2003 Vauxhall Omega Reviews

2003 Vauxhall Omega CDX 2.2 dti turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 dti turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

Superb

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

The best car I have owned, six years and not a problem at all. Who needs a BMW or a Merc, the Omega is the best kept secret in the motoring world. Wish Vauxhall still made them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2008

2003 Vauxhall Omega CD 2.6 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.6 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

Big, smooth and not cheap, but worth it

Faults:

The usual problems with the Omega.

Change the cam belt at 30k-40k, costs approx £350. Get it done by a dealer. There would be one hell of a bill if this went wrong...

New exhaust at 45k, brought at Kwik-Fit for £240.

New front wishbones, both sides, brought from www.autovaux.co.uk (pattern part, but made by the company Vauxhall use..), £125..., then fitting (www.mrclutch.com), £96 labour.

The other important thing to do with this car is to change the oil every 10k, or the breather pipes on the rockers get blocked and the pressure builds up and blows the rocker cover gaskets. 4 hours labour and can cost a lot of money in parts if you need to buy new rockers (£110 per side...). This also puts oil on the plug leads, and again costs a lot to fix.

General Comments:

This is my second Omega, I had a 2.5 Reflection before. The 2.6 has got a lot more pull than the previous model, and really takes off when you put your foot down.

I would have to say the handling of the older model was better. This one is nowhere near as sharp.

I don't like the heating system in the new one. Very messy; the original one was far easier to operate and use.

Apart from that, the car is very smooth, and you can hardly hear the engine running when idle.

Overall, does approx 23 MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2007

2003 Vauxhall Omega Elite 2.2 DTI from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 DTI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Very Reliable, Very enjoyable, Excellent!

General Comments:

I have done a large number of miles in the car and has need very little. Even though the service intervals are 20k I change the oil every 10K.

The interior is leather and almost looks as new.

The condition of the car has changed very little over 210,000 miles. One of the most amazing cars I have ever owned.

The handling is not as good as my 2004 Vectra SRI, but for long journeys the Omega Wins hands down. Very quiet and smooth. You can do a 800 mile trip in one day and not feel too bad. It's a shame it's the last of the luxury Vauxhall cruisers.

I used to drive a Merc E320 in 2000 and I would say the Omega was far better value with all the extras and just as quiet and smooth. The Omega seats are far more comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2007

12th Feb 2007, 02:05

Couldn't agree more with the comments made.

This is my 2nd Omega, the first being a 2000 MV6 and this one being a 2003 2.2DTi. The MV6 was very fast, but god, did it drink petrol!!

The 2.2DTi took me a little while to find, especially in the Elite spec, got this one with 50K warrantied miles on the clock, couple of issues with it, but these have been sorted out out by Network Q at no cost to me, so can't really complain. Got a 4 year warranty on it, so in theory, should have no worries with it.

Driving is effortless, the heated seats are excellent in the cold weather we have been having, not the quickest car in the world, but once on the motorway at cruising speeds, it's a pleasure to drive. Fantastic Bose stereo. Bit of a nightmare going up hills in the recent snow though.

7th Sep 2007, 13:56

Likewise I agree too. This is my second Elite (first was a '99 3.0 and current is '02 3.2). Very comfy to drive and all the toys are a great addition. The first thing I noted over my old car was just how quiet it is and the ride is more like gliding along the road.

The stereo system is excellent and the auto gear box is very smooth. Can't fault the climate control and I love this car to bits. Have only had the car a short time, but there are no indication of niggles and being a Vauxhall I'm not expecting any sudden surprise nasties.

15th Jun 2008, 04:34

Had mine six years now. All I have to do is wash it and fill it with fuel. Wish they still made them.

29th Dec 2008, 11:22

Best car I have ever owned, for the last six years it has taken myself and my family and our 18ft caravan to the south of France without missing a beat, don't know what I will buy next, although I hope to keep the Omega as long as possible.

12th Apr 2009, 12:37

I agree with all of the above, the Omega is a true classic, better than any Beemer or Merc.

2003 Vauxhall Omega cd 2.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Renault Laguna

Summary:

Fast, comfortable and I would not change it for a BMW or Merc

Faults:

One of the coils failed a few months after I purchased the car.

Another coil failed a year later. Both coils were replaced under the 3 year warranty.

General Comments:

My Omega is the best car I have had.

I paid £10000 for it in June 2003 and had it converted to run on LPG. It runs perfectly on the gas and the running costs are over 50% cheaper than running on petrol.

The 2.6 V6 engine is very smooth and the power it generates is there when you need it.

The Omega is comfortable, roomy, has a great spec' with excellent sound system.

Some people think the Omega is an ugly car. I think it's a good looking big powerful machine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2006

2003 Vauxhall Omega CDX 2.2 DTI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 DTI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Hard to believe it's a diesel

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong at all.

General Comments:

This is my third Omega all have been fantastic and I am gutted that Vauxhall have stopped production of this great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2004

5th Oct 2004, 11:53

The omega is a great car, The V6 engine, wot a rocket.

20th Apr 2005, 08:59

It *is* very sad that the Omega is gone.

What will Vauxhall replace it with I wonder?

A front-wheel drive "just like the rest" with no character of its own? Oh, they already have, it's called the "Signum"...

What a shame, please Vauxhall, bring back rear wheel drive, and while you're at it, bring back in-line 6 engines. Otherwise we'll be forced to buy BMWs like all the sheep!

25th Oct 2005, 10:18

Best car I have had, use mine for a taxi, 2years on still no problems 1993 2.2dti cdx.

30th Apr 2010, 19:53

The Omega 2.2 diesel is outstanding, mine is now 7 years old and continues to be the best car I have owned.

7th Jan 2011, 13:49

I agree with all of the above. Had mine for 8 years, and it's still as good as the day I bought it.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews