1999 Vauxhall Corsa Reviews

1999 Vauxhall Corsa Club 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

It's economical and cheap to run

Faults:

The car runs fine normally, but has started cutting out after about 15 minutes and when it reaches normal running temperature, and it won't start for about 1 hour.

General Comments:

The car runs fine, when it's running, and it's obviously a very cheap car to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2009

1999 Vauxhall Corsa GSI 1.6 from South Africa

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres

Summary:

Never again buy an Opel

Faults:

Engine management light comes on, loss in engine power and increase in fuel consumption. If you are lucky it starts. Started at 160k km.

I have seen this is the most common problem with Vauxhall / Opel

Rectified this by changing the crank in pulley and sometimes the outer, depends if the keyway is damaged.

General Comments:

Not the best ride, but has sufficient power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th May, 2008

1999 Vauxhall Corsa SXi 1.2 litre from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.2 litre Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Best 1.2 16v any money will buy. Well recomended

Faults:

Passenger side front seat is loose; won't retract forward to let passengers in or out.

Window winder handles pop off after excessive use.

Seat belt clips jam.

General Comments:

The 1.2 SXi 16v is a very rapid machine for a 1.2; it sticks to the road like glue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2008

1999 Vauxhall Corsa GLS 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

Great on fuel consumption

Faults:

Recently purchased 1999 V reg Corsa GLS with 77k on the clock, and have noticed 2 problems.

The first is not concerning me desperately, but I have noticed on some occasions the clutch pedal squeaks quietly when pressing down/ releasing to change gear?

I have only recently passed my driving test, and have no experience with cars, so I was quite worried when I took the car on the motorway for the first time last night.

Although performance on the motorway was good, when approaching a roundabout after a slip road, the car shuddered from the back at one side. Have been advised it could be the brake pads on one side, and they may need adjusting?

However the car does not make this shuddering noise at any other time, so I am slightly confused about what action to take. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th December, 2007

1999 Vauxhall Corsa SXI 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles

Summary:

Good looking car

Faults:

Back headlights blew, but obviously they do after a while. Had a blowout in the exhaust, but fixed for free twice as the repair guys did a rubbish job.

General Comments:

Quick car. Sounds nice. Good on petrol. Looks good.

One thing is that it is relatively small for tall people, but otherwise it's a nice looking car with most things you need.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2007

1999 Vauxhall Corsa Envoy 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great for a first car

Faults:

Full exhaust System, back box needed replacing and shortly after the pipe cracked.

Engine Management light kept coming on resulting in low power for 5 seconds and lack of brakes.

Quite expensive to service.

The windows in the back do not press open.

General Comments:

Low insurance (group 2)

Low running costs

Looks good compared to other cars

Seats are comfortable

Although many people seem to slag off the steering, I have some bigger wheels on and it handles fine. Although it doesn't have power-steering, it is not needed due to it only being small car.

Quite spacious for a small car.

Starts on the first turn of the key.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2005

1999 Vauxhall Corsa GLS 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Cheap and cheerful (at times)

Faults:

I have had trouble with the lambda sensor and had it replaced in May 2004.

Six weeks later another sensor went, it pushes the petrol through when engine is cold, that stuck on open and made the car judder and stall.

The engine management light comes on when it feels like it (Vauxhall can never find any problems)

My car is now in for repair as the cylinder head gasket has just blown (44,000 miles) (£500 quoted by Vauxhall).

The locks have stopped double locking.

General Comments:

Apart from the above nothing else major has gone wrong with the car.

The car is quick and nippy and generally OK to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th July, 2005

5th Dec 2005, 06:05

I have also got a Vauxhall Corsa 1.0 litre. It is a T plate and was made in 1999. I bought the car in January 2005 and for the first few months I had no problems with it. Then in November I had to change the disc brakes and pads, when I had only have done 48,000 miles. Then after that the engine management light came on because the idle valve went. That cost me £68 to replace and that did not include fitting. The valves in these cars also go wrong. Then after I got this fixed the timing chain pad went costing me around £20. Apart from these issues the car always starts up when I need it to, so overall the car isn't that bad, but I would not get the same model again.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 27 reviews