stage seen everywhere all over Ireland, but today nearly all of them have disappeared.

I intend therefore to carry out the small amount of work on the car in order to restore it to showroom condition.

This is my first car, and I reckon it's the best out of all the other countless cars I've driven, from bangers to Bentleys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2004

2nd Aug 2004, 07:17

Actually, Bentleys are a bit better.

4th May 2006, 16:46

I have a Vauxhall Chevette L Automatic. I love it very much.

My exhaust has dropped off, can anyone help?

7th May 2006, 08:23

I've got one. Bronze 1980 GL 4-door, reg. no: 8629 FI (Tipp.) I don't drive it much because I've no licence, but I've had it around fields and it handles really well. A very driver-friendly car. Also very easy to work on. Far better than most of my friends' so-called "decent" cars. I really miss the way they used to be everywhere. Blame it all on that bloody scrappage scheme of the mid-1990's.

Fantastic car.

1980 Vauxhall Chevette GL sedan 1.3 OHV from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 OHV Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance119000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Samurai

Summary:

Cheap, economical and won't let you down!

Faults:

Original engine broke a ring after 100000km.

Big end bearings were also shot.

Replaced with whole new motor.

Replaced thermostat because it was running a bit over mid gauge, now runs between 1/4 and 1/2 gauge no matter what the temperature!

General Comments:

Very reliable, one of the tidiest orginal ones in New Zealand, only 100000km since new with 1 family owner, only thing wrong when I got it was the engine so I replaced the whole lot except gearbox.

All electrics work even the heated rear window!

Gearbox is very nice with a short throw.

Advice to others: Take care of the exterior! A lot of reviews complain of rust, keep it in a garage and wash and polish it regularly, rust occurs because people don't wash the debris of the paintwork.

I have not one problem with rust, and it shines like the day it rolled out of Vauxhall motors!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2004

1980 Vauxhall Chevette GL 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership1988
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles

Summary:

A rear wheel drive bargain!!

Faults:

The wings needed replacing.

The fuel pump had an intermittent fault.

General Comments:

This was my first car and probably my best car.

It was cheap to run and ultra reliable.

The build quality was much better than the new MK2 Astra I replaced it with.

It was so easy to maintain and tune that it never needed to go to a garage for servicing.

The suspension and handling would give most equivalent modern cars a run for their money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2002

10th Feb 2005, 20:18

I agree with your comments, I worked in the UK, for a Vauxhall franchise and I ran a 1979 (NOV) Astra GL 1.3 in a bright yellow colour. It was 75 bhpwhich was good for the engine size. it was like driving a sports car, and had plenty of grunt. I was very interested in your report, being so long after, and wen the car was no longer new. I am happy that the owners got such longevity out of the car. I am still amazed to this day at the performance and comfort of the car.

All the best.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews