1999 Volkswagen Cabrio Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1999 Volkswagen Cabrio 2.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carMercury Capri

Summary:

Scraped the bottom of the barrel

Faults:

Transmission mount broke at 64000 miles.

Exhaust system fell off at 66000 miles.

Transmission blew at 70000 miles.

Convertible top cracked clear across at 72000 miles.

Transmission blew again at 89000 miles.

Ignition switch went out at 94000 miles.

Outer trim has fallen off.

Transmission problems at 102000 miles.

General Comments:

I've been driving stick shift since I started driving, and I have to say that this is the worst vehicle I have ever driven.

The transmission is so delicate that simply backing up a 2% grade can potentially break teeth on the reverse gear. I can't imagine anyone being able to drive this car as carefully as it has to be to keep it running.

The exhaust system rots.

A well-known problem with all Volkswagen MK3's, apparently, is the ignition switch. They all have daytime running lights, and they all have headlights that shut off when the car is off. When the ignition switch fails (and it will), the headlights will not turn on, nor will the windshield wipers or the cabin air fan. Apparently, each year and model that used this faulty item has to have a certain number of dealership orders of the part to issue a recall. In other words, some of the Volkswagens that use this faulty part have a recall for them, but others that also use the same part do not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2006

28th Oct 2006, 01:48

I'm going to say that maybe, JUST maybe, you might be a little bit of the cause of your transmission problems. Three trannies, especially manual transmissions, is a little questionable.

Granted, VW didn't make the best transmissions, but usually, the ones that have problems are automatics.

Also, keep in mind you bought a USED car.

19th May 2009, 05:51

This is not a matter of used car or new. The car is badly designed and built. The convertible top will come loose because it is glued, not sewn together. The electrical problem is the one that is really a headache to me. I have bought used vehicles before and never had these many problems.

1999 Volkswagen Cabrio from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

I love it!!!

Faults:

There is nothing wrong with this car, it couldn't be better!!!

General Comments:

This car is very cute and is in great shape. I love ridding around with the top down. This is overall a great car, and I will keep it until it falls apart. I wouldn't trade my car for any other car in the world!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2006

1999 Volkswagen Cabrio from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

It couldn't be any better!!!!

General Comments:

I love my car!!! It is SO cute. I would recommend this car to anyone. I don't know why so many people are complaining about them, if you have one and don't like it, sell it and get another one.

Overall this car is great, and I love sporting it around town with the top down!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2006

1999 Volkswagen Cabrio Base 2.0 Litre from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

Cute little car

Faults:

Cat died at 90,000 miles. Left me stranded on Minnesota's busiest highway.

Lights burn out at random. Some start working all by themselves days later.

I have heard from many Volkswagen professionals that the automatics are horrific and often like to be in 4th gear at any speed.

Love the engine so far, but every time I start it, there is a puff of black smoke and it smells of oil.

General Comments:

Cute little car. Love the convertible and the interior is very nice. This car is a Base model so there are no electronics that ruin my whole day. Just enough electronics to bring havoc into my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st January, 2006

1999 Volkswagen Cabrio GLS 2.0L gasoline from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L gasoline Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

The car looks great, but is not worth buying.

Faults:

The heated seats in this car are disapointing. They hardly warm at all. After a few trips to the dealer they were unable to fix the problem.

The convertible top started to leak after about two years. I would expect this in a less expensive car, but not in one costing about 25K when new.

Just recently the transmission had a fatal "general failure." Something in the transmission failed and was chewed up by the gears in the manual transmission. Many of the gears are now missing teeth. 77,000 and the transmission needs to be replaced. Oh and of course, they are not cheap for this car (approximately $1000 for a used one).

I've also had various electrical problems with power windows, light bulbs, dome lights, etc.

General Comments:

According too many dealership employees, my problems are common to the Cabrio.

If I could go back in time, I'd buy a Honda or Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th March, 2005

29th Apr 2005, 09:18

I have a little more sympathy then the last idiot who commented. One question, our 99 cabrio supposedly has a 10 yr or 100,000 mile warranty on the 'drive-train'. I assume that includes the transmission. Doesn't your car have that as well? My wife drives ours and loves it, but it is nickel and diming us to death as well with dumb things that just shouldn't happen. What a drag.

Average review marks: 4.2 / 10, based on 10 reviews