1988 Vauxhall Senator Reviews

1988 Vauxhall Senator CD 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Senator

Summary:

Very comfortable, lots of power, still very reliable and easy to maintain yourself

Faults:

Heater flap control motor replaced 1999, long DIY job.

Rear shock absorbers required new for MOT in 2003.

Replaced rear wheel arches in 2004.

New main light switch in 2005.

General Comments:

The smoothest car I have owned, and returns a very acceptable mpg on cruise control where possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2011

1988 Vauxhall Senator CD 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carOpel Monza

Summary:

Luxurious quick sturdy classic

Faults:

Nothing car is A1.

General Comments:

Stunning car bought new in 1988 by an elderly chap who drove it seldomly for a few years until his eyesight failed; ownership was transferred to his wife who also only drove it seldomly for a few years.

The car always serviced by the main dealer and kept garaged, probably polished each outing.

Eventually the lady also retired from driving. the car was put in auction in almost mint condition and very low miles, and amazingly its third owner purchased the Senator for £75; not a printing error, £75 + buyers premium. I understand car was bought for a little over a £100.

I first saw the car as it was being displayed at Tatton park classic show and I was amazed at its condition. I spoke to its owner and asked should he sell it to contact me and give me first option. Two years later the chap rang me to ask was I still interested at £550, Of course I agreed and became the proud owner.

The car has still only done 54000 miles and has just had a little paintwork done in the rear o/s door shut area and a couple of little rust spots on the sill area.

A superb car in almost mint condition with almost no signs of use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2007

1988 Vauxhall Senator CDi 3.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Top spec blaster!!

Faults:

I have replaced the fuel pump, which cost £30 from a breaker (with 3 months guarantee), and a water pump brand new at £60 which I fitted myself.

Drivers side heated seat not working, air conditioning not very good or may need refilling.

General Comments:

Lovely motor, wouldn't drive anything else!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Senator CD 3.0 12v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 12v petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carFord Granada Scorpio

Summary:

Quicker than most people think

Faults:

Leaky fuel lines, driver's door electric window motor x 2.

General Comments:

Top motor, compared to my old Scorpio this car is better in every respect except for dealer service which is crap.

Performance makes me grin, would love to know how much faster the 24v must be. Average 26 mpg, mostly town and country lane driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Senator 2.5i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 2.5i petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton 2.0

Summary:

Elegant, spacious and powerful

Faults:

Front wheel bearing; such a common fault that it is one of the only parts the dealer keeps in stock.

Regular burning out of the spark plug in cylinder 6.

Putting down the driver's electric window had an annoying tendency to pop the door open.

Doors would lock, and then automatically unlock as I walked away from the car.

Heated rear window didn't work but switching it on did burn a big hole in the fusebox.

General Comments:

My favourite car.

Spacious, comfortable, attractive, graceful and powerful. Around 40mpg on motorway journeys but 20mpg in town.

Full torque available from around 2800rpm which gives amazing, never ending pull. Can humiliate an RS Turbo!

Insurance group 13, but it's worth it.

Parts are reasonably priced, except for the exhaust, which came in at £300!

As a 21 year old, the fuel costs crippled me since I was covering approx 25,000 miles per annum, but I was sorry to see it go. Would definitely buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Senator 2.5 petrol injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol injection Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired149000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Quality made executive cruiser

Faults:

MOT fail on rusty rear shock chassis mounts - rear axle/suspension assembly had to be removed to give access to box sections requiring welding.

Electric aerial sticks.

Manual sunroof jammed.

Front passenger window motor broke £129 from main dealer or £15 for whole assembly from breaker.

General Comments:

Pulling away from standstill and urban driving leisurely unless throttle trodden on hard. Large power increase at 3000 RPM makes for good fast A road and motorway driving. Excellent smoothness from straight six cylinder engine, urban 19MPG long journey 25MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2000

1988 Vauxhall Senator CD 3.0 12v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 3.0 12v petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10

Faults:

Lots: suspension, exhausts, water pump, aircon, heater, cooling, radiator, injectors, relays etc.,etc.

General Comments:

It had 97k on the clock when I bought it 4 years ago, now it's 148k, its been hammered by previous owners, stolen, and bits are failing and I want another (24v). The main dealers are useless. Anyone know of an un-franchised enthusiast specialist?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 1998

22nd Dec 2006, 06:12

Hi I have a senator they are so good.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 7 reviews