2005 Vauxhall Zafira Reviews

2005 Vauxhall Zafira design 19 CDTI from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 19 CDTI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Perception is that is a good car - until you own one!

Faults:

Major Engine Fault at 20K - 6weeks in the garage for parts to arrive and engine rebuild.

Clutch failure and thrust bearing failure at 40K miles.

EGR valve failure at 70K which is out of warranty.

2 cracked windscreens - both cracks coming from the same place.

Spare wheel stolen.

General Comments:

Useful having 7 seats.

Not as economical as Vauxhall saloons.

Front seats comfortable.

No storage space.

Basic specification.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2008

30th Mar 2009, 10:42

I would like to know where the cracks appeared as I have just had a second crack 10 days after a new screen was fitted. Mine is a 2002 Zafira, and the crack is on the lower left of the screen just where my tax disc is. It can't be coincidence.

2005 Vauxhall Zafira 2.0 td from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 td Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Good for the money but could be better

Faults:

Turbo kicks in on its own at about 20 mph when you brake!

General Comments:

I liked the car and it goes well, but it has got room for improvement.

I found that the back seats are not big enough for my teenage children, and my other children have to go in the middle seats because of car seats.

Not very easy to get into the back seats when you have child car seats in the middle.

I've found the headlights dim when you accelerate.

Could do with windows in the very back as it gets stuffy on long journeys

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2007

2005 Vauxhall Zafira Design 1.9 DTI from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 DTI Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired46 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Don't buy one worst car ever

Faults:

New Shape Zafria.

Washers fuse kept blowing went in 2 times before fixed 2 weeks after got car.

Window wipers stopped working after 1 month.

Car now at Vauxhall HQ as engine kept cutting out now and then when on motorway. Car only 3.5 months old.

General Comments:

After all of these problems Vauxhall still will not exchange.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th April, 2006

15th Apr 2006, 10:09

I've had problems with a new shape zafira 1.9 CDTI. The dealer didn't seem to know much about the car and after many complaints from me the car was transported to Luton. I still have engine noise problems and Vauxhall say they cannot help or advise further. Vauxhall didn't make the car, Opel did. Vauxhalls are only agents and in my experience, don't seem to care.

Eric.

2005 Vauxhall Zafira Design CDTi 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission CDTi 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Zafira

Summary:

Build quality a disappointment

Faults:

Alarm malfunction.

Tailgate plastic fitting broken.

Metallic rattle develops when hot on light throttle. Other same spec cars do not suffer same problem.

Left side rear body panel not aligned correctly with tail gate, light cluster and rear door.

Dealer says all faults characteristic of the model.

General Comments:

Performs well and handles like a hot hatch.

Plastic panels inside and outside the car loose fitting and rattle.

Soundproofing in engine bay, loose and flaps about.

Not as well put together as earlier models.

Distracting reflections in windscreen.

Spare wheel easy to steal as in previous models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th February, 2006

7th Mar 2006, 07:17

You just got a bad one mate.

2005 Vauxhall Zafira 1.6 Breeze 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual

Summary:

Excellent family car

Faults:

The corners of both front door side trims have mysteriously broken off. Has anyone else had a similar problem?

General Comments:

Generally very pleased with this car, great flexibility for family use.

Performs well even when fully loaded with holiday luggage and 2 children.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th February, 2006

19th May 2008, 14:58

Yes, I have had the same problem with the side trim on the door; they have broken off.

2005 Vauxhall Zafira Elegance 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Good, but with design and dealership inferior to VW

Faults:

Essentially the problem was

- a leak under the driver's seat - onto the road.

- the dealers in the Vauxhall network/NetworkQ are generally reluctant to service cars that have not been bought through their own dealership.

General Comments:

I recently bought a Zafira Elegance with a Network Q guarantee from a Cambs based dealer and still within the 3 year Vauxhall guarantee (the car is 8 months old).

Despite being generally happy with the car, I noticed a couple of problems so I then contacted my closest garage in Herts.

Once the employee established that the car had not been bought from them, he mentioned that it would probably not be covered and he became a bit hostile. It also said they could only provide a courtesy car after making sure the problem was NetworkQ related. Essentially I would need the car to drive back home so it was clear this was important.

Our other car is a VW and I never had the slightest issue with cover from any of their retailers. I find it shocking that a Vauxhall retailer tries to upset and/or discriminate in this way. I thought they could ignore the commitment they should have to the vauxhall and networkq brands. Additionally anyone is entitled to be spoken to courteously in a garage.

We had some experience of the kind with cowboy garages, but have always been happy with the VW service, they even went the extra mile to make me feel confortable to have my imported car serviced in their garage! It surprised me to see that Vauxhall distributors could behave less properly than independent multi-brand garages.

I wrote to Vauxhall to ask what they planned to do to address this type of issue.

A lady rang me from Vauxhall and she was very polite, but essentially just said they would report to the vauxhall customer liaison (account manager) for that dealer.

I said I was not happy with it. I mentioned this had happened with another vauxhall garage, and that they could easily pose as a customer to verify the attitude, but that was no something they wanted to do!

A month has gone by and I still have serious reservations regarding advising any of my acquaintances to use a Vauxhall garage, clearly Vauxhall does not care enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd April, 2005

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 8 reviews