1991 Vauxhall Nova Merit 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A very nippy, cheap first car

Faults:

Since I have had the car, I have not had any major problems. The rear bumper was a bit loose, so that had to be properly secured.

No other problems.

General Comments:

The previous owner had put a racing air filter and muffler on the car, and this increases performance by a mile.

For a 1.2, I am sure this car can keep up with the SR version, as acceleration is incredible for a such a small engine.

I have Recaro seats in the front of mine, which is a more of a snug fit when pushing through the corners.

However, the suspension is a little hard, and back seat passengers must mind their head on the roof!!!

Good, cheap, nippy little car, but are surprisingly hard to find one in good condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2002

1991 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Best value for speed and enjoyment a must buy car

Faults:

When I first got the car it had been keyed on the boot.

The passenger door had been kicked.

The exhaust has gone.

The driver seat has started to wear.

The fuel gauge doesn't work all the time.

General Comments:

This is one fast car it will beat most cars upto 1.8 off the line. The front seats hug you, always good when indulging in some high speed cornering. Especially when this car handles like its on rails and gives brilliant driver feed back. It will do 125mph with ease and carry on to 135mph even though that's a little scary. I would suggest that if anyone sits in the back they wear a crash helmet as the ride is a bit hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

25th May 2002, 15:08

Typical Nova driver - I know the 1.4 SR's are quick because I have driven one... but after 105mph they are dead -135mph?? not a chance mate.

8th Sep 2002, 18:54

I have had 2 1.4 SR's and both have managed 125mph with ease. If you find one that's been well looked after they are unbelievably quick. Both of mine have been proven to do 0-60 in between 7 and 8 seconds. Where Vauxhall get their figures from I have no idea.

Incidentally both SR's were totally standard...

1991 Vauxhall Nova GSi 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Great value for money!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I have had the car just over a year, it has gone through the MOT two years running without any problems and I have only replaced the tyres.

The car is very quick for a 1.6 engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2002

1991 Vauxhall Nova GTE 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Fast, reliable, cheap to run

Faults:

The coil went first day I got it.

Hand brake cable snapped.

Top half of the engine was rebuilt.

Speedo cable was replaced.

Central locking was playing up.

General Comments:

This is an excellent car for modifying and for the younger generation.

It is fast and cheap to run on fuel.

It beats XR2i's off the line, and all the other sporty little cars in its class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2001

15th Jun 2008, 08:32

XR2i's were OK, but how can you say a GTE/GSI is outclassed by the crappy 1.6 carb XR2, which had a 0-60 in 10.9 seconds. Even the Nova 1.4 SRI beat that. And an AX GTI? Rubbish compared to a Nova GTE.

And the others, the XR2i and the 205 1.6? Not really fast enough to say it out classed the Nova, only about 0.2 seconds quicker for the Fiesta. And the Nova had the most bullet proof engines out of the lot.

And as for the Red Top in a Nova, it'll beat anything you can throw at it; the Mi 16 205 conversion was crap in comparison.

1991 Vauxhall Nova GTE 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Poor motor

Faults:

Lots of things, the clutch has had to be replaced, I have had a new head gasket fitted after the thing overheated. I am surprised at the amount of corrosion to the underside of the car.

General Comments:

Fairly nippy (not as good as the XR2)

Tacky interior (only basic will do)

I will be selling this car and getting an orion as I am fed up with the aggravation of owning this car, do not buy one!!

The boy racers think these cars are the dogs...WHY??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2001

18th Jul 2001, 07:11

I'm sorry but your review was hardly decent, nor accurate!

NOT ALL NOVA GTE's are rust buckets!

I own a Nova GTE and it's in mint condition! The interior is like new, the paint work is almost perfect and the ONLY bit of rust is a 2 inch patch around the wheel arch which is easily sorted!

The car is nippy, and when its got a decent set of wheels and a nice (not over the top) bodykit on it, it looks nice, so that's why a lot of boy racers like them.

And to top it all off, the car has only done 36,000 miles in 10 years!!!

Good luck with your Orion, not a bad car I suppose... If you don't mind damaging your image!

6th Sep 2001, 16:04

It is bad because it's a Ford. XR2s are crap. If they go, they might be faster, but they don't go very often, except to the garage.