1999 Vauxhall Frontera 2.2Dti from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Brilliant for the money

Faults:

Alarm system power sounder. This can be removed safely. This is the only hassle. It is very annoying to be woken by a faulty alarm. Normally a low battery in the power sounder.

Air conditioning needs re-gassing.

General Comments:

Comfortable and spacious, with adequate power.

Good fuel consumption. On a run I get 41 miles per gallon.

Worth fitting good quality shock absorbers such as Explorer or Pro-comp.

This is excellent value for money. Reliable, comfortable, spacious, cruises well, quiet. Easy to work on.

Would thoroughly recommend this to any one. It's blindingly good value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2007

1999 Vauxhall Frontera 2.2i 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The best car I have ever driven, won't be changing it

Faults:

Steering linkage snapped, rectified Free Of Charge by Vauxhall, after a call to customer services, as it was a product recall issue.

General Comments:

Wonderful everyday car, with superb off road handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2006

1999 Vauxhall Frontera 5 door limited 2.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Very good

Faults:

I have a problem with the cars performance I was driving along and suddenly the car started to jump and become slugish then died on me would then start, but no power once I tried to accelerate some people say it's an air flow problem, but still haven't fixed it idles well, but no power once I try to pull away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2006

1999 Vauxhall Frontera 2.0 sport transglobe 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

What a car.

I thought I would NEVER buy one of these cars after watching numerous pro-grammes on tv slating it.

But THEY are so wrong.

This has to be the BEST 4x4 I have ever driven and owned, and I have had them all.

The space it has is incredible and the feel of the car is so sturdy that you feel as if this car is a real four wheel machine, unlike my last 4x4 which can only be described as a (wee pretendy jeep).

Do yourself a favor. BUY ONE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

1999 Vauxhall Frontera Sport S Transglobe 3d SWB 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Looks, Power and Average Upholstery!

Faults:

Upholstery is basic compered to the RS models.

Tracking has pulled out of alignment.

Front washer tubes are prone to clogging.

Transmission for a 2.0 petrol engine is slightly more sluggish than one may expect.

Gear shift console creaks under load in low gears.

It's a bit thirsty! 25 combined mpg.

General Comments:

The Transglobe Sport S is I feel a great looking 4x4 for the money with loads of power for those who need a workhorse and a rugged aggressive looking ride about town.

The interior could be better and the refinements in the toy department are lacking compared to the RS models.

However, I love my Frontera and if you're thinking of buying one and you want a lot of 4x4 for your money, then take a look.

Transglobe model comes with the 'moon roof' and detachable windows all round (Semi convertible).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2002

16th Aug 2002, 11:35

A moon roof on a 1999 model? Surely this is the 'new' Frontera at this age isn't it? I own a December 1996 2.0 Sport and agree with your comments, but would have thought a 1999 model was a 'new' Frontera (which does not have a moon roof and the Sport has the Vectra 2.2 twin cam unit).

18th Feb 2008, 20:03

Hello, the frontera was still available in this guise in 1999 as late registrations.

1999 Vauxhall Frontera Limited Estate 3.2 V6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good all rounder with power to spare

Faults:

The alarm back up siren failed and was replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

3.2 V6 engine delivers amazing power, this car is a dream to own and drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2001