1998 Vauxhall Frontera Transglobe Sport 2.0 petrol Injection from UK and Ireland


Reliable and rugged


Chassis Corrosion.

General Comments:

Designed by a 12year old with no engineering aptitude.

Rugged & reliable.

Driven through rivers until it floats and never let in water try that in a land rover.

Back seats very uncomfortable.

Bouncy suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2005

6th Jan 2006, 10:41

Bit of a petrol drinker with too big a petrol tank for a two litre. But i Love it.

18th Sep 2007, 13:41

Yes, it's basic engineering. But this is what makes these cars so great to use. The 8 valve Sport just goes on and on. I've had all sorts of vehicles, but never experienced anything quite like this. I give mine a good service once a year - and just drive it!

1998 Vauxhall Frontera 2.5TDS 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


A bargain 4x4 everyone should try


Fuel leaks from diesel leak off system on the injectors. Immobalizer aerial failed.

General Comments:

Bought this to tow our bigger caravan and to go down to 1 car from having a Saab and a Megan. The car is brilliant for our family it has loads of space and towing is a dream, I will never tow with a car again. We did a tour round Scotland this year and it was wonderful, we had used the Saab for towing, which was good, but not this good. Had a play on the beach too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2004

1998 Vauxhall Frontera Sport Transglobe 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Solid, good looking 4x4


Mechanically sound. No faults as yet, touch wood!

General Comments:

Uncomfortable, slow, big and beautiful. This is the reason I bought it, it's a real 4x4 and I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd December, 2003

1998 Vauxhall Frontera TDi 2.5 TD from UK and Ireland


A solid performance from the car so far


Oil plug had to drilled out at 60000 due to previous services by main dealers.

Slight rattle from front grille, slight wear in fastenings.

General Comments:

The car handles and performs well with the Isuzu 2.5 engine.

I find the vehicle has good vision and comfortable whilst driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2003

22nd Feb 2005, 15:45

Your transglobe should go to 100 miles an hour quite easily I have a 2.5 diesel and it go's.

20th Sep 2007, 05:05

The VM engine in the 2.5 is a very popular engine, It isn't Isuzu though. It can be found in both Jeep Grand Cherokee and Cherokee's as well as Land Rover's, Range Rovers and the Rover 825 d, I had one of the later and at 215'00 miles the body gave way the engine was still strong.

17th Feb 2012, 07:31

Hi. Just want to point out that all Frontera are in fact Isuzu. It was a joint venture between Isuzu and GMC in Luton. Everywhere else, they are called the Opel Frontera, Holden Frontera, or Isuzu Frontera.

1998 Vauxhall Frontera 2.5TDS Transglobe 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Very comfortable, the business at conveying the family and dog around Europe in safety.


Since I got this vehicle the only problems have been a slight oil leak (which the dealer failed to locate and rectify during service), a diesel leak (which I didn't know I had, but the dealer did locate and rectify during service!) and the Air Con system has required recharging.

General Comments:

This is my third Vauxhall Frontera. Overall I have covered in excess of 150,000 miles around Europe in Fronteras.

This vehicle is comparatively economical and has never let me down.

The previous Frontera was a 2.4i petrol which was very thirsty and required a new air flow meter at 70,000 and a new heater matrix at 102,000 miles.

The one before that was a 2 litre sport, the automatic cam belt tensioner disintegrated at 42,000miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2002

1998 Vauxhall Frontera Limited 3.2 V6 from UK and Ireland


It can be a pussy-cat or a puma on wheels!


On collection from main dealer as ex-demo:

Strange scratches on inner driver's door handle.

Intermittent revving.

Rear folding seat was jammed.

Rear door lock misaligned made opening door difficult.

Airbag warning light lights up intermittently.

On-board computer glitched and stuck on 7 m.p.g.

Plus within 3 year warranty:

Air conditioning radiator developed leak.

Mid-exhaust developed loose baffles.

Bonnet hinges rattled.

General Comments:

We found the New Frontera to have the roomiest rear seats for an adult tall family to fit in.

It has the most smooth and quiet motorway drive (even above a Volvo).

The engine is powerful and responsive, even when towing a 1250Kg twin-axle caravan.

In spite of the afore mentioned faults, the vehicle has never broken down. The inconvenience and frustration has been more due to main dealer servicing not rectifying or finding faults first time round.

Overall, the build quality appears good and the vehicle looks internally or externally no more aged than when it was bought 3 years ago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2002

9th Dec 2003, 14:52

I've had one for 50,000 mls it's averaged 21mpg and never broken down. I love it. My other cars a Merc and it's been less trouble.