1989 Volkswagen Fox 1.8 fuel injected from North America


This car is amazing!


Hardly ran when I got it due to a bad electronic fuel regulator.

Exhaust was rotted.

Changed fuel line and filter.

General Comments:

This car for an '89 is mint. it was a VW dealer car. there is a sticker on the window that said "VW loaner car, do not sell" it performs quite well. and the interior is mint, and the exterior had 3 small rust spots that I immediately repaired. if this one ever died. I would either repair it or find another one exactly like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2005

1989 Volkswagen Fox Sport 1.8 litre - 5 speed from North America


It doesn't look like anything much, but it's darn economical!


The usual long term maintenance items have been done: brakes, shocks, springs, exhaust, timing belt, ball joints, etc.

I've kept up very regular oil changes, and the engine still purrs, but does use about a liter per oil change.

I've patched the driver's seat myself, and have done rocker panel repairs, along with repainting.

General Comments:

The 5 speed has been great.

It's fun to drive, despite the manual steering.

I have averaged up to 46 mpg and do no worse than 38 mpg for short driving.

Viewing the regular maintenance in comparison to monthly car payments - this car, and my wallet, come out way ahead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd July, 2004

1989 Volkswagen Fox 1.8 cc from North America


A German tank that just keeps going


Transmission wouldn't shift out of second. Replaced it with a used one that works and it's been a great car ever since.

General Comments:

The Fox has been a great car that really stands up to some serious abuse. I race these cars in demolition derbies because they are so quick. I have raced other VW's and they are not as stout as these cars. VW's engines and transmissions of this era are very interchangeable and the cars are easy to work on. I feel bad about destroying these cars, but I know that once they hit the boneyard there's only one thing left to do with one anyway so it's off to the races.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2004

1st Jun 2004, 09:43

This review is not helpful to someone who would be interested in the Fox as transportation.

And speed is hardly an issue in demolition derbies, all you need to win is to be the last one running!

1989 Volkswagen Fox GL ?? from North America


Fun car, but loves to spend time with the mechanic


Fuel pump went out @ 136000.

Idle Air Control out @ 136000.

Oil leak @ 136000.

Radiator out/replaced @ approx 120000.

Fuel line leak/replaced @ approx 97000.

Speedometer makes loud noise over 25mph sometimes & moves back and forth.

Dash lights completely out on left hand side & dim on right hand side (have had to super-glue the switch to stay in "on" position.

Front windshield leaks (have had to caulk both upper corners).

Driver door handle "sticks".

A/C does not work (the car "has it" but has not worked since I bought it).

Temperature/heat sensor & light out @ approx 120000.

I am having a good bit of "hesitating" going on with the car. I first took it in to a place that said I just needed a tune-up and the Idle Air Control valve. I had the idle air control replaced & a week later it started hesitating again & completed broke down. Other mechanic said it was the fuel filter. Had that replaced & is still doing the hesitating. Am currently trying to find out why the car just won't run!

General Comments:

I have a love-hate relationship with this car!

I love the gas mileage I get with this car. I can fill it for the week and drive approx 300-325 miles (approx $13).

Original radio/cassette player still work great!

It can be fun to drive at times, but has been expensive to maintain recently!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2004

9th Mar 2004, 13:48

Your hesitating problem may be in the primary fuel pump in the gas tank. If it has quit, the secondary high pressure pump has trouble getting fuel to the engine. If you let it go too long, you will burn out the secondary pump at a cost of $200. The primary pump is much cheaper, ie: $70.

14th Jan 2005, 22:13

I recommend on any car that is greater then 5 years old or out of warranty to get a repair manual. A little secret that the mechanics of the world don't want people to know is 70% of the repair jobs don't require everything to be ripped out and replaced. An example would be the alternator. A new one costs hundreds, but you can replace the brushes for 3 bucks brand new. And it works like new. Getting your hands dirty will save you thousands of dollars. And the fox is easy to work on too...


12th Apr 2009, 01:08

I agree with Rich!!... Buy the bentley manual, gosh it has helped me!!... I paid 220 bucks for my Fox, and within hours of having it, got it through the smog inspection and have put 1000 kms without a headache... 128000 original kms... wow it's like new...