1998 Vauxhall Tigra Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1998 Vauxhall Tigra Coupe 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Love it too bits

Faults:

Only had the car three months when I was hit head on my some moron going too fast. Car looked a right off, but was glad to see it repaired as good as new only for two months later to be run off the road by a drink driver, maybe it is the color (red). This time it looked worse than before and was border line, but got repaired. Seemed to run a little sluggish after that then the timing belt went!!! Luckily was covered under warranty so was repaired, but not properly so went again and was advised that it would need to be the last time the cylinder head is skimmed as next time engine would need to be written off, I mean this was the garages fault was it not!!! Seems to be running ok now apart from air bag light on, but it can wait. Fuel line came loose also causing a leak so wasn't happy about that apart from that all ok.

General Comments:

No matter what problems I have had with the car I love it too bits and agree that it really does turn heads, I have even had people I am some sort of rich kid due to the car. Only downfall is it's an automatic, but was too good to turn down. Would definitely buy a manual one next time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

22nd Feb 2008, 14:18

I have a manual and love mine to bits; a top car and a head turner. It needs TKC, but it's well worth it!!

1998 Vauxhall Tigra Chequers 1.4i 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4i 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Seems to suffer from serious electrical problems

Faults:

I had a CD fitted to the car when I purchased it at the Vauxhall dealership. there was an electrical fault on the connections that I had to ask then to repeatedly repair. The car went into various Network garages three times.

The rear offside brake light bulb kept blowing, this was also repairs five times in the space of a year.

Faulty electrics on the drivers side electric window.

Finally, on return from my holiday a week ago, I came back to find that due to an unknown electrical fault with the car diagnosed by the fire brigade my car had burnt out. Network Q aren't interest and the dealership where I purchased the car don't seemed too worried either!

Reading the reviews I can sympathize with the person who had problems with the positioning of the front seatbelts, how many times have I trapped this in my drivers door!!!

General Comments:

Give me back my Peugeot 106!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

18th Dec 2003, 14:08

I've recently acquired a vauxhall tigra myself, and I have found a couple of problems already, after only having the car for 2 weeks. There is a problem with the passenger side window. When I pull the tailgate down to close it, the nearside window descends about four or five inches, and then closes back up, after 3 to 4 seconds. has anybody suffered from this?

1998 Vauxhall Tigra 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A reliable car and a joy to drive

Faults:

Nothing in over 2 years has gone wrong with my car. Other than general, acceptable running problems, ie replace light bulbs, window wipers.

General Comments:

I have enjoyed driving this car daily and the reliability is great. I drive nearly 100 miles a day with no problems. The Vauxhall garage I use is excellent and provides a good service. The Insurance Group is quite high, but as this is a 'sporty' car this is to be expected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2002

1998 Vauxhall Tigra 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Tigra

Summary:

A great car, good to look at and fun to drive!

Faults:

Cambelt tensioner failed at 44,000 miles, resultant mis-timing lead to serious damage to the engine. This was a known Vauxhall problem in early models and they replaced the engine under warranty.

General Comments:

I am currently driving my second Tigra which is a 1998 R (polar sea blue) bought second hand last year, simply because I could not get a new one - I would have bought a new one if Vauxhall still made them. My first Tigra I bought from new in 1995.

The early models suffered from well-known cambelt tensioner failure, in all cases Vauxhall replaced them or fixed any damage under warranty. The previous owner of the one I have now had this problem, Vauxhall put a new engine in at 44,000 miles!

The Tigra is a fantastic car in the way it looks and the way it drives. The performance is not that of a true sports car of course, but I have had the ECU remapped and this has made a tremendous improvement to smooth out the flat spots. Shame they didn't make a 2-litre plus version...

I am a hard and fast driver and the Tigra responds well, I find it excellent for both long-haul journeys and short burns through the country lanes alike!

I like the finish of the cabin, nice layout and good quality. Headroom may be a problem if you are 6" or over.

A couple of years ago I sold my first Tigra in part exchange for a 1999 Lotus Elise, but when I had to sell the Elise the only car I would consider buying was another Tigra - even after test driving about 25 different new cars.

The Tigra is a great small car for those who want something that looks and handles better than the rest!

The bad points of owning a Tigra are:

1) Vauxhall dealerships in 2002 are no match for the way they were 5 years ago. The excellent Vauxhall garage I used to go to has been closed down, the new place has very poor customer service and is very expensive - still from what others say in the UK this does not appear to be just a Vauxhall trend.

2) Most people love the way the Tigra looks, but don't rate the car much. I have to say that if you haven't tried it you don't know what you're talking about. As for those who reckon the Puma is better - come on who are you kidding! I test drove the Puma twice and it really sucks!

If you are looking for a second hand Tigra, check the service history carefully. Make sure that if it's 1995-1999 that the cambelt tensioners have been replaced. Also check for evidence of burnt-on liquid on the top of the cylinder head cover. If so the head gasket has failed at one time or another so check that it has been replaced.

Finally, consider going to someone like SuperChips to get the ECU remapped if you like a sporty drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2002

1998 Vauxhall Tigra Coupe 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Tigra

Summary:

A fun, cheap, good looker with a bit of poke

Faults:

'Bubbles' appeared on the passenger dash pad. Pad replaced with no problem.

Tailgate misaligned - sorted.

Tailgate spoiler badly painted - had to be resprayed (dealers fault).

General Comments:

I really don't know what these moaners are on about. This is a relatively cheap, (apart from the OTT insurance) good looker, you don't expect an Aston Martin at this prices!! I have had 2 of the beasties, one friend has just picked up his 5th!! and another his 2nd. Had to give mine up recently (cried) when I became disabled - not enough room for the wheelchair unfortunately. Now have a very sensible Zafira Auto Elegance 1800, not as much fun but a great motor for families.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

1998 Vauxhall Tigra Chequers 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3500 miles
Most recent distance7002 miles
Previous carSuzuki Vitara

Summary:

Not great! Not impressed!

Faults:

Speed sensor has been replaced through fault.

Top half of engine re-built due to sticking valves.

Recurrent engine management light.

General Comments:

This seems to be a common fault running through the Vauxhall range. The main dealer who fixed it, has admitted that there have been a number of Tigras who have had the same fault. Why is it that Vauxhall have still not rectified this fault, and yes I agree with the other people that it is extremely dangerous and scarey whilst driving by yourself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th July, 2000

6th Sep 2007, 08:07

Ford LOL, LOL. I just sold one to by a 1600 Tigra. Had it 2 weeks and OK so far, but Ford running gear would be nice.

7th Oct 2007, 08:12

Me too I sold a ford to buy a 98 tigra fingers crossed OK so far apart from the gear box being tight.

1998 Vauxhall Tigra 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Faults:

None (touch wood).

General Comments:

I first purchased a Tigra in 1995, I loved the car (except for the teething problems). I now have a Tigra Chequers and it hasn't let me down yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 1999

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 12 reviews