2006 Vauxhall Zafira Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Vauxhall Zafira Club 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9995 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Nice family car

Faults:

Rear hand brake failure on hill after being parked for 20 minutes. Hand brake was on full. Has anyone had the same problem?

General Comments:

Very happy with the car all round up to now, until it rolled backwards into some garages at the rear of my work, causing immense damage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th August, 2007

2006 Vauxhall Zafira 1.9 CDTI from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 CDTI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19200 miles
Most recent distance20500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

Stylish, comfortable and a good drive

Faults:

Warning light came on whilst driving (spanner in car), and the EMS cut power. This turned out to be a split turbo hose. Once replaced, the car was fine.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable to drive and passenger comfort is good (even with adults in small rear seats).

There are two flaws in the design:

Not enough storage lockers / compartments.

Middle seats are difficult to slide forwards when certain types of child seat are fitted.

Economy of the diesel engine is good; 40+ min mpg.

Oil consumption issues with the older model appear to have been solved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2007

2006 Vauxhall Zafira Active 1.9 CDTi from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 CDTi Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance4400 miles
Previous carFord Galaxy

Summary:

Would have rather got a Ford S-Max

Faults:

Air vent broke after 2000 miles.

When picked the car up, there were 2 dents and scratches, and I was told I got what I paid for.

The range on the trip computer was reading 370 on a full tank, and dealer said that was fine.

Headlining fell down at the front after 2000 miles.

General Comments:

Handles well and goes quick.

Most of the car is good, except the fuel comsumption.

The seats are comfy.

Could do with electric rear windows.

There is lots of room in the car, except when you have all seven seats up, then you have hardly any room left.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2006

14th Feb 2008, 07:56

"When picked the car up, there were 2 dents and scratches, and I was told I got what I paid for."

I can't believe you accepted a) being treated like that and b) the car in that state. I would have walked away there and then personally.

I recall going to collect a brand new Renault Megane once which had a small but deep scratch on the tailgate (not mentioned, but left for me to notice). Despite assurances that it would be taken care of, I point blank rejected the car on the spot.

I'm not asking for miracles. I've paid for a new car - it should be in perfect condition. Anything less means the Sale of Goods Act applies, as the car is not of merchantable quality, or as described (new).

On a more general note, being treated like this when you collect your car is hardly a good indicator of how you're going to be looked after if ever it goes wrong.

2006 Vauxhall Zafira 1.8 Active 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance1555 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Best in it's class for the money

Faults:

The only fault I have had with the car is the flip top lid on the 'ashtray' in the centre console near to the handbrake kept on falling off as it was loose. This was replaced on the day I went in to the dealer to show them the fault. Can't complain at that really. No other faults at all.

General Comments:

The car is very spacious and very comfortable. The driving position is brilliant and is so much better than my old Astra Mk IV which got a bit uncomfertable after about 90 minutes. My only gripe is that there is not enough oddment storage in the front cabin. The middle and rear seats are fine, but there are no cup/can/bottle holders at all in the front. Not even when the glove box lid is dropped down. I miss them!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2006

2006 Vauxhall Zafira Design 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance2050 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Good all rounder with power to spare from new engine but its a bit noisy.

Faults:

Slight delay on occasions when accelerating, can be annoying when trying to get into traffic.

Very annoying single, "clunk" coming from under drivers foot well about ten seconds after starting off. As if a cable is sticking then coming free suddenly. Dealer has stripped down the bottom of steering column already, but found nothing.

Any ideas please? I am being driven demented!!

General Comments:

Like the car design and the spaciousness. We waited ages for the factory fitted sat nav, which covers all of western Europe, and the panoramic roof feature. I am managing 40mpg on a long journey and the engine is still "tight" so things are looking good for our usual drive to Italy and France. The new engine seems a bit noisier than my last Astra SXI, but is nippy enough. Previous comments about the new handbrake shape and indicators are correct, what a pain! They take a bit of getting used to. Now if the dealer can find the mysterious clunk which happens once after driving off everything will be great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2006

19th Jun 2006, 12:30

Do you have ABS? Many Opel models have a single "clunk" just after moving forward (about 5 MPH or so) that is part of the ABS self-diagnostic. A bit annoying, but one grows used to it.

9th Aug 2006, 17:57

My thanks to the person who suggested the ABS diagnostic check for the strange "clunk" after starting.

This was confirmed by the car dealership on a prolonged check of my car and comes in at 14mph. Its interesting to note that it only checks on driving off after the engine has been stopped and the key removed from the ignition. If you turn off the engine, leave the key in, restart then pull away there is no diagnostic check. So its off to the continent with peace of mind.

2006 Vauxhall Zafira Specila Edition 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles

Summary:

A lemon. Poor design features and quality of manufacture

Faults:

Oil warning light permanently on.

Vibration from coachwork.

Handbrake ratchet slips.

General Comments:

The engine is smooth, but sluggish.

A poor design of indicator switch too easy to indicate wrong direction. A big danger.

Nasty design of handbrake. too easy to get wrong when using it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2006

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews