2002 Volkswagen Cabrio Reviews

2002 Volkswagen Cabrio from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

An adorable chick-car, but put together with dollar-store parts

Faults:

Every time it rains the water leaks in and soaks the front and rear right carpets, eventually giving my car a permanent mildewy smell, not to mention wet carpet. I got the roof resealed and checked twice, and the problem persists.

The back-cup holder broke, and the two front cup holders aren't big enough for anything other than an aluminum soda can.

General Comments:

When I initially got the car I loved it because it is adorable and it is the ultimate chick-mobile, however while it outwardly looks like I'm going for a joy-ride, I'm actually cruising around in a car that needs the windows down to filter out the smell of the rained-out carpets, a car with horrible pick-up, and a car that is less than pleasant to own during the rainy/snowy season : (

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th September, 2006

6th Sep 2006, 04:39

Sorry you've had so much trouble with a leaky roof.

I've owned 4 of the older Cabriolets and water leaks weren't really a problem. I could run mine through the car wash without a drop.

You're correct when you say the automatic doesn't have much pick-up. This is why when I needed to go from a manual (all of mine were) to an automatic, I moved on to a Saab 9-3 Turbo

Convertible (lots of power & no leaks either!)

14th Sep 2006, 07:36

Cute Car and fun to drive - but my Cabrio leaks, too. But the rains affects the carpet only behind the driver seat. This is also my 2nd roof and the car has had the rubber seal around the windows replaced too.

All repairs were done at the dealership.

I wonder how many other Volkswagon Cabrio owners have the same problem? And should there be a recall to fix the issue.

I test equipment. When I seen several occurences of the same kind of defect, it usually means the item has a problem.

15th Sep 2006, 06:08

Perhaps this problem is specific to the Cabrio and not the older Rabbit based Cabriolet.

I have owned 4 Cabriolets (since 1982) and they were leak-free convertibles. (Remember to periodically adjust the windshield/roof hooks as needed). You could even take them through the car wash without getting doused.

In fact I just sold my 1993 last month, it was still tight & leak free!

2002 Volkswagen Cabrio GLX 2.4 liter from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance98479 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

My Volkswagen makes road trips a blast

Faults:

The only fault I have had with my car is purely cosmetic... The rubberized coating on the door handles started peeling off almost immediately after purchase.

Mechanically, it runs like a dream.

General Comments:

I found my car still sitting on the upper level of the trailer that was delivering it to the dealership. I bought it without a test drive and still wrapped in plastic.

I never allowed the dealership to do my routine maintenance on it (did it myself) And I have almost 100,000 miles without a complaint and still driving.

I LOVE this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2006

2002 Volkswagen Cabrio from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carSubaru Outback

Faults:

The Cabrio is outstanding- a great car.

General Comments:

I love the convertible. I love the great gas mileage. I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2005

2002 Volkswagen Cabrio from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance5300 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Pretty, but not worth the price

Faults:

When I leased this car, it was brand-new. With only a few thousand miles on it, I noticed that pumping gas was becoming problematic. The gas pump kept shutting off as if the tank was full, but the tank was empty. I attempted to put $10 in gas in, and the pump shut off 8 times. Full service gas stations became a thing of the past.

I brought the car to one dealership (Allston, MA), who told me it needed an entirely new gas tank. After getting the car back after MUCH aggravation and rudeness from VW, the problem still existed.

I brought the car to the dealership I leased it from (VW Gallery in Norwood), and was told that this problem is a "known" Cabrio design problem and that it wouldn't ever go away.

I find it interesting and disgusting that no one at VW (Allston, Norwood, or VW of America) had ever heard of this apparently "known" flaw. I am appalled that this is something I now have to live with for the length of my lease.

General Comments:

The customer service of VW is worse than anything I have ever had to deal with. No phone calls are returned, promises aren't kept, and dealerships won't call headquarters back to help resolve a customer problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2003

21st Aug 2008, 17:08

I have to agree with you. VW service is the worst. They are rude and not accomodating at all. I am in the process of reporting them to better business bureau.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews