1984 Vauxhall Chevette Reviews

1984 Vauxhall Chevette L 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

An exciting, individual and irreplaceable car!

Faults:

Rust: top of the front wings, bottom of the doors and the front panel below the bumper, however new wings only ten pounds each, and the HS air-dam covers the rotting front panel!

Pre ignition: a good decoke sorted that one.

Carburetor diaphragm: wouldn't idle or go over 40 mph, got a replacement free from college!

General Comments:

Excellent ride, handling and comfort. Fitted heavy duty springs and gas dampers, and the handling is even better now!

Fun and rewarding to drive, I love this car!

However, it would seriously benefit from a 5 speed gearbox and electronic ignition, otherwise excellent all round!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2001

30th Apr 2003, 07:34

My first ever car was a Chevette and I rate them. Apart from rust mine never had any problems in 20,000 miles.

5th Nov 2004, 17:45

I had an R reg Chevette for many years. It was a horrible metallic Brown (re-sprayed it dark blue) and was a hatchback. Had many miles of fun in that little car, it also had many engines too. First one wore out second one blew up due to that Shell Extra stuff that was around at the time. The third engine was a sported up 1256 that lasted until I got bored with it and I sold the engine on replacing it with a Ford 1700 x flow.

This engine went very well, but had a persistent knocking that 3 rebuilds did not cure it was outed and replaced with a Ford 2000 OHC engine that I clocked up over 60K with.

Sadly I sold the car on some years ago when I took up flying, but wished I had kept it as I had along with the 2.0ltr beefed up the suspension, put an A series Manta rear axle that was coupled to the engine with a modified Transit propshaft. I did have to do a bit of panel work to it, but a good dousing with Waxoil sorted it out from the day I bought it.

The little thing went like hot snot. Just wish I still had it cos boy did it handle.

Ahh, many a happy hour spent thrashing around in that.

Mark Jones.

4th May 2006, 17:15

1980 Vauxhall Chevette automatic, everything original, 56000 miles on the clock.

Brilliant ride every time, fully loaded - me, hubby and 2 dogs to the beach.

Three owners, starting to rust on the wings, exhaust has just dropped off. Starts every time.

Great car, though find hard to get parts. Pedal casing split - it took 3 months to find a new one.

24th Feb 2007, 07:18

My first ever car was a "booted" Vauxhall Chevette and I absolutely ADORED that car - I'm only 29 and had to put up with a lot of jibes, but that little honey moved and was a strong little thing.

I had to scrap it when my hubby smashed it headfirst into a Lada and bent all the chassis - Chevette still drove fine after the crash after pulling the wing away from the wheel to get it back home, but it annihilated the Lada.

I was heartbroken when the scrap truck arrived.

22nd Feb 2010, 10:08

My first car was a sky blue Vauxhall Chevette. I loved that car, traveled all over the country in it, never had a problem. It handled really well, and always was a pleasure to drive. I traded it in years ago, but I still have fond memories and kinda miss it.

1984 Vauxhall Chevette L 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Driving at its purest

Faults:

Anti-roll bar linkages at 65000 miles - cheap to replace.

Carb needed adjusting to meet emissions test in MOT; some idle problems this last winter (fixed through lubrication and adjusting idle set screw).

Various rust patches - mostly on front panel below lights and wings. Welding required.

Seemed to be lower on driver side (new shocks all round did not effect - maybe new springs needed)

My driving!

1. Smashed front head light whilst parking.

2. Rear ending a four day old Mercedes at a roundabout. Denting their bumper and writing off my beloved Chevette because I had only insured it at market value (low) and not replacement value.

General Comments:

This is/was a seat of your pants driving experience. Rear wheel drive, no power steering, twitchy back end and quick gearbox. I always felt totally in touch with what the car was doing and how much grip it had.

I loved pushing this nippy little car. Testing its limits and mine. Got it sideways on the highway on several occasions.

Very easy to work on and very individual.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2001

5th Nov 2004, 17:49

You wrote:-

"Seemed to be lower on driver side (new shocks all round did not effect - maybe new springs needed) "

Yup, mine was the same too. I had changed all the springs rear axle and shocks, but it was still the same!!

Mark Jones

Ford 2.0 ltr Chevette L Hatchback RYA 956R Where is it now?

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 2 reviews