1994 Vauxhall Frontera Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1994 Vauxhall Frontera 2.3 TD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 TD Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A great work horse

Faults:

I thought the clutch had gone, it's gone to the garage how replaced the clutch. They have since had me replace the gearbox and fly wheel. Has anyone else had these problems or is this just a case of a dodgy garage?

General Comments:

It's a great work horse.

Loads of room for the family.

Great fun off road as-well as on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2002

1994 Vauxhall Frontera Sports 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 2.0i
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

The radiator developed a leak but was put right immediately under warranty.

General Comments:

It's a brilliant car and I would definitely buy another, it looks and runs brilliant and performance wise it is exceptionally good for a 4x4, acceleration can be vivid especially after about 2000 revs. Top speed is better than a Ford Escort, and handling wise you would think it was glued to the road, it is that good. I can't fault ours....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2000

9th Apr 2001, 09:41

I'm curious on the handling comments made. I have a '94 Frontera 3dr Sport and think it handles terribly when cornering. Especially in the wet!

It does drive well and the only other negative comment I would make is fuel consumption!

14th Apr 2001, 11:27

I've got an old one. I'm a mechanic, I can't fault mine - 1993 in prestige condition, will never sell.

Sorry, you must be using wrong tyres if you think that it's slippy in the wet.

I'm also an ex-soldier, drove the best offroaders including HGVs. My Frontera gives me all of the past experience with more comfort. The problem comes from people who have no training to drive 4x4 off road.

18th Jun 2001, 15:23

I own a 1994 Sport Frontera, it handles badly round corners! What wheels do you have on yours? It sounds like you nicked them off Frank Williams!

11th Jan 2002, 07:31

I have a Frontera Sport L-reg, but I have not got a handbook. Where can I get one from?

1994 Vauxhall Frontera Lwb 5 door 2.4i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 2.4i petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Sticking courtesy light switch that caused an intermittent alarm problem.

No other problems encountered.

General Comments:

Great fun car, that's reasonably priced for a 4x4 and fairly cheap to run. Clarkson has got it all wrong (again) and has totally missed the point about this vehicle. It's a good spacious practical bus, that can take the knocks and was never meant to handle like a Ferrari!

Having driven off road under demanding conditions (in a disused quarry under 3 inches of snow), I can vouch for the car's capabilities off road.

This car takes the knocks O.K.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 1998

5th Feb 2002, 17:41

I too have a 2.4 Frontera 1992 LWB. Goes round roundabouts great, tows well, stops great, full of electrical problems, but who cares, I love it.

I too had fun in a quarry, it went well with water just below the door handles, the spark plug holes were blocked with mud at the end of day, and never missed a beat.

The fact is they are better than Range Rovers for keeping water out.

KEEP ON TRUCKIN, STEVE.

23rd Feb 2006, 09:01

I have had my 1994 LWB Fontera for 18 months now, and if it ever does die then I will buy another! It handles well and its great off road. I've driven through Mud Snow and floods and never had a problem. I have had a futon bunk bed with both matresses in the back (with the seats folded down obviously) so its like having my own van as well as a car. In fact in the 18 months I have had it, the only thing to go wrong was a puncture! I would definatley recommend these beasts.

1994 Vauxhall Frontera 2.4i (5-door) 2.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10

Faults:

Exhaust assembly replaced 4 times; underside welded panels knocked loose after moderate off-road driving; radio display panel replacement; left-hand drift which is very difficult to correct.

General Comments:

I guess one of the problems of buying earlier models is that it's used as a test-bed for later models. It's an enjoyable car but dealer problems with poor service let it down as well as its lack of robustness when it comes to off-road driving. DON'T buy the Vauxhall extended warranty - it's amazing what's not covered. Also, spare parts are extortionate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st February, 1998

15th Mar 2001, 15:21

2.4L no where near strong enough to pull the weight. Cannot handle roundabouts (large ones) above 20mph without sliding sideways. Rolls all over the place when on road and with leather seats proves to be a nightmare for passengers. Rear door a pain to open in confined spaces.

26th Nov 2003, 05:05

I own a 92 2.4i LWB. got it cheap with damaged gearbox. repair cost £1200, but since I've had no trouble. other than a car pulling out in front of me, left my car with broken headlight, bent bumper & split valance. the Citroen ZX was a write-off. It gives avg 26-30 mpg, cruses at 80mph all day & the only thing my son has managed to destroy is the lid on center console arm rest thing & believe me he is very dedicated. A Troy proof car & I'm keeping it.

Scott.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 9 reviews