1998 Vauxhall Tigra Reviews

1998 Vauxhall Tigra 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance82300 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great, but expensive!!

Faults:

I have had the car for 5 days and a few things have gone wrong with it already!! As soon as I drove it away the Engine management light came on and every time it does, when I slow down or put my foot on the clutch the car cuts out. This seems to be a common problem from what I have read. Any ideas to what this could be? The speedometer has also stopped working, will be getting that fixed in the next week or so. Have had to have 2 tyres replaced at a cost of £120!

General Comments:

Although there has been a few problems with this car already I still absolutely love it and love the look of it. It drives superb (when it doesn't cut out on me)!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th March, 2008

1998 Vauxhall Tigra 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great when it's behaving

Faults:

Very jerky when cruising at any speed. Has gradually got worse. Haven't found anyone with any idea what causes it. Sometimes the engine management light comes on and the problem goes away. Until the next journey.

Seems to get very hot in slow or stationary traffic.

General Comments:

Really love the car and don't want to part with it.

Seat belts can be a real pain; they don't roll back and are difficult to access with the doors shut though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th September, 2007

20th Apr 2011, 12:26

I have had the same problems, but I also can't figure it out.

1998 Vauxhall Tigra 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

A great drive, and easy on the eye

Faults:

I need help with the fact that the boot drainage keeps blocking, and I can't seem to fix it other than temporarily.

General Comments:

Great car, fun good looking, better than the Corsa I had, even if it's the same basic car!!

It's red so the paint has dulled, and I can't use the ashtray while windows are open, especially as my hubby cleans it?

A bit like me - really small with a cute rear end!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2007

13th Aug 2007, 03:05

A fantastic drive with looks to die for! Having owned two cavaliers, I was keen to stick with vauxhall. I wanted something smaller with a bit of style, and that's exactly what I now have... Thumbs up for the Tigra. I love it!

1998 Vauxhall Tigra 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10

Faults:

Where to start?

My Tigra was fine when I first had it, but after the first year, it all went to pot.

A timing belt cog disintegrated whilst driving, not a happy chappy, screwed up all my pistons, bent and snapped them, messed up the runners, and cost me a grand to get fixed.

Had an oil leak on the rocker box gaskets - major - all over the spark plugs. After paying out for the engine, I was determined to save money and do it my self, costing me £45 quid. Get yourself a manual and it's easy as, saved me on a £400 quote.

Now my cars been heating up for ages since I had it, but I've noticed it's getting scolding hot to the touch. Now this can't be right, can it? Soon to find out how much that's going to cost : (...

But like many, I love my car, very nippy, looks great when waxed, and it's an affordable sporty car, very economic in my opinion as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd June, 2006

1998 Vauxhall Tigra 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Awful car

Faults:

The paint on this Tigra has oxidized and is generally in poor condition.

The gas exhaust recirculation valve has been replaced and left me stranded in the middle of nowhere with no warning signs of a fault.

The passenger side window goes down on it's own when I close the boot.

The interior of the car is very cheap looking and the the rear seats are extremely uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th September, 2005

10th Feb 2006, 15:39

The passenger window is designed to lower 3 inches when you close the boot. This allows the air to escape from the car which, in turn, prevents the front window popping out due to the vacuum created in the car. Not a fault, but a clever idea. A feature on all Tigras made from 1995 onwards. The older models have a rubber curtain built into the boot to allow the same thing.

The car should really be viewed as a two seater car. Anyone who expects to make full use of the four (yes only four) seats is sorely disillusioned. No point complaining about them as the Vauxhall Handbook for the Tigra even states "backseats should not be used by persons 5'3" or taller".

The car is cheap to run, relatively cheap to insure and looks wonderful whether modified or standard.

Why would you buy a car if the seats, design or comfort level was not to your satisfaction?

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 12 reviews