2004 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2004 Vauxhall Vectra GSi 3.2 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Probably the ultimate vectra

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong. It does exactly what was expected of it.

General Comments:

This is a serious improvement over the previous vectra.

It is fast and drives like it should be an 18 year old hooligan in a saville row suit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2005

2004 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 2.0T from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0T Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Good looking, fast, comfortable family hatchback

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent performance with good low range pull in all six gears.

Very refined and quiet ride (a lot better than my previous 02 Mondeo Ghia X). Can be a little firm around town - I guess that's the price you pay for sportier handling.

Smart exterior appearance, with full body kit all round and darkened lenses.

Very firm sports seats, if you like that kind of thing. The SRi/SXi seats are different to mainstream models and those are a bit softer.

All in all, having come from a Mondeo, I am very pleased with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2005

15th Feb 2005, 08:51

What engine did you have in the Mondeo out of interest, as

I've owned both a new shape Vectra and Mondeo and found the Mondeo a better driver's car (backed up by most car mags).

The 2.0t you've got in your Vectra is a fantastic engine though, my friend's got an Astra 2.0T Sri, and Ford don't do anything in the Mondeo to compete.

18th Feb 2005, 14:16

Hi.

I had the 2.0 Petrol in the Mondeo. But always found you had to have your right foot hard down to accelerate briskly! Not so with the Vauxhall 2.0 Turbo engine! In fact I'm having to use my right foot on the brake to keep my speed down.

As for all-out handling - I would agree that if you are throwing the car around some twisty B roads - the Mondeo feels more involving. But if you want a fast refined cruiser the Vauxhall wins every time.

5th Jul 2005, 05:08

Surely though you would expect a turbocharged 2.0 to be quicker and more responsive than an equivalent naturally aspirated unit.

I have a Mondeo Zetec-S and my work colleague a Vectra SRi. To be honest, I find myself agreeing with the comment above. As a drivers car, the Mondeo is in a different league, being more involving, better balanced at the limit, and with far better quality damping and high speed body control. It has superb steering too. The Vectra is quieter inside, suffers much less road and tyre roar, feels bigger and more solid, and is a more accomplished motorway cruiser. In terms of comfort, day to day "liveability" and other criteria, you would be splitting hairs to differentiate.

Both great cars, but which is better basically depends how highly you rate driver involvement against motorway ability. I rate the former, he rates the latter, and variety being the spice of life, that's that.

13th Nov 2005, 15:03

Mondeo pants.

Vectra 1.9 tdci - very fast - and still get 55 to the gallon.

2004 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance6400 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Faults:

Only had the car a week and cracked the windscreen (stone-chip) but apart from that nothing. touch wood!

General Comments:

The performance is brill compared to my old vectra 1.6ls. I'm only 23 and the insurance is reasonable compared to anything else with similar performance and spec. It looks the part too with the twin chrome exhaust and lowered suspension and very nice wheels too without being OTT.

The only thing that I don't like is the fuel economy. Its only doing about 27mpg round town, but you can't have everything I suppose!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2004

13th Nov 2004, 04:37

I get more than 27mpg around town with my 3.2V6 Gsi!

1st Mar 2007, 12:34

I get loads more than that in my 3.2v6 gsi as well, but I would rather have less mpg and more performance. The performance is rubbish for such a big engine, I don't no how they get such little power out of it!! I was so disappointed.

6th Mar 2007, 12:36

I totally agree the 3.2 V6 feels quick. I thought I could race a BMW 330 Ci Sport as it didn't FEEL fast when I was a passenger in one. I didn't actually read the speedo as it feels like you're going slow, but they are much faster. I was embarrassed. So little power from a massive motor!!! Anyway, that's drifting from the point; the fuel consumption should be slightly higher than that.

2004 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 2.2 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

This is more like it, Vauxhall!

Faults:

Front bumper misaligned at factory.

ABS warning light coming on intermittently.

General Comments:

I like:

Smooth, effortless power delivery

High quality interior

Decent seats

Enticing combination of punch and near silence on the motorway

Much sharper to drive than old model with half decent handling

Lots of toys to play with.

I dislike:

Appalling steering (way too light and near-zero feel)

Silly indicators (why???)

The 130PD Passat and TDCi 130 Mondeo are both quicker and more powerful despite giving away 300cc and 200cc respectively.

As a high mileage motorway companion, this car truly takes some beating. Comfortable, smooth, gadget laden and effortless. Just what you need to deal with motorway purgatory. Well done Vauxhall - a car that perfectly meets the major needs of its target audience. Why has it taken nearly 10 years?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2004

17th Aug 2004, 07:52

"The 130PD Passat and TDCi 130 Mondeo are both quicker and more powerful despite giving away 300cc and 200cc respectively."

You should have waited for the 1.9 150bhp CDTI, I am so pleased I did, leaves Modeo & Passats standing.

David.

28th Nov 2004, 08:32

I am getting a 1.9 cdti 16v 150ps very soon. can't wait..

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews