1997 Vauxhall Tigra 1.6 from UK and Ireland


Good for scrap iron


Exhaust disintegrated, door check strap broke, secondary air pump thing rattles its head off, roll bars squeak, handles terrible, and to top it off the cam belt and its tensioner have just failed 300 miles from home in the fast lane of the M27.

General Comments:

This car is rubbish, don't buy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st March, 2001

26th Nov 2001, 07:06

I currently own a 1997 1.6 Tigra having lusted after one for years and am so far extremely happy with what I've got. However, I do have the advantage of a fiance who's a fully qualified Vauxhall Technnician and is completely aux fait with the ups and downs of Tigras. As he says there are 'good' and 'bad' Tigra's and it's really important to get the car checked by an independent expert before buying whether brand new or second hand. Please persevere with your Tigra, I'm sure it will get better!

8th Sep 2003, 06:32

I own an OPEL TIGRA sense 1995 and I tell you this to you my good people: NEVER ADD A PROBLEM, and its run's like Hell, my advise is: To buy.

1997 Vauxhall Tigra 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland


Looked good, shame about the engine


Cylinder head block cracked at 47,000 miles. Dealer took 1 month to fix.

Connecting rod fracture, blowing a hole in the side of the engine at 55,000 miles.

2 new rear window wiper motors, still affecting the radio when in operation.

Cost of cylinder head repair - £2400.

Cost of the blown engine is more than the car is worth!

General Comments:

Vauxhall dealer and company offer no service.

I would never advise anybody to buy a Vauxhall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

10th Apr 2001, 06:27

I've had my first Tigra (1.4 97 P 40,000) for 9 months, it's been great until 2 weeks ago where I have had really bad heating problems and now the cylinder head is all warped and the gasket has blown. Looks like I'm in for some fun! Apparently stemmed from a faulty radiator fan.

1997 Vauxhall Tigra Blue 1.4i from UK and Ireland


Sexy and sleek (like myself)


Wheelbearing on the right front wheel.

General Comments:

Wonderful car, although not at all comfy in the back, but I didn't buy it to sit in the back.

This car suits my image of a fun, independent, professional gal!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2000

1997 Vauxhall Tigra Marine 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland


Cheap to buy and run, faultlessly reliable and still a good posing machine!



General Comments:

I have had 2 Tigras. The first (an early 1995 model) suffered an engine failure (replaced under warranty) and I was wary of buying another, but a superb deal tempted me back in 1997. This car has been unbelievably reliable (no faults whatsoever) and is extremely cheap to run (fully comprehensive insurance, protected bonus and business use for £200).

It does about 48mpg and has never let me down. Servicing has averaged £100 a year. It's no sportscar, but it is sporting and fun, and I have to say still has the power to turn heads. I would have liked a Puma, but Ford dealers wanted too much for one (and have you seen the way the wheels look in those oversize arches!). Small coupes are more about looks than absolute power or outright handling, and the Tigra still looks like a concept car. Good on yer Vauxhall !

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2000

12th Dec 2003, 03:27

I have always loved the look of the Tigra, but previously had a Cavalier, then a Vectra, for family size. I bought a silver Tigra in June, 2003, and so far, apart from getting a shock when a brake valve went, and I almost couldn't stop, the car has been great. (Don't want to tempt fate!)

The handling took a bit of getting used to, after the Vectra, but it looks great!

5th Feb 2004, 09:39

I'm doing my homework late, but I'm getting a 1997 Tigra Marine tomorrow and after reading many reviews I just hope it's a good one. It's done 46,000 miles and had £900 spent on the last service. I'm getting it from a dealership with a years warranty. Should I be worried, as up to now I'm used to inexpensive, reliable motoring? Any reassuring comments much appreciated from an anxious prospective,lady, Tigra owner.

27th Apr 2005, 14:54

I have a tigra marine 1.4i, great car, but now for some reason the electric sunroof does not work. when I press the button to open the sunroof I can hear the whirring, but nothing happens. can anyone who has had a similar experience advise please.


1997 Vauxhall Tigra 1.6 16v petrol 1.6 from UK and Ireland


Flaking paint on both sills and and a small oil leak on the engine.

General Comments:

Good looking sporty coupe with a lot of high spec equipment. A lot more than the Puma for less money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2000

1997 Vauxhall Tigra 1.4 from UK and Ireland


Bngine blown up.

Had two back windows replaced.

Water leaking in to the car.

Wheel alignment.

Cluster housing replaced due to the heat from the sun.

General Comments:

The Tigra is not a good car to drive, it drives like a pig, the seats do your back in and the car had no power, no get up and go.

I have now got two Ford Pumas a 1.4 and a 1.7, the best cars I have ever had. The engineering and design is better than the Tigra. The Puma is a true coupe, not so the Tigra and the performance is better then the Tigra too

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 1999