2006 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2006 Vauxhall Vectra Exclusive 1.9 CDTI turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.9 CDTI turbo diesel Manual
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A good car with really bad handbrake problem

Faults:

I own a Vauxhall Vectra 06 1.9 CDTi Exclusive.

Last month I came back from work and parked my car in the driveway, put the handbrake, on came inside. Then my wife asked me to go to the local shop for pint of milk. I went outside and wow wow wow, I found my Vectra had crashed into the my living room wall. I was blaming myself until now.

I had the same problem with my 02 Vauxhall Astra 1.6 SXi as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th March, 2008

2006 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 1.8 VVTi from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 VVTi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

A seriously under rated car, that I like a lot

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong. It's been 100%.

General Comments:

I like this car a lot. It looks good, it's well built, safe, and secure.

It handles nicely and is very comfortable to drive for long distances.

The 1.8 VVTi is no road burner, but it is a nice mixture of performance and economy. The car returns me mid 30's MPG, which for a car of this size is pretty good.

The sound system is great, and sounds better than some of the supposed 'premium' systems I have listened to in other cars.

It has a quality feel about it, and is a massive improvement on the old Vectra B model.

Being the estate model, it's absolutely HUGE! I drove a Peugeot 406 estate before, which just does not compare to the Vectra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2008

2006 Vauxhall Vectra Exclusive 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Previous carMazda 626

Faults:

I am also affected by the Vectra handbrake failure which occurred to our vehicle today - the car was on our own drive which has a slight slope, handbrake applied as usual - over 15 minutes 2 or 3 trips had been made to and from the vehicle emptying boot.

On returning once more to the vehicle, it had left the drive and hit a lampost opposite - fortunately no other vehicle or persons were passing, so the only damaged incurred is to our vehicle - I understand this is a regular occurrence and was featured a few weeks ago on the Watchdog programme.

We had received a sticker from Vauxhall a few weeks ago on how to apply a handbrake, but this did not prevent this accident!

I contacted my dealer and am awaiting response from them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th October, 2007

2nd Mar 2009, 06:58

The handbrake problem is only a problem if you ignore the simple method of leaving the car in gear with the front wheels pointed towards the kerb. I was taught this when learning to drive, and has been invaluable during my driving career - especially where Renaults were concerned, as they also seem incapable of making an effective handbrake. The sticker you received also remind you how to park properly.

2nd Jun 2010, 16:37

A handbrake is a brake, there is meaning in the word. It is suppose to work as a brake!

2006 Vauxhall Vectra 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carMG ZT

Summary:

Adequate, but concerned that there may be a serious flaw with handbrake

Faults:

Suspect hand brake failed whilst parked on brow of a hill. Rolled back and demolished a couple of walls. Thankfully no-one was injured.

This seems to be a bit of a common fault. Is the manufacturer investigating?

General Comments:

Wish I never gave up my MG ZT turbo. The MG spoiled me for acceleration, comfort, style etc etc. So it's difficult to rank a Vectra in the same league.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2007

2006 Vauxhall Vectra Exclusiv 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Faults:

HANDBRAKE FAILURE X2.

The handbrake turns itself off completrly minutes after leaving the car! Car is on sloped driveway, yet all previous cars have had no problems. Please let me know if you have experienced the same problem by email as Vauxhall are denying any problems with the handbrake. Email: Mpbrown256@aol.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th May, 2007

2006 Vauxhall Vectra DTI 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

A luxurious rocket in disguise

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

The car I had was a Vectra Elite 1.9 TDI. The car comes fully equipped - dual climate control, heated front seats, full leather interior, on-board satnav with traffic avoidance system, electric rear-view mirror, etc, etc.

I suffer from back problems and can't drive cramped. I'm 5'10" and I found the driving position very comfortable on long journeys. The seats are lovely - they offer full support including a lumbar support, and they are heated.

The central console's controls are easy to use once you get the hang of them and all the controls are replicated on the steering wheel. The console includes the stereo and the satnav and TA systems and has a large LCD display.

The automatic gearbox has 6 gears and can be driven as a tiptronic if required, though to be perfectly honest there is no need. The six gears provide an exceptionally smooth ride with no noticable flat spots during acceleration. The car is phenomenally quick! There is hardly any turbo lag at low revs; indeed, the car accelerates very quickly and the six gears will take you up to top end in no time at all. My previous car was a modified mk 2 Golf GTI with 150BHP - the 1.9 TDI Vectra is almost as quick! (I've driven the 2.2 petrol Vectra Elite too and that is ridiculously fast!) In a straight line, the Vectra has put 2 litre BMWs, Toyotas and Hondas to shame - and it's a diesel!

Handling is about what one would expect from a car of this size and weight. It is not a Golf GTI, but a family saloon and the ride reflects this. It is very smooth and the suspension can take speed bumps at 40mph without a hitch. The car feels solid and safe at speed and there is very little road or engine noise.

As far as fuel economy is concerned, I have no problems. I tend to drive with my foot all the way down so I use more fuel than most. Even so, doing 140 miles a day during rush hour, the tank is good for 3 or 4 days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2007

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews