1993 Volkswagen Fox Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Volkswagen Fox GL Wolfsburg 1.8 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 gas Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

The greatest econobox ever made!!!!!

Faults:

Little things usually - nothing requiring lots of money or major service. I bought mine from a dealer with a 1 year warranty, so most things got fixed with that. Beware some VW dealers though, one I went to several times doesn't know how to work on a Fox (no, really). I had a clutch cable replaced (didn't need it, but they paid for it) and they put it in wrong, and refused to fix it. I had to go back and fix it myself. Speaking of which, it's not that the car is incredibly hard to work on, they just didn't give you any room to do anything. It's a VERY compact sedan.

General Comments:

I LOVE the Fox, and so do most people who have owned one. It's truly got a personality, and the driving experience is wonderful. The clutch and the shifter all feel just right. It definitely won't beat that 'Vette off the line, but it does feel peppy sometimes (in an 80 HP way). Yes the car is a bit underpowered, but so are a lot of cars. You quickly adjust to that, along with the lack of power steering, or power anything for that matter. It's a total economy car, which is why I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

16th Jul 2001, 00:36

I have a 1990 with 193,000 miles! when I got the car it had about 119,000 on it. I replaced both front wheel bearings and brake pads. That was about 2 years ago. The car is very reliable, and I average around 34 m.p.g. just wish it had a diesel in it, because I had a 1981 Jetta and got over 56m.p.g. with that one. Would I buy another Fox? Yes I would.

1993 Volkswagen Fox GL 1.8 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 litre Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Most recent distance149000 miles

Summary:

A great fixer-upper for extreme Volkswagen enthusiasts

Faults:

I have had to constantly have bearing work done on my front tires, I have had problems with the fuel injector and I have had to replace the timing belt twice in 1 year. I also have a hard time finding parts or accessories for my car.

General Comments:

It does get very good gas mileage, if you can get it to go. I will say it never left me stranded on the highway, it always broke down in my yard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th April, 2000

19th Dec 2001, 17:27

I bought a Volkswagen Fox 1600cc in 1992 whilst still living in South Africa. In 1993 I brought the car to England. It still runs perfectly after having done an incredibly large mileage. It is still on it's first clutch. It has always been amazingly reliable. I admit I was luckly! I am very sorry that you had so much trouble. The South African Fox was really the South African "City" Golf with a boot. (very thinly made and extremely light). Mine had 5 speed gearbox. (they now call the City Golf the " Chico" If you get a Chico made during a strike, it will be terrible!

4th Feb 2002, 16:57

I made an error in the last letter. The "Chico" is a cheapened version of the South African "City Golf " I wonder, if the American "Fox" was very different from the South African "Fox". My VW Fox is still going beautifully and has done an incredible mileage. It is the shape of the Jetta series 1. There are four headlights in front. The South Africans did a good job with the colour coding. Also there is a lovely material on the inside of the doors, it feels like tweed.

27th Jul 2002, 17:12

My relative in London still drives my "Fox" daily. It has now done the equivalent of between 170,000 and 180,000 miles, and it is still on it's first clutch. The engine is excellent. The car never gives any trouble. I am talking about the South African 1600cc VW "Fox" which I spoke about in the previous letter. It has of course the original engine. One mechanic couldn't believe just how good the engine still is.

29th Oct 2002, 07:13

Tuesday 29 October 2002.

I got interested in the various perfomances achieved with the Fox. I bought a pre-owned fox and I can also say that it's a good little car. I would agree with the previous writer that the front wheel bearings and the fuel system of the 1600 cc are a bit of a problem. I have had to work on them before I could fully appreciate what the vehicle had to offer.

1993 Volkswagen Fox Limited Edition Wolfsburg 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.5
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Battery died once in 113,563 miles that's it - oh and the door handle broke.

General Comments:

I like the car, its good on gas, very reliable. The service at Volkswagen is excellent, oh and the little car even has some spunk to it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 1999

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 6 reviews