2004 Vauxhall Corsa Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2004 Vauxhall Corsa design 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles

Summary:

Really nice car, just I've had some problems!

Faults:

The 2nd day I had the car my horn wouldn't stop, turned out to be a problem with the horn pad.

Within five months of having the car my manifold had a fault and had to be changed by the dealership.

My timing chain also needed changed after 5 months and still didn't stop the rattling noise I have been receiving.

After 13 months of having the car my 1st and 2nd gear selector wouldn't work so couldn't go into 1st or 2nd gear.

In the 15th month I had a problem with my A.B.S linkage and this had to be sorted.

My engine is also playing up again, keeps rattling and the car keeps cutting out.

General Comments:

I really liked this car to start off with, still do, but been put off by all the problems I've had with this car.

This car is really good for petrol although started to use slightly more with the engine problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th May, 2006

2004 Vauxhall Corsa Design 5 Door 1.2 16 V Dualfuel ( LPG) from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 16 V Dualfuel ( LPG) Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance20100 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Basically a nice car poor LPG rig

Faults:

LPG Tank found loose and gauge for LPG non operational - replaced by maker.

Continual poor pick up on LPG with frequent stalling - never rectified in spite of being back to makers and specialists on five occasions.

Fuel consumption on LPG equal to about 28 MPG (on a run) and therefore doubtful is cost effective to operate on LPG.

Intermittent fault on LPG system with fault light coming on occasionally, but never rectified.

My previous car was an LPG 1.6 Astra and was both reliable and economical (31.5 MPG on LPG) and I regret ever changing the Astra to this dog of a car - now replaced with Renault Modus Diesel.

General Comments:

A Dog from day one till the last day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2006

2004 Vauxhall Corsa Life 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance19603 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Mini

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great car bought in November 05, so impressed with Vauxhalls I have just bought an Astra Sport Hatch.

Did 6500 miles in 3 months without complaint, averaged 43mpg in mixed driving dropping to about 30mpg in urban conditions.

Car seemed really well made and was stylish and attractive. The only comment I would make is that the steering is too light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2006

2nd Nov 2006, 12:16

I bought a Corsa Life 54 plate last year and she ran like a dream, never broke down no problems ever, sadly a few days ago, I was in a very bad accident in which a woman who was speeding hit me, while I was stationary, she wrote off my lovely little car and I am gutted. She was the best car I had ever had. I doubt very much I will get another like her, she was the perfect little car. Hail to the corsa.

2004 Vauxhall Corsa Life 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles

Summary:

Great fun to drive

Faults:

Front Right wheel squeaks, lip found on braking disc, replacing them using warranty cover.

General Comments:

My first car, great runner, effortless to drive, great on full economy. only 44 litre tank, but can do over 400 miles with one tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2006

2004 Vauxhall Corsa SXi 1.3 CDTi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 CDTi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance13700 miles
Previous carToyota Yaris

Summary:

Economical, stylish and nippy little motor

Faults:

Dashboard illumination near the fuel gauge has blown a bulb which looks unsightly, but nothing major.

Not a wise move to start up from cold and drive straight off like it says in the handbook as mine stalls when you go to move off, its better to leave it running for 30-60 seconds to let it get itself sorted a bit.

General Comments:

Very spacious for a small car.

Very economical I get 250 miles (sometimes more) out of a full tank which I consider good as I spend more time in the car sat in stationary traffic.

Considering the small engine its quick! The put your foot down and the turbo just shoves you back in your seat as it pulls away. Blows away the old bad points of small diesel cars!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2005

2004 Vauxhall Corsa sxi 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3500 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles

Summary:

Nice car, too many faults!

Faults:

Found it had a squeaky clutch, and the problem continues even though the garage have had a look at it 3 TIMES!

The interior of the door is also squeaky when it is push against.

There is also rattling inside the door, but I have no idea what it could be!!

All this and it had only done 3500 miles!!!

General Comments:

Nice drive!

Looks nicer than most small cars on the market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2005

1st Oct 2008, 02:09

I've had 2 previous Vauxhalls (Corsa and Astra), and both had the rattles coming from inside the drivers door.

My Corsa developed a squeaky clutch pedal, which squeaked every time I changed up and released the clutch pedal. I think these are 2 problems which Vauxhalls just have.

My Astra was a 1994 LS and my Corsa was a 2004 SXi.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews