Vauxhall Monterey Reviews

1997 Vauxhall Monterey Diamond 3.1 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.1 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

The only few things that have gone wrong are, ball joints and battery. Been, and still is, a great reliable motor!

General Comments:

Fantastic motor, never had a bad problem in the 7 years I've had it.

Great motor for pulling my 26ft caravan, which I do lots of.

The only problem I have, is when traveling over 80mph, my engine temp starts to rise rapidly. I'm not losing any oil or water, and I'm puzzled. Anybody got any ideas to help me please??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2010

1998 Vauxhall Monterey Diamond 3.1 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.1 turbo diesel Manual
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

The Monterey is a very good tow car for my caravan, and has good road holding in all weathers

Faults:

Power steering pump retaining nut loosened and came off at 85000 miles, causing the pump to slew to the side and lose fluid.

General Comments:

The leather seats are very comfortable and still in good condition for the mileage.

The higher driving position allows better all round vision, which is boosted by good wide adjustable door mirrors.

For a heavy car it has very good acceleration when required, but can be heavy on fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2010

1995 Vauxhall Monterey Ltd 3.2 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles

Summary:

Top 4x4 car, and had no trouble, only the exhaust

Faults:

The back box exhaust and the rubber seal by the spark plugs.

General Comments:

I have got a gas conversion on it, so it's good and cheap to run as gas is only around 50 pence a litre.

It's even quick on take off, and a nice roar with the V6 engine.

Plenty of space inside and comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2008

1995 Vauxhall Monterey Diamond 3.1 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.1 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired124369 miles
Most recent distance184185 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Very comfy and reliable

Faults:

My anti lock amber warning light has come on for no apparent reason. Also the heater blower has packed in working.

General Comments:

The car is very comfy to drive, and very spacious for the children in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2008

1996 Vauxhall Monterey Diamond 3.2 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

Very reliable and a pleasure to drive; 10/10

Faults:

New shockers all round.

New tyres all round.

Changed the auto transmission fluid and the power steering fluid as well.

Also changed the CV gators on both sides inner and outer.

General Comments:

The leather in the 4x4 is very good.

The ride is brilliant.

Put the 4x4 in power drive and it's quick; very quick.

I also had an LPG multi valve system fitted at a cost of £2000, with the 70 litre tank fitted under the back of the 4x4; the LPG is 40p a litre.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2007

1997 Vauxhall Monterey Diamond 3.2 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carCitroen Picasso

Summary:

Great car, pity they stopped making it

Faults:

Fan belt loose when bought.

General Comments:

Big comfortable car bought purely to get through the bad snow of a Scottish winter. Love it so much I use it all year round instead of my other car (Citroen Picasso).

Not the quickest 4WD or the most economical, but it does what you want it to do, when you want it to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2006

1998 Vauxhall Monterey Diamond 3.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Great car, crap badge (Vauxhall)

Faults:

Nothing really. I am stuck on how to change the gear box oil. I have a drain plug, but cannot find a filler point. Some people in the motor industry say it should have a gear box dip stick, but there definitely is not one. It is an auto box.

General Comments:

This car starts fine and runs well.

It has not broke-down in the 4 yrs I have had it.

I have not yet changed the plugs at all yet.

I had it converted to gas 4 yrs ago and this makes a great car economical to run at 30p per litre.

Starts every time and being an auto is really easy and comfortable to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2005

25th Oct 2005, 08:52

Thanks, I will look and see if I can locate it. Theres a lot of stuff under the hood and it will be buried somewhere.

1996 Vauxhall Monterey LTD 3.1 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Frontera

Summary:

Excellent towing vehicle and family bus

Faults:

ABS warning light came on once whilst driving in heavy rain. Sensor had got wet. Once dried, worked OK, no problems since.

Motor on electric sunroof packed up.

Electric aerial stopped working.

General Comments:

Huge amounts of initial torque and sprints up to cruising speed.

Pulls my caravan with ease and very stable.

Loads of cabin space, but no lumbar adjustment on front seats.

Split loading rear door brilliant.

Lots of brake dust on front wheels after long trips so suspect car uses pads quite quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2005

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 9 reviews