2004 Volkswagen Beetle Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2004 Volkswagen Beetle 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous carVolvo S40

Summary:

Not just a pretty face

Faults:

Nothing at all has gone wrong, as is expected from a Volkswagen.

General Comments:

It is quick, makes a great noise and drives superbly.

When you drive it people look at it, it doesn't just look good its excellent underneath also.

The rear space is o.k, but it isn't designed for a family's everyday car.

I also drive a larger car for family trips etc. but the Beetle is good for driving around town, but the 2.0 engine can easily cope on a motorway.

The only downside is that the visibility is poor, the ends of the car cannot be seen and it has the biggest dashboard I have ever seen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2005

1st Feb 2005, 03:22

I would have a read of the 1998 - 2004 reviews before you comment on the reliability of late Volkswagons.

11th Feb 2005, 05:56

As writer of the first comment - need I say more. This trend applies to almost all VWs.

1999

Volkswagen Beetle GLS

Externally beautiful, Internally shallow 472 words

Volkswagen Beetle n/a

It's a V.W.-badged design icon 113 words

Volkswagen Beetle GL

An Automotive Nightmare from First to Last 308 words

Volkswagen Beetle GLS

I'm afraid to find out if I bought a lemon 95 words

Volkswagen Beetle

You can't polish a turd 128 words

Volkswagen Beetle LX

Low opinion of the car 195 words

Volkswagen Beetle GLS

Good for looks, but not much else 306 words

Volkswagen Beetle

Not my kind of car, but really can't complain 232 words

Volkswagen Beetle

An unreliable car that falls apart on you.

2004 Volkswagen Beetle GLS 2.0 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired303 miles
Most recent distance7700 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Faults:

One week after I purchased the vehicle a tail light went out, and had to be taken into the dealer.

Within the first three weeks of being owned, the airbag light wouldn't turn off. After two trips to the dealer, it was determined there was a glitch in the Beetle system. If you move the seat within 30 seconds of starting the car, it falsely sets off the airbag light. This again happened a few weeks later. I have since learned there will be a "patch" to fix the problem sometime in January 2005.

There is an issue with the gas tank. No matter how much gas I put in the tank, it never registers as full. I have learned there is a fix to this problem, once it is diagnosed at the dealer.

General Comments:

Despite all of the problems I have encountered, I love my Beetle. The customer service has been outstanding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2004

2004 Volkswagen Beetle GLS convertible 2.0 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Love style, fix the mechanical problems!

Faults:

The first week I had car the malfunction light came on and car had to be towed in. The cars was in shop almost week-ended up being something related to spark plugs.

4 months later convertible top woouldn't go down all the way and then wouldn't go back up. Window on driver side also then got stuck (in up position) that wouldn't allow door to close.

This problem was fixed and 1 1/2 week later had to go in for the same problem.

Also have noticed the handles on inside of door are starting to chip.

General Comments:

I love the style and body of car.

I just hate the mechanical problems I am having.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th October, 2004

19th Oct 2004, 13:38

I purchased a used 2003 new beetle hardtop and never had a minutes problem - I traded for 2004 bettle convertible with turbo and it is absolutely wonderful - I was down at the beach and the top won't come up and it has been in the shop for a week and a day... do other customers have this problem with their tops?

2004 Volkswagen Beetle GLS 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carAcura CL

Summary:

This is a super cute, fairly inexpensive play car

Faults:

In a recent rain storm, it seemed like I was having a serious computer glitch. My seatbelt warning bell would not go off, my windows would not roll up/down correctly, and when I pressed my window button the convertible icon that comes on when you are putting the top down, came on. I took the car to the dealer, sadly, two weeks after I bought it, and they said the computer needed to be re-set. All has basically been fine since.

My biggest let down has been the gas mileage. I am lucky if I get more than 21 miles per gallon. The sticker on the car claimed 26 city and 31 highway. On a recent trip, in which the top was up and the air conditioning was off, I got 25 miles per gallon.

My monsoon sound system has some volume problems. When I switch radio stations sometimes the volume is very very loud or very soft. Not to mention a CD player should be standard in 2004.

General Comments:

This car has a very bad blind spot on the rear right when the top is up.

There is plenty of head and leg room for two adults.

The manual seems to be peppier than a manual.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 2004

23rd Jul 2004, 21:11

I found it weird that you found a VW with a 1.5L engine in North America. There's two engines available for it;

A 2.0L 1-4 8V engine or a 1.8L I-4 20V turbocharged engine, since it's a convertible. A TDI is available for the sedan, of course.

18th Aug 2004, 10:06

I stand corrected, the engine of my 2004 Beetle Conv. is the 2.0 liter, 115 horsepower.

However, since my last comment, my car has been in the shop two more times (3 total, and the car is 4 months old). They cannot correct the leak that makes my front floor mats sopping wet when it rains heavily. I can actually see the leak dripping in and have told them where it is. The radio still sucks and they will probably have to order me a new one.

This car will most likely be gone the day my warranty runs out.

2nd Nov 2004, 12:41

They replaced the radio, and the sound problem has been fixed, BUT when I try and turn the volume down low it defaults to no sound at all.

It seem that after four trips to the shop they finally fixed my water leak problem.

The gas mileage is still unbelievably bad.

I can't wait to go back to Acura!

7th Nov 2004, 18:37

How did they fix the leak? I have had a problem with water, but it doesn't seem to happen only when it rains. Tomorrow will be the third time I'm bringing it in. One of the employees actually had the nerve to ask me if I had been leaving my windows open when it rains!!! They had it for 4 full days and it was still wet. I don't know what to do.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 10 reviews