1988 Vauxhall Nova Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1988 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired97214 miles
Most recent distance97542 miles

Summary:

Red hot

Faults:

Fuel pump knackered, fuel filter useless, seat wear on the driver's right hand side.

General Comments:

I recommend you buy a Powerflow customized exhaust system with a twin 3" dtm back box because they sound great and improve torque throughout the rev range.

Whatever you do though don't buy a Pipercross bolt on filter because they're rubbish, so are the Splitfire v groove sparkplugs, the leads are okay though the plugs on mine went after 15 miles.

Also not exactly slow for a 1.3 engine, but then again my mates have got 1.3 and 1.4 Fiesta's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2001

1988 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carVauxhall SR

Summary:

A good thrash and go mobile, not when cold!

Faults:

DON'T thrash them when they're cold because the tappets don't like it!!!

I run 16" wheels and the rear bearings don't like it...

General Comments:

Do what I did and fit a cam with BIG lumps, a big set of carbs and an exhaust that makes your lugs dirrel when you hit 6 thousand rpm...

Get them lowered because they look like a four by four standard!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

1988 Vauxhall Nova Merit 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

Excellent first car

Faults:

I fitted a new handbrake cable when I bought the car as it had badly frayed and I also fitted two slave cylinders in the rear drums as they were leaking.

General Comments:

It starts on very cold mornings without using the choke. It's so reliable and cheap to run.

It's my first car. Can't drive them too hard into corners as they will not go round them. It's not a fast car but it's impressively quick for a 1.0 litre.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

18th Dec 2000, 12:30

Very cold and without choke: let somebody check the carburettor, the valve of the choke could be stuck. Your fuel consumption should be high then.

19th Dec 2000, 04:55

If it doesn't need any choke when it's cold, I'd check the timing. I used to have a 1.0 that did the same and I later found the timing was wildly out. Adjusted it, ran better and definitely needed choke when cold!!

Scott

1988 Vauxhall Nova Merit 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

Good first car. A lot of poor examples around but loved all the same

Faults:

Track rod end, new starter motor, brake linings and new ignition leads.

Not really rusty though!! Good condition for an E reg.

General Comments:

Bought the car in perfect condition, fitted an SR bodykit, 3 spoke alloys, mesh grill, uprated blue headlights.

Vauxhall logo on the number plates.

Fitted ICE - loud!!

Nice looking car but has poor performance. Can't afford a bigger engine though due to age/insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Nova Diamond 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

The all new Nova - it's the car that's taken over

Faults:

Blown head gasket at 116k.

2 failed brake servos.

Minor welding required.

Perished fuel hoses.

Not bad for 12 1/2 years old and 130k on the clock - currently doing 12k a year.

General Comments:

Very nippy for a 1.2 - quick enough around town and can keep up well on the motorway - gives up to 55mpg.

Alloys gain respect!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Nova Merit 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

The dogs danglies

Faults:

Fuel line split.

Exhaust crumbled.

Rust on the rear arches.

General Comments:

Bloody nice car kitted out.

It's done a Golf GTi off the lights, it's rapid and it's only a 1.2. But it's got a K&N Peco big bore 4 and new Piersburg 40 cams with Cobra bucket seats, M3 style mirrors and an Astra GTE engine head (skimmed).

Running off GSi carbs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2000

23rd Apr 2004, 05:00

How did you get it running on GSi carbs and an Astra GTE skimmed head?

I've got a Nova 1.2 with a single Weber, K&N, breather, Peco big bore 4, Kent cam, lowered 60mm on 15" TSW wheels.

It's well fast and easily beats a Corsa 1.4 8v and a Nova 1.4 SR. It eats a Cavalier 1.6 + 1.8. Everyone can't believe how quick it is, or that it's a 1.2. They also think it's a turbo, because I've got a exhaust whistler LOL, and a sort of blow off valve, but different.

Hope to hear updates on your car. Thanx, Rob.

17th May 2004, 09:34

I am considering putting a new body kit on my Nova Merit, as my boyfriend has a Fiesta RS Turbo, I feel the need to kick up a storm with my Nova and compete. Do you have any good websites I might visit to find ideas for body kits for my Nova as well as turbos and all accessories?

Thanks!!

From Happy Girl Racer.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 33 reviews