1998 Volkswagen GTI Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1998 Volkswagen GTI V6 2.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance156000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Love the quick little thing!!

Faults:

Not too much has gone wrong with this car as yet. I had to replace the driver side window mechanism recently. When my mechanic pulled the door apart the wire was TOTALLY frayed. That cost me a whopping $350.00. But that's about all that's gone wrong on it's own. I had a little fender-bender which I didn't think was HUGE, but due to the type of car ended up costing me $4000!! It's not a cheap car to fix!!!

General Comments:

My boyfriend placed a different air filter in the car which gave the already 172Hp car another 7Hp.

I don't so much recommend driving too far of a distance with this car, the seats are a little numbing.

I love my car and really don't have too many bad things to say about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2004

9th Dec 2004, 01:27

Lol if you think a new air filter gives you 7hp yer silly in the head. no way its getting extra 7hp from bhp :\ maybe 7hp you lost already cause it was so dirty :P cause I also own the same car none the less with a K&N P-FLO air intake from neuspeed and that gives me 5 hp and only giving that 5 cause I got the cat back system from neuspeed as well. if yer getting 7hp outta that filter I wanna know where ya got it.

24th Jun 2005, 09:37

Maybe about 2 hp through a performance air filter, to get about 7 hp, you would need a CAI cold air intake system, and while your at it, might as well fit a free flowing cat back twin pipe exhaust system. 7hp from an air filter is living in lala land.

23rd Oct 2006, 15:51

Lol 7 hp my "butt"...about all you get from a intake is a better sound...

5th Mar 2007, 18:49

Cold air intakes, depending on the model and manufacturer, can sometimes actually hurt your performance.

In the case of my Saabs and Porsches, they spend a great deal of time engineering an intake so as to retain the most flexible power band and highest torque numbers. This may not be the case with a Taurus, but I can't say that they spend a great deal of time engineering anything on those...

1998 Volkswagen GTI VR6 VR6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission VR6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Front drive Beemer, for almost 1/2 the price!

Faults:

The ignition coil went TWICE early on... both times right out of warranty. once at about 27k miles, then again at about 39k miles. Both times set me back over $400! An ill-fated run-in with a curb chunked up one of my original 7-spoke rims, which VW wanted over $400 to replace... ONE RIM! decided on a set of aftermarket rims instead for the same $$. Other than that, she's been the most reliable woman in my life for the past 5.5 years!

General Comments:

This is definitely one of the best cars for the money. Under $20 grand (in 1998) got you sufficient creature comforts and an amazing engine. The shift gates are a bit vague and throws are long, but ohh does that VR6 pull up to redline! The stock suspension was a bit soft, and deteriorated very quickly around 80k miles, but a sport shock/spring kit tightened her right up. Currently riding on Michelin Pilot SX-GT rubber... best rubber I've ever had. She sticks and rides like a slot car :) I drove her off the lot with 6 miles on the odometer May 1998...currently has over 106k miles and runs like a top!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2003

6th Oct 2006, 10:12

Yeaaaaaaaaa it's a great car, I got an intake and mine itss so much faster with it and pulls harder at mid range rpms.

1998 Volkswagen GTI GLX VR 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission VR 6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Best Performance For The Buck

Faults:

Had only two nuisance things go wrong. The side door moldings fell off - TWICE. First replacements were under warranty, second were not. Dealer advised this is a common problem - poor design by Volkswagen. The moldings are attached by an adhesive of some kind.

The second item was a failed cruise control switch - also failed twice. First one was also covered under warranty. Have not had the second one fixed yet - don't use it lot.

Other than that - just perfect!!

General Comments:

This is my second GTI. First was a 4 cylinder - this one is the VR 6 - huge difference. If you want a reliable and very fun car to drive - this is the deal. Having a short wheel base - the ride and creature features are not great - but not unbearable either. The hatchback and fold down rear seat are great for hauling stuff - lots of cargo space. Handles very well at any speed - have had mine up to about 105 mph - holds track just fine. Note: Insurance premiums are higher than normal though - wonder why?? "Pocket Rocket!!" Back seat is there - can squeeze in two average size folks - get's by in a pinch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2002

9th Dec 2004, 01:32

Hehe golfs the way to go :) but if you think it got to 105 quick it gets to 130 just as fast (note I have the same car and also use to have a 4cly before)

23rd Oct 2006, 15:46

Anyone looking to get a higher top speed and RPM redline may consider a VR chip... basically kills the governor. Don't have mine yet... buddys of mine have got there upwards of 145MPH. Just got my VR with 72K on it... runs great with pretty good power. 18yr old male, horrible grades, only booster the insurance by a 100$ a month.

29th Nov 2006, 02:12

I have the same car. and love it. I notice lots of you GTI owners complaining about the coil pack failing. I haven't had that problem yet. And I have about 92k on mine.

I just got and intake and springs, and wow what a difference. I have gotten mine up to 150mph.

17th Jul 2007, 08:29

I have a vr6, and I've hit over 140 with no chip.

24th Feb 2009, 16:06

Hey!

I was thinking of purchasing one of these VR6's, but it's got 170000 kms.

Do you think it would be risky to get? It's not my first car, so I'm not completely new.

1998 Volkswagen GTI 2.0 L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Good performance and great reliability

Faults:

Nothing. The car is perfect.

General Comments:

Great and very reliable car.

The performance is not the greatest, but after I installed the Neuspeed chip and K&N filter it is OK. Great city car. 30 mpg.

The seats are a bit uncomfy, but you can get used to them. Otherwise a really good looking interior (GTI package).

Great re-sale value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2001

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews