2001 Volkswagen GTI Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2001 Volkswagen GTI GLS 1.8T from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Power, Precision and Comfort

Faults:

Window Regulator on both sides went out. Warranty covered it.

Faulty Waste Gate making it impossible for the turbo to hold boost. I am running a chip in it which causes the car to run higher boost and that very well could have been what caused the waste gate to go bad. I'm waiting to see if the warranty will cover it. Crossing my fingers!!!

Faulty Mass Air Sensor. I was running an aftermarket cold air intake system, which has been known to cause problem with the Mass Air Sensor.

I've had major problems with two Volkswagen dealerships, but I am very impressed with the one that I go to now. So impressed that I don't mind the 140-mile commute to get there. I simply wouldn't take my car anywhere else.

General Comments:

With all that has gone wrong with my first Volkswagen I still love it to death. It simply screams, handles extremely well especially with the sway bars, lowering springs and wider tires and is the most comfortable care I've ever driven.

I get a lot of comments about the roominess, the heated seats, its willingness to get up and go and of course the indiglow interior lights.

As you will see my prior car was a Honda and I have to say it paled in comparison.

I will soon be starting my first project car. A 92 Jetta GLI and I hope to do a 1.8T conversion. What do you think boys can a girl do it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2003

10th Nov 2004, 12:09

Definitely a girl can do it. You go girl!

2001 Volkswagen GTI 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Good value for the features, but disappointing reliability

Faults:

Driver's side window regulator broke and window dropped down in the door after owning car 8 months.

Driver and passenger's side window regulators both broke and windows dropped down in the doors after one year.

General Comments:

When I first purchased this car I instantly fell in love with the get-up-and-good the GTI exhibited. I take it on 7 hour trips to Oregon several times a year, and it performs outstanding. It gets great gas mileage, stays comfortable, and keeps a straight line at any speed. Performance does lag when the air conditioning is running.

The fact that the windows keep falling in the door is more than reason enough for me not to consider buying another VW. It's a pain to have to worry about it all the time (its happened three times now). But, in two cases the dealer got it fixed in a couple of days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th July, 2002

6th Oct 2002, 11:59

VW has not officially issued a recall on this yet, but they have released a new window regulator with metal supports to replace the plastic ones and any VW dealership will repair your car in or out of warranty for free.

2001 Volkswagen GTI GLX 2.8L VR6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8L VR6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

For the driver who demands it all - compact,spacious, performing, luxurious, economical, powerful

Faults:

Driver's door squeak - was fixed by the dealer (had to adjust the trim on a kick panel).

General Comments:

Well mannered handling - slightly too much body roll, but overall a good compromise between comfort and performance. Forgiving character.

Annoying "porpoising" during acceleration/braking.

Chassis/engine/brakes are well matched.

Wonderful engine - torquey, smooth, fantastic power band. Wonderful exhaust note.

Excellent launch characteristics. Car can be accelerated fast from a standstill very easily.

Excellent brakes. Very solid feel.

Steering is a bit dead on center, and uncommunicative until cornering loads increase.

Shift mechanism leaves something to be desired.

Excellent fit and finish - almost flawless.

Comfortable seats - high quality leather.

Quiet cabin.

Roomy front. Cramped but useful rear seats.

Great climate control. Set and forget.

Stereo system OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th December, 2001

2001 Volkswagen GTI GLX VR6 2.8 L VR6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 L VR6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance5400 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

A well made pocket rocket indeed

Faults:

I had to have the front driver's side turn indicator assembly replaced because it kept burning out bulbs. This was somthing the dealer already knew about and they took care of it right away. Nothing else has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This is the first time I have ever owned a VW and I must say, I am very impressed with the tightness and spunk of the car. It handles great on the turns and great on the freeway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

13th Aug 2001, 10:08

Glad to hear the good review. I am going to pick up my first Volkswagen today which is the 2.8 VR6 as well. I can't concentrate on ANY part of my job today!! I have spent a lot of time over the past few months looking at and test driving all of the 2 door "sports" cars out there. No other manufacturer offers as many options, as much power, good looks, and quality for under $22,000.

2001 Volkswagen GTI GLX VR6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission VR6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired180 miles
Most recent distance990 miles
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

German engineered pocket rocket marvel!

Faults:

Nothing! I have had to get some interior components replaced. They were missing from the factory (or dealership!). I am also getting the windshield replaced and the shifter knob replaced both due to slight cracks.

Overall... nothing wrong with the car. We will see how the reliability holds up.

General Comments:

So far I could not be more pleased with the car. It packs punch, comfort, convenience and build quality all into a handsome and unique package. So far, I am sold on VW. The car still has less than 1000 miles, so we will see.

Leave it to the Germans to build a great car. I will NEVER own another American car. I am ashamed of what we produce in our country!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

31st Oct 2001, 06:59

Point of clarification - your 2002 GTI was made in Brazil.

18th Jan 2002, 12:06

Designed in Germany, MANUFACTURED in Brazil.

28th Apr 2003, 01:15

Beware of all sorts of electrical quirks (i.e. alarm system, faulty wiring, malfunctioning turn signals and automatic windows, and NO REVERSE LIGHTS!). While these petty items are covered under extended warranty on my 2001 GTI, they add up to some major inconveniences. Also, I'm wondering when my car will leave me high-and-dry when the should-be recalled coil thing fails. VW should be ashamed of themselves for not recalling their cars. While this car is a blast to drive, I never would've committed to this car if I had done just a little more research. Beware of VW!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews