1992 Vauxhall Frontera LWB 2.4i from Spain


Robust, durable workhorse


Changed leaking and dirty radiator.

Air conditioner does not work, due to a gas leak.

No maintenance had been done at all to this vehicle in the last few years, by its previous owner.

Changed the oil (it hadn't been changed in the previous 3 years).

The gearbox was a bit hard, because it was missing almost 3 litres of gearbox oil. After refilling, it was fine.

General Comments:

I have had a few 4x4s in the past (Vitara, Jeep Cherokee, Asia Rocsta and Lada Niva). This one is the most comfortable one to drive on the road of them all, the Cherokee had horrible imprecise steering, offroad it's a very capable 4x4 within its limits.

Has a good load space with the rear seats folded down.

The turning circle is not so good compared to other 4x4s.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2011

12th Apr 2012, 15:19

Update of review: I had to get rid of it; constant electrical problems with sensors, cables and was drinking way too much petrol. PX changed for a 1999 Peugeot 406 HDI 110hp.

1992 Vauxhall Frontera 2.3 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Does exactly what it says on the tin!


Leaking heater matrix £300.00.

Worn out glow plugs £40.00.

Snapped speedo cable £10.00.

Leaking fuel filler pipe £120.00.

Small leak on fuel pump, have not had it done yet as Vauxhall dealer says it will last till MOT day in November!

General Comments:

With full new road tyres she handles well and is very chuckable around corners.

We don't hang around, and regularly overtake people doing 50-60 mph.

Very comfy for long trips, and is a cavernous hole for swallowing huge loads.

Going to start towing a caravan soon.

Yes she's noisy and a bit rough around the edges, but doing very well for 17 years old.

Always starts, and has not broken down yet. Even with the faults mentioned above, we still drove to the garage!

She is pretty good off road, even with the road tyres on her! The low transfer box makes all the difference!

With my driving style, we do only manage 27mpg on average, but then I like to enjoy my trips out!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2008

1992 Vauxhall Frontera i 2ltr sport from UK and Ireland


Radiator replaced.

All brake pipes replaced.

Brake cylinders replaced.

Drivers side door hinge broke away from pillar.

Leaking oil seals around engine underside of vehicle.

Fuel lines dozed and leaking several times above fuel tank from pump.

Fuel lines dozed and leaking several times from filter under rear drivers side wheel.

Bonnet rusted and needed a respray.

Drivers door edges rusting.

Clutch valve replaced.

Seats wearing badly.

Various other small discrepancies.

General Comments:

Even though there has been quite a few faults on this vehicle, I still love the old lady and have had many happy runs up and down the country in her.

Hopefully many more to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th November, 2007

1992 Vauxhall Frontera LWB Estate 2.4i petrol from UK and Ireland


Great value


The heater matrix was leaking when I got the vehicle and has subsequently been replaced. This cost £300 at a local independent garage.

Front suspension bushes had worn and needed to be replaced.

A bit rusty in small patches although this is not as yet a serious problem.

General Comments:

A great car for transporting a young family.

A good vehicle for cruising about the countryside in.

I find it easy to drive in town and remarkably do not find it difficult to park.

It is a good, solid performer off road. In both snow and mud on all terrain tyres the Frontera has driven well and safely.

Roof racks allow easy transportation of bikes.

The kids love playing inside it.

I bought it as an entry to 4WD vehicles intending to buy a newer and more 'desirable' model later. Now I will not be bothering!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2002

3rd Feb 2004, 13:18

I have the same model car and the heater matrix has gone which needs replacing. My boyfriend wants to scrap it, but I want to keep it!! It's a great car i`m just having a couple of problems e. g it just had a new radiator.

Does anyone have any suggestions

27th Oct 2005, 18:16

I recently bought a mint low miles, 1 owner 93 2.4i LWB Frontera for £1500. I was looking to buy a van and came across this and thought it was a good buy.

As it turned out it was. It is great to drive and in my opinion I'd say it's a better all rounder than my mates £25,000 110 TD5.

I'd always promised myself a TD5 in the future, but I think I'll stick to the Frontera. I wished I hadn't listened to all the bad press and bought one years ago.

8th Nov 2006, 12:37

Poor man's 4x4 they're rubbish!