1988 Vauxhall Nova Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1988 Vauxhall Nova Merit 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired28137 miles
Most recent distance66800 miles
Previous carn/a n/a

Summary:

Good first car

Faults:

Fuel pipes, shocks, lots of brake pads, discs too, rocker cover gasket.

General Comments:

Not a bad car, mine was from a vicar so very few miles but when I started driving it, all the weaknesses became apparent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Nova 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A very cheap cracking car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A cracking little car, it's fast for a 1 litre and the handling is brilliant, it's a lot better than a crappy Fiesta.

It starts first time even when it's cold and the choke isn't on, you could do a lot worse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Nova GTE 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Just get a good one!!!

Faults:

Most parts of the car gave me some trouble, not very well made.

General Comments:

The trouble with GTE's are that they have all been thrashed as only boy-racers own them. Car thief's dream so get it well bolted down! I live in a good area but the amount of time I had someone set the alarm off was a joke.

It's OK to drive and is quite quick when it works, just buy a good one (good luck).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th June, 2000

27th Nov 2001, 20:06

I have a Nova GTE and luckily for me it is a good one! They are great to drive and need to be regularly serviced every few months oil change etc.. The only problems I have are rusting in the engine bay around the struts and the brake disks warping.

DAN

Shropshire.

1988 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired133788 miles
Most recent distance134600 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Good all rounder

Faults:

Alternator started to go on me and now the wheel bearing is on its way out.

General Comments:

I think the car is good for the size of engine, and very quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.3
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

New exhaust (my fault), head gasket, rocker cover.

General Comments:

Quick cheap car, inexpensive to fix if things go wrong - I bought it for my girlfriend, but it's so fun, I've kept it. Suspension is slightly jarring and the engine struggles on hills with 4 passengers, but a great little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Nova SR 16v 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10

Faults:

Have broken the driveshafts.

General Comments:

Completely mental performance!!!

It's quite funny pulling up next to a BMW at the lights and leaving them for dead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2000

26th Nov 2002, 07:26

Puts the Nova in Fast car territory. It's even better when you put a 2.5 V6 in like I have. It has bags of Torque!!!

1988 Vauxhall Nova Gem 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.0
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

The engine block has a very thin crack in it, so I sealed it with WonderWeld.

General Comments:

It has been a very good buy. I bought it in 1992 with 2000 miles on the clock. It now has 48,000 miles on the clock which is still fairly low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 1999

1988 Vauxhall Nova GTE 2.0 16v turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v turbo petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing that can't easily be fixed.

General Comments:

Quicker than a Ferrari 355 on a race track (with witnesses!!). This is a flying machine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 1999

1988 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Lost 2nd gear, electrics went haywire due to wire wearing through.

General Comments:

Definitely a good little car which has a lot more potential than most others. Faster than most away from the lights, and will pull 120 mph fairly happily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 1999

1988 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

CV joint wasted.

Steering rack worn.

Speedo cable broke.

Front wiper push rod became disconnected.

Rust under the rear wheel arch and beginning under the bonnet but easily treatable.

General Comments:

Automatic choke stays on and needs reving making you look like a Kev. Generally quick car regularly hammers Metro GTA's and 1.3 SR's. Cheap to insure if you do not crash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

1988 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Head gasket.

Rocker gasket.

Offside front wing disintegrated spectacularly! (rusted)

Exhaust centre pipe.

General Comments:

The Nova 1.3 Sports Refined is the best, most reliable small car ever, I love Novas, especially my SR. The factory 70bhp makes it go like a rocket off the mark making it one of THE quickest 1.3's ever made, add a couple of twin 40 carbs, performance cam and flowed cylinder head, you're talking 100bhp!! out of Vauxhall's finest 1.3.

I'd definitely recommend the Nova SR as the best looking, cheapest performance hatch around!

Long live the Nova!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

5th Mar 2001, 08:32

I'd agree with what you said about the Nova SR, it's fantastic! Quicker that I could expect a 1.3 to go!

Mike Williams

25th Jan 2004, 14:01

I agree with what you said fast little car faster than the 14 sri.

27th Jan 2004, 16:35

All I can say if you think those cars are fast you haven't been in any other cars.

1988 Vauxhall Nova 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

Clutch.

Fan Belt.

Standard Cassette/Radio player.

Passenger window regulator.

External aerial.

Indicators don't automatically cancel!

General Comments:

Nice first car.

Reliable.

Fairly comfortable.

Good ride quality.

Easy to get parts for!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

1988 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Usual rust on rear arches. Failed MOT this year on steering rack, exhaust system, needed welding. At 109,000 miles things that have gone wrong - front bearings, sender unit, dash lights, cv joints, spark plugs but well worth fixing.

General Comments:

This is my second Nova and the SR is a great car. It's got its problems now but at 110,000 miles it's understandable. Great looking car with GSi front end and alloys. 115mph on the flat (on a lower mileage).

Definitely a car worth buying. The new engine is next.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

1988 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Faults:

Back brake locked up when braking hard in wet, so back end went out.

General Comments:

Very fast 126mph between Yeovil, Somerset and Sherborne, Dorset, and it still has a bit more to give. Has been handling well recently now the tracking has been sorted and a decent set of tyres being used.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 1998

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 33 reviews